We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star opulence in relaxed tropical north Queensland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Five star opulence in relaxed tropical north Queensland”
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Recently went to Cairns at short notice as we were able to get FF flights during school holidays. Had not been there for over ten years and was hesitant to go

We booked the Shangri-La Hotel and were really impressed with its location, facilities and service.

We found that we had great access to hotel facilities (pools fantastic for children) as many guests leave the property during the day.

There is a wide selection of restaurants within the hotel complex plus the added benefit of being able to go to others within a short walk.

We would also highly recommend a stroll along the boardwalk to muddy's park which is one of the best kids parks we have ever seen.

The service in the hotel was excellent and they were flexible and accommodating to our needs in terms of children.

Cairns has come on a lot since we were last there and now has hotel that provides upmarket accommodation of a good standard.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turramurra44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    842
    344
    121
    74
See reviews for
458
1,281
139
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

My husband and I arrived at the Shangri-La Marina mid morning after a long flight from London. Following tips from TripAdvisor we had emailed in advance to ask for an early check-in. We hadn't had a response but we were able to check in straight away (at 10am) so we assumed that the hotel had got the message. And this made such a difference. Because we were just stopping over for one night and recovering from the long journey, the important things were: (1) big comfy bed - check; and (2) great bathroom - check.
We also had a fantastic balcony over looking the marina. The room was big, so loads of space to sort out our suitcases before beginning our Far North Queensland adventure.
There only negative was that breakfast was not included in our room rate. We were rushing off the next morning and needed to eat before we left but with no time to go out for breakfast, the hotel was our only option. This was a very expensive flat rate. You would need to be very hungry to get good value. Since we were jet-lagged we didn't quite have the appetite, so it was probably the most expensive bread, jam and juice we've ever had.
Cairns was really pleasant for a stroll, dinner and drinks (although I don't think it is the place to be based for a long holiday) and the hotel was perfectly located to wander along the seafront to the cafes etc.
In summary, the hotel is elegant, neat, clean, modern and well-located.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICNACLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 12 May 2009
It was a pleasure to read this review and we are delighted that these guests enjoyed not only their short Shangri-La stay but also their Tropical North Queensland experience.

It’s very challenging for any hotel or resort to guarantee an early arrival because we are also reliant on early departures to balance the equation. Guest expectations following long haul and early arriving flights do vary so we do encourage our guests to ensure that you or your travel agent provides both arrival and departure details, flight numbers and times.

About breakfasts: Most hotels will provide a buffet breakfast which features a wide variety of cereals, tropical fruit, breads, pastries, eggs in most styles, pancakes, sausages, bacon, mushrooms and hash browns, tea’s and coffee. A fare provision in anybody’s book, actually we would challenge to providing one of the best value breakfasts in Queensland’s North. For those wanting a lighter option we do also offer an a la carte breakfast which features enticing options from toast coffee and preserves from as little as $7. Please ask our servers for the a la carte options if you are looking for alternate options.

Once again thank you to the writer for the fabulous review and we do hope the remainder of their Australian holiday goes well too.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

The location at the marina was perfect. Our room overlooked the marina, and came with a large balcony that we enjoyed every evening, looking out at the marina and the lights glancing off the water. It's just a very short walk (1-2 minutes) away from tour boats, and actually across the street from helicopters. No need to rent a car if you stay here. And downtown Cairns is also a peaceful walk right around the corner with lots of nice restaurants and shops along the way. And the hotel's concierge was fabulous. He was always there with a friendly hello and always remembered us by our last names. The staff welcomes you like a family. We added the Horizon Club that gave us a very well established breakfast buffet, outside at the marina, as well as a very impressive assortment of evening appetizers, that included all sorts of wines, beers and soft drinks. What's not to love? This hotel actually exceeded our expectations. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 4 May 2009
Location, location, location. We certainly are blessed with the premier position in Cairns overlooking the Marlin Marina, Trinity Inlet and Bay. Thank you to the writer for referencing the bellman and reminding readers to give us a name so that we can celebrate the efforts of our colleagues.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

As part of our week long holiday in the Cairns area we decided to indulge a little bit and book a Horizon room for 4 days at the beginning of April based partly on the feedback of this site.

I have to say we were not disappointed and had a very comfortable and relaxed stay. Check-in staff and the concierge were quick, helpful and went above & beyond when they needed to. Facilities live up to 5 star expectations. The room itself was spotlessly clean and had a wonderful view of the harbour and the outgoing/incoming boats and we didn't hear any noise of the shops or restaurants below. In fact, while it was showery the last 2 days the only noise was the rain on the canopy of the boardwalk below, and that put us to sleep more than anything. I always place a good deal of judgement into a hotel room (we travel quite a bit) by the quality of the bathroom and shower in particular and couldn't find a thing wrong - and we're always looking, aren't we? Definitely no smells!

The Horizon club was perfect for our needs, continental breakfast and pre-dinner drinks, plus the concierge and free internet were all the facilities outside the room we wanted. Room service was prompt, although we did order ice one time and it didn't arrive, but in the end put it down to a glitch.

Pool is great, big with plenty of lounges and towels although staffing level consists of 1 at the bar. While this is OK normally, on the Easter weekend when we knew the hotel was full and pool was busy, there was still the same staff of 1. He earned his money that day so service was noticeably slower. He should have asked for help.

Only other thing I have to mention is that on arriving at our room the day before we were due to leave we couldn't get into our room. I think the key cards might have been programmed with the wrong departure date on them. A maintenance man, complete with tool bag and phone in hand, was walking down the hallway and noticed this, let us into our room and then took our keys down to Reception to get them re-done when they duly arrived back to our room 5 minutes later! We were most impressed. All the staff gave very friendly hellos, not just the usual nod and we also noticed quite a few Aussies on staff. Good to see employment of locals.

Excellent hotel and when in Cairns again will aim to be back at the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mobogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 30 April 2009
Thank you to the author for the wonderful endorsement of our Shangri-La hospitality, Horizon Club and of course our fabulous TNQ destination.

Thank you also for referencing the efforts of our people, we are now on a mission to identify our mystery pool barman and engineering technician who on identification will be nominated to our April ‘Customer Delight’ team.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

On the face of it this was a good hotel, but spending some time here you become aware of it failings. The room we had was nice, just a little tired and needed a re-fit, but comfortable. We had to wait for two days for a roll out bed to be brought to the room, despite frequent requests. The pool area was great and was enjoyed by our 5 year old. Our room entitled to use the Horizon club, this gave us free breakfast and drinks and nibbles in the evening these were nice with a good quality of food and drink available. The staff seemed very inconsitent with some being brilliant very helpfull and friendly while some were quite the opposite.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IHorsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 30 April 2009
Thank you to the author for yet another endorsement of our suite and Horizon Club services. While pleased that some of our people met your expectations we do sincerely hope that you will indulge us those who failed to meet the mark. We do spend a significant amount of our training hours coaching our new colleagues in the art of service delivery; our goal is to delight each and every customer we have contact with.

I did note your frustrations with the delivery of the extra bed and appreciate that you had asked on several occasions. To readers if service promises are not met by our colleagues please do not hesitate to escalate your needs to the manager on duty.

Thank you again for your consideration of our team.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

got a great deal on Orbitz for this high-end brand hotel. I expected the room & hall ways to be fancier then they are. I expected a more high-end decore & style in the bathroom of my room. I'm not disapointed at all as the room & bath were clean,comfortable & in good working condition. Just given the brand name I was expecting something a little different. Fully enjoyed my stay. I wish the bar at the pool was better stocked. The staff was top self.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feedmethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 4 May 2009
While pleased that the writer found our service top shelf and accommodation clean and comfortable we do regret that we failed to meet their expectations relative to décor and style.

I’m delighted to share that the hotel has just introduced a new series of boutique local beers to our beverage menu. From today you will find Cairn’s Blue Sky Brewery products such as FNQ Lager, Cairns Gold and a fabulous Pils branded Blue Sky.

Thank you again for referencing the staff, they try hard and do a terrific job.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed at the Shangri-La in Cairns for over a week and I have to say this isn't the best hotel I have been to. Overall it's a good hotel, but I don't think it deserves a 5-star rating.
We had a room looking over the ocean, the room was not big, a little over crowded with 2 beds and a sofa etc, but pretty good in cleanness. The washroom was rather small and over period we stayed there, we discovered 2 cockroaches. The room service was alright, we have to ask a few times for extra towels though.
One of the biggest problems was that there was only one international AC adaptor, even though we brought one ourselves, when we tried to borrow a few from the front desk they always said they were out of stock. It was really frustrating seeing that we had 3 cameras, 3 cellphones and 2 laptops that needed charging.
The restaurant choice downstairs was really good, restaurant menu range from Thai to Italian.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raneflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 4 May 2009
Delighted that this guest enjoyed their stay at Shangri-La and their week long visit to Cairns. For the benefit of our readers our guest rooms are amongst the largest in the deluxe category and of course the balconies are an added advantage. The Twin bedded rooms are Queen/Queen and therefore do take up a little more floor space, with the King there’s ample.

Hotels have really only started to equip guest rooms with international ac adaptors in the last few years and having one fixed unit in our rooms puts us well ahead of the competition. That said please contact housekeeping who will be more than happy to supply our guests with adaptors.

Being located in the tropics it is essential that we protect ourselves against the various creepy crawlies and as a result invest heavily in pest management programmes. I’m not sure where the insect was found but can be pretty confident it was a dead one and do hope that the guest will indulge us on this occasion.

Many thanks for the fabulous restaurant reviews also.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing