We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel by the Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed at the Shangri-La in Cairns for over a week and I have to say this isn't the best hotel I have been to. Overall it's a good hotel, but I don't think it deserves a 5-star rating.
We had a room looking over the ocean, the room was not big, a little over crowded with 2 beds and a sofa etc, but pretty good in cleanness. The washroom was rather small and over period we stayed there, we discovered 2 cockroaches. The room service was alright, we have to ask a few times for extra towels though.
One of the biggest problems was that there was only one international AC adaptor, even though we brought one ourselves, when we tried to borrow a few from the front desk they always said they were out of stock. It was really frustrating seeing that we had 3 cameras, 3 cellphones and 2 laptops that needed charging.
The restaurant choice downstairs was really good, restaurant menu range from Thai to Italian.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raneflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

Delighted that this guest enjoyed their stay at Shangri-La and their week long visit to Cairns. For the benefit of our readers our guest rooms are amongst the largest in the deluxe category and of course the balconies are an added advantage. The Twin bedded rooms are Queen/Queen and therefore do take up a little more floor space, with the King there’s ample.

Hotels have really only started to equip guest rooms with international ac adaptors in the last few years and having one fixed unit in our rooms puts us well ahead of the competition. That said please contact housekeeping who will be more than happy to supply our guests with adaptors.

Being located in the tropics it is essential that we protect ourselves against the various creepy crawlies and as a result invest heavily in pest management programmes. I’m not sure where the insect was found but can be pretty confident it was a dead one and do hope that the guest will indulge us on this occasion.

Many thanks for the fabulous restaurant reviews also.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,263 - 2,269 of 2,635 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2009

This would have to be one of the best places we have stayed in and we do quite a bit of traveling for work. From the moment we arrived we were greeted and then promptly whisked upstairs to our Horizon Club room. We did not even have to carry our bags!

The room was great, overlooking the marina. We could have sat on the balcony all day. We generally woke up early and watched the sunrise while sipping our plunger coffee and then went for our walk on the boardwalk which was downstairs before coming back for breakfast in the Horizon Club lounge. The food was simple but of a high quality and variety. The marina was then very close for our daytrips. We even borrowed towels from the reception for our daytrips so we did not have to worry about soggy beach towels.

The pool was nice and not crowded. We even had a game of table tennis and pool which was good. The paddles needed replacing however and the pool table needs instruction on what coins it accepts. Snacks at the bar were limited and very pricey.

The bed in the room was like a big cloud - very soft & comfy and the bits of toiletries were of a good quality. The tub was big and relaxing after long day of adventure. The room was serviced daily - however the bed was not finished as neatly as when we first checked in. We received the turn down the first night however they did not do it again for the remaining nights...

The room service menu was very limited - not many options for vegetarians and fussy eaters. We ended up having dinner at the Italian place down stairs which was delicious with excellent service.

The happy hour was great for winding down after a busy day. The nibblies they served with the drinks were delicious and the atmosphere was good. Labels on the food would have been good for us vegetarians - or even a staff member around to ask.

When we checked out we just walked outside our room when a staff member promptly took our bags and organised to bring up our hire car while we checked our emails.

Overall we were very happy with our choice of hotel. From reading other reviews and from our own experience it is definately worth putting in that little bit extra to stay in the Horizon Club rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneysider74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

What a fabulous review not only for the hotel but also for our destination. Cairns and Queensland’s Tropical North truly is the adventure capital of Australia with some 500 plus day tours departing each day.

The references to the Horizon Club accommodation and services are much appreciated and we always welcome the feedback. We have noted the suggestion to label each dish at cocktails and we absolutely understand where the guest is coming from regarding the vegetarian needs. There are quite a few items each evening most of which are not rotated but rather replenished with a new dish hence a challenge to keep up with menu labels.

Thank you also for referencing the efforts of our staff from the club floor to the bellman.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Arrived here on the third part of our 3 week holiday, when checking in were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a marina view room which we agreed. The lobby was amazing with fountains, lights and high glass ceilings. Dont be fooled!
We went to our room which had an amazing view from the balcony of the marina and the rainforest, but the room was damp and smelt of something dubious. The bathroom was very old fashioned and dirty and needed ripping out and replacing. My partner had a shave and the sink was left dirty.
We didnt eat here and the bar was closed due to refurbishment.
We think the hotel was in a slow process of being updated, but shouldnt be asking you to spend more if the facilities arent there. Definately not a 4 star!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmandnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2009

As always we would like to thank the reviewer for their comments. It is of course disappointing to learn that we have not met the expectations of these guests, and do request of any reader when staying with us that such issues be brought to our attention during the stay so that we can recover or rectify as best we can.

In the tropics wet weather and humidity are the primary drivers of damp smells and not one single property is immune. Our dedicated team of engineers and room attendants work diligently throughout the day to ensure that balcony doors are kept closed and air-conditioning remains on in guest rooms so that we do not experience problems like this one.

We should add that the week of the restaurant refurbishment and we also assume the guests stay that the city of Cairns was battered by the weather surrounding Tropical Cyclone Hamish which may have had an impact.

As for cleanliness we do not compromise and regret that the guest was inconvenienced. Contrastingly we do thank the reviewer for their comments about our lobby.

We are also delighted to confirm that the refurbishment of the restaurant and re-branding as North Food and Wine is now complete. North Food and Wine is operated by one The Dedes Group who are amongst the very best of Sydney’s restauranteurs. We do highly recommend that Trip Advisor readers do make the time to visit North while in Cairns.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

My family (wife and children 7 and 9) visited in March. Arriving tired we were immediately uplifted by very friendly and efficient staff. The view of the marina from our balcony was one of the best I have ever seen (and I travel alot with business). The children loved the 3 tiered pools and had a great time. The facilities in the complex were top notch including the Spa and Gym. Having the terminal for the reef visits across from the hotel was very convenient. Cairns is a great family destination. We are coming back in June!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerryandKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

We certainly agree that Cairns is a terrific destination for families and would like to think that while not a resort we do a very good job at looking after our little guests too.

Shangri-La Hotel is located on the Marina and literally metres from the Reef Fleet Terminal, the departure point for all reef bound vessels. Really there is no handier location.

Thrilled that the writer enjoyed the views and for future guests we highly recommend a chilled bottle of Sauvignon Blanc at dusk while watching the various boats return from the Reef and the workers at the marina end their day. It’s a special Cairns moment.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We stayed in a Horizon club room in February and had a wonderful experience! The room was great and the Horizon club was very nice. Our patio overlooked the marina with great views! We had some breakfast in our room some days and the food was piping hot and very good. The decor in this hotel is very contemporary and minimalist. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beasleyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2009

Thank you to the reviewer for the kind words and for referencing the efforts of our team.

The Horizon Club facility located on the Mezzanine level is without question the premier accommodation product in Cairns and the tropical north and we are pleased that we delivered on our promise.

Thank you again for your consideration.

Rob Weeden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

I've stayed twice at the Shangri-La, but cannot say I am warming to it. The hotel's internal architecture and layout is odd, as it is spread over the top of a shopping centre and restaurants. Many of the rooms with a view also tend to be noisy at night from the bar-restaurants below. Some rooms are a long way from the hotel lifts. The hotel location on the point overlooking the inlet is excellent - although when the weather is wet the walk into town is a bit dicey. Check-in and check-out were good; the hotel staff are polite and hard-working. The rooms are functional, but rather austere. The pool area is not really up to the usual five-star resort, but is protected from the wind. Meals were well prepared and served with a friendly attitude. Just wish the hotel layout wasn't quite so unusual... but you may enjoy it!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2009

Thank you to the reviewer for the comments following their recent stay with us. We can add that the architects vision when designing the hotel was to maximise the opportunity of as many waterview guestrooms as possible without detracting from the environment. The benefit of our location other than the access to the Reef Fleet Terminal is the convenience of having the city’s best retail and premier dining precinct below.

Level one hosts our internal tropical gardens with over two hundred varieties of flora and our outdoor swimming pools the largest of which is 25m. While we freely acknowledge we are not a resort we can add that our swimming pool facility is arguably the best ‘hotel’ facility in the tropical north.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Recently we stayed in one of the Executive suites in Shangri-La Cairns. The suite was spacious, the bathroom is beautifu with marble floors. My husband loves the balcony where you can have breakfast while enjoying the view. The location is perfect. Last but not least, the staff were curteous.Definitely will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paramita79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2009

Thank you to the reviewer for their kind words. We are certainly blessed with every guest room not only the suites featuring a balcony allowing our guests the opportunity to enjoy our fabulous Tropical North Queensland weather.

Thank you also for acknowledging the efforts of our team.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,313 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £101 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing