We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only thing that could have been better was the weather :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarpsborg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only thing that could have been better was the weather :)”
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Great room with lots of space. It was very humid, so aircondition is a must in Cairns. Perfect location at the Marina with lots of fun places just around the corner. Staff was helpful and recomended a perfect quiet restaurant in Cairns. The pool area is great (Impossible not to falling into sleep in the "beds" by the pool) Would recommend this to anyone! The weather was crap though...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwestah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
If only you came this week! In the middle of our Australian winter our daily temperature has not dropped below 27ºC – absolutely lovely.

Delighted the writer enjoyed their stay and do hope that the weather delivers for their next visit.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    853
    352
    123
    76
See reviews for
470
1,296
139
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Just spent the June long weekend in a Horizon Club room & thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The Marina location was great for all the water/reef activites during the day, being right outside the hotel and also handy for the bars & restaurants along the Marina boardwalk in the evening.

Happy hour in the Horizon Lounge was a great way to start the evening with plenty of variety over the 3 days & the staff were attenetative without being conspicuous.

A stroll into town across the park was barely 3 minutes & the Esplanade is right outside with the Lagoon & weekend markets.

The room was very spacious with private balcony looking across the inlet, excellent bed & bathroom with a panoramic view.

It was certainly the ideal long weekend away from chilly Sydney.

Checking in & out was quick & the tour desk provided the info we required along with a local tip or two.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ichanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
Delighted to read of another fabulous Cairns holiday and thank you so much for referencing our peoples efforts. We really are blessed with a terrific accommodation product and a location so close to the centre of Cairns activity – restaurants, bars, marina, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade and retail shopping.

Looking forward to welcoming this guest back to Shangri-La.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Just had a long weekend to get away and relax - this place was perfect for it! You have the city of Cairns a couple blocks away but you wouldn't know it as the views and rooms make you feel like you are far away. No need to hire a car - everything is close by. We wandered around the city, did a fishing trip (the marina in just outside the front door!) and spent time relaxing around the pool. Variety of restaurants within a couple blocks with excellant food. Ba8 downstairs does a great '2 cocktails for $20' happy hour with large comfy couches. The worst part was having to leave.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holmes80424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
Well we can concur with the writer that we would rather our guests stay longer too. We love reading reviews with helpful pointers as with the Ba8 comments and references to the restaurants and bars along the Pier below the hotel. Thank you for the lovely words.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Stayed at this hotel twice in an 11 day period, 4 then away for 3 then back for 4 days.
What a treat we had a horizon room and all the nice things that come with that class of room, free drinks all day coffee tea soft drinks in the lounge, then in the afternoon we had nibbles and wine or beer.
Free broadband.
Great rooms, great view over marina.well worth it

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KIMTLPERTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
Free broadband! Yes it’s true at Shangri-La and to the best of our knowledge we are the only luxury property in Cairns providing this service. Delighted that the writer enjoyed their stay with us and thank you also for the glowing thumbs up for the Horizon Club facilities.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Had our third stay at this establishment this week. And once again loved it. We stayed in the Horizon Club Suite. As usual it was spotlessly clean, service was fantastic. And everyone was very helpful.

We actually stayed for three nights, then headed up to Port Douglas, spent three nights there when we were supposed to spend 7. Didn't like any of the accommodation we had booked so we returned here.

Honestly find it hard to fault this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KRGEMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 1 July 2009
Hooray a Cairns convert! Did you know there are 500 tours departing Cairns every day so we really are the heart of the tropical north, some even suggest we are the adventure capital of Australia. We are pretty good at the flop and drop holiday too so like our intrepid reviewer plan an extra couple of nights in Cairns.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Spent 2 nights here to celebrate my birthday on our holiday around Australia. We had a room with a part sea view and balcony. The room was very dull and uninteresting. I had heard such good reports and I was disappointed. No one even acknowledged my birthday, I have stayed in many hotels before who always have made my day special. We asked the advise of the tour manager about trips to the reef, he was more then happy to send us out on a boat trip with winds 25-30 knots...... He told my mother who is 77 to take a sea sick pill!!!! We did not book any trips with him...I also found that after sleeping on the bed linen on the first night it had dirty foot prints on the sheets. On a positive note the porter was very helpful, freindly and knowledgeable about the area. ,

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanie756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 1 June 2009
Thank you so much for referencing the efforts of the gentlemen at our bell desk, they will be pleased. As for the writers birthday; We at Shangri-La love a celebration and do go out of our way to make special days all the more special. We do sincerely apologise that we did not meet this guests expectation and would implore all readers to let the Front Desk know on arrival or the server in the restaurant that there’s a special occasion coming.

Occasionally travel agents and website bookings do not always let us know about birthdays, anniversaries and honeymoons so please double check when you arrive so we can deliver.

Our tour desk is multi award winning and receives many awards locally. We only have one gent on the team and we can assure the writer that his intention of advising the following days seas and precautionary steps would only have been with the mothers best welfare at heart.

The footprints on the sheets is most unusual but I will take it up with our housekeeper directly. Certainly I can confirm that this has never been an issue previously.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Stay at Horizon Club floor.With cool interior design and Marnia view.Must stay with Horizon Club.We had prwan,oysters and nice wine for pre dinner.However I didn't get late check out till 4PM.The Horizon Club floor was full during my check out date.Front desk offer me stay in club or pool for rest of day.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irwin_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 27 May 2009
Thank you to the reviewer for these kind words. Delighted as always to read that our Horizon Club team have delivered on their service promise.

Apologies that we were unable to facilitate the late check out due to a full Horizon Club floor, I guess in these challenging economic times a full house is a good problem for a hotelier to have. Pleased that the team offered some alternative arrangements.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
594 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing