We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cross your fingers you don't need helpful check in staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I'm not one for reviewing things but had such a "memorable" time here it deserves mention. OK what's good - location and rooms etc are all good, oh and the best omlette for breaky I've had anywhere. The bad, well when you get so little time off and hope to have a relaxing time then the check in staff can make or break you and we were definately broken! We requested early check in, arrived with no room ready. Sent away and told we'd be called, normal check in is 2pm, 2.30pm rolls by and no word. Back to front desk and more excuses and sent away again. Wife steps in as my fuse is getting short and manager gets room ready pronto, bottle of bubbly and a promise of an upgrade on our return to Cairns the next week.
I must say I was pleased with the manager (Peter from memory) but the girls at the front desk had care factor of zero preferring to rely on nice frinch accents rather than good service. OK a week rolls by and we're returning to Cairns, the lovely wife calls the night before to check that promised upgrade to a 1br suite was locked in, told it was. Checked in the next day and get to the room only to realise we've been downgraded - same room but lesser view side of hotel. Call back to reception to be told "Is there a couch in the room, then that is what we call a suite!!!" Not good enough so back to reception and arrogant little upstart lies to our face saying it's a suite. New manager on who also tries to lie about it being a suite. Fuse completely gone now so curtly recomend he rethink the issue, our rooms are changed and behold we arrive at a real suite..and a very nice one at that.
Now our week break was to relax from hectic lives, sure this hotel is nice but both experiences with reception at the start and end of our holiday really could have ruined our break. Thank god for KEWARRA BEACH RESORT where we stayed for 4 nights - a tropical haven with most attentive staff, not 5 star per se but so relaxing!
So if you don't mind jumping up and down for service then you may like Shangri la but from this experience I will never stay with this chain again. They rate themselves as 5 star but fail dismally in their service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTravisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2009

As usual we do thank all reviewers for taking the time to write. We are grateful that the reviewer has acknowledged the efforts of our Duty Manager, Peter for is efforts in facilitating the check-in on the first stay and the breakfast crew will be wrapped with the omelette endorsement too.

It was disappointing for us to read that the reviewer has felt they were deceived and for that we do apologise as it certainly would never have been the intention. We can assure readers that our endeavour is to demonstrate honesty, care and integrity in all of our relationships with customer loyalty being a key driver.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,261 - 2,267 of 2,661 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed here in July in a recent family vacation. The positives were very clean room, very comfortable bedding, spacious room, air conditioning, central location to downtown Cairns, right next to Cairns reef departure terminal, access to local fitness center, and friendly / helpful staff at hotel. We didn't have a room with a view (didn't pay for it, so can't comment); we didn't eat at hotel at all (no comment); concierge was good at booking trips but totally unable to help with tips or recommendations as to what we might like to do; we had to book 2 rooms as max guests/room is three - added to the expense but nice to have a separate parents room. Downtown Cairns was busy, 'party' atmosphere during our time there - this isn't a hotel with a great beachfront location, the hotel itself didn't get a lot of noise, but you are right in the thick of the action when you step off the premises. The property is on the Esplanade and it was pleasant to walk along the boardwalk - the ocean near property looks more like a mudflat when the tide is out. Overall, I think it is the best hotel in the area, very central location if you want to be near all of the action.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank obdocSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2009

Thank you to the reviewer for the terrific review and kind words. Shangri-La is located at the heart of the Cairns dining precinct so we thoroughly agree with the reviewers ‘overall’ summary.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as a stopping place before moving to another location. We stayed one night after flying from Brisbane to Cairns, one night before flying to Lizard Island and two nights before flying back to California.

The hotel was very clean and classy. Front desk personnel were helpful. The rooms were nice. The rates varied quite a bit depending on whether there is a view of the marina and water. Also, we were able to get a very good rate only a few days ahead of time for one of our stays as business seemed slow.

Our rates were about 200 USD for view rooms booked from California through Classic Vacations (a US travel group). The room that we booked at the hotel was 155 AUD but without a view.

The hotel is very large and two of our rooms (view) were a long way to the lobby. It is a little inconvenient if you are carrying your own luggage and each time you leave the hotel. Our least expensive room was close to the lobby.

If you like breakfast - they have a very, very nice buffet - inquire about becoming a Shangri-La "Golden Circle" member which provides half price of 16 AUD versus 32 AUD, full price. At the front desk they asked if I wanted to be a member and I initially said no (few Shangri-La's in the US) but they said breakfast was half price and I like my breakfast.

We did not like Cairns too much. There is a beautiful esplanade but no beach. The town is pretty touristy with many backpackers. A main attraction is going on one of the many boats to a place where you can dive or snorkel over the coral reefs. Also, the Daintree Rainforest is a popular tour as is the cable car to Kuranda and the train from Kuranda.

The hotel is fairly secluded from the main part of town which we found very beneficial. There is a good selection of restaurants with views of the water in the same complex as the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2009

Fabulous sunrise picture! Mornings in Cairns are spectacular with the sun coming up over East Trinity and dancing on the waters of the Marina. Many a morning we have started with a bowl of corn flakes on the balcony watching the yachties and reef fleet crews readying themselves for the day ahead. It’s a terrific way to start the day.

Indulgence aside thank you so much to the reviewer for the kind words and particularly the references to the helpfulness of our Front Office teams.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with a friend and we had a fab experience right from the start. We arranged airport pick-up and were amazed (and somewhat amused) to find a limo awaiting!

The hotel was beautiful and our room was lovely, even though we didn't upgrade to a Marina/Horizon Club room. The room was spacious and very clean and the bathroom was nice too. Room service was great- our look was always left looking spotless and we would find anything we left lying around the room folded or neatly arranged.

The location was great and perfect for those who want to go out to the Great Barrier reef as it is right near the marina.

We found hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. The only problem was that we were not able to check in early and the lady failed to inform us that there was a "Early Arrivals Lounge", so we spent 3 hours walking around aimlessly.

However, we had no other problems and were overall extremely pleased with our stay. We just wish we had arranged to stay there longer!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wizardess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2009

Well we can assure the reviewer that we love our guests staying longer too. Thrilled to read that they stay with us was so enjoyable and they were able to make their Cairns holiday a memorable one.

As for the early arrivals we actually work very hard between the Front Desk and Housekeeping to have our guests settled as soon as possible and do sincerely apologise that we let this arrival slip. Most guests will either opt to go walkabout and explore the Pier Complex and Marina or position themselves at the pool.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom suite overlooking the marina, which was part of the Horizon Club. It is definitely worth paying for the Horizon Club…it meant paying an extra $100 AUS /night for three adults, but was well worth it. Not only did we get a better room with spectacular views, but we had a free buffet breakfast every morning (everything was delicious and very fresh), free sodas throughout the day, and free wine and appetizers and desserts from 5-7 in the evening. The appetizers were so substantial, that on a couple of nights we didn’t need to eat dinner. We also had free access to broadband internet both in the room (if you have your own computer) as well as 3 computers in the business lounge. Our room and bathroom were spotless. The few issues we had (room not cleaned by 3pm on first day, no answer at room service) were resolved promptly. The pool is beautiful, though they could do with a few more lounge chairs around it. The Jacuzzi was lukewarm at best. The staff at reception were very helpful and we were able to check-in to our room immediately upon arrival at 8am. The hotel is situated right on the Marina, so is exceptionally convenient for trips to the reef, is next door to the lagoon pool and esplanade in Cairns, and a few minutes’ walk to the nightmarkets. We’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emily462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2009

Thank you to the author for the terrific review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality and Horizon Club stay. The additional benefits of breakfast, evening cocktails and free internet really do make a Horizon Club stay outstanding value for money.

As for the spa thank you for the heads up. We usually heat it to 29 degrees and have asked the engineering team to keep an eye on it over the cooler months.

Rob Weeden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

ok - so the location is excellent. It's on the waterfront, next to the lagoon and a few minutes walk from the shops and casino. We booked a superior room over the internet swayed by the contemporary looking design. When we arrived to the impressive looking lobby we were told our room had a city view ( not really a city more like a town and certainly not a view you'd want if you are there on holiday). We were then offered a "bay view" for an extra Au$20 a night extra - i hate this !! I know views command more money but why not say this when you make the booking. I accepted the quote and was shown to the room by a nice guy Marcel. The room was nice but the bathroom ?? Come on, 5 STARS are you kidding?? Dirty sink with hairs and either make-up or blood splashes set it a wooden top akin to a 2 star hotel. The "bay view" was just that, part bay part 'city'. I hadn't realised that the view to go for was the Marina so you then got the bay as well. There was no way i was paying 5 Star money for that bathroom so i enquired at reception. There was not a single apology for the condition of the cleanliness of the bathroom and reception really weren't concerned of the portrayal of the web pictures over actual rooms. All they could say was that the bathroom in the pictures was from the "horizon club rooms". We could " upgrade" again at an increased price of more that 50% to horizon club rooms which included breakfast, free canopes and drinks 5-7pm ( although the champagne we were promised was sparkling house wine - guys its not, no matter how many times you say it is, sparkling wine is just that and please clean the glasses .... glasses fog with time, i know that, but bits of food stuck to practically every available glass .... not nice).
Club Horizon Rooms - WOW what a difference - so much better, bathroom as it should be, room great, but boy did we have to pay for it. We could have stayed at the Hilton ( pretty much next door ) for half the money but we really enjoyed the stay.
oh yes, the pool...... quite nice but the jaccuzi ?? Seriously?? A plastic moulding sunk into the concrete with edges screwed down that are lifting. This hotel is very selectively 5 star. By selectively i mean select certain parts and its 5 star, select the remaining parts and its 2/3 Star at best.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrainLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Unfortunately we only spent one night in this hotel... sigh!
The foyer is quite modern and comes across a little cold but the warmth of the staff at check in made the hotel environment feel very welcoming. It's a bit of a maze finding your way to your room but there's all these interesting things along the way ... you pass the beautiful pools and amazing ferns and then enter low lit corridors full of smiling staff ... who always seem to be bustling about.
Our room was lovely, facing the mountains which is something I always try and do in Cairns .... I just think they're beautiful. The bathroom had a corner tub and shower, oh and a really good hair dryer! Bliss for long locks. I also really liked the fluffy towels and lavender bath products.
The main room had a huge bed, comfy couch and some close up prints of coral on the walls ..... a nice change to the old style ropical prints you see so often in Cairns. Only complaint was the old style TV which had a malfunctioning remote, we called because we thought the batteries were flat but apparently it's just like that!
Room service was delicious and offerred alot of different dishes - No extra charge for delivery if the price was over $15, I like that.
I really enjoyed staying here and definitely would like to stay again, for longer!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BilbyScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2009

What a great review, thank you for the lovely comments and also for referencing the efforts of our staff.

Location aside we are also blessed with a large 40 sqm guestroom which provides ample space for the vacationing guest. Our views are predominantly of Trinity Bay and the Marina but we do have a handful of rooms that overlook the city and west through to the mountains offering magnificent sunsets on the balcony.

Rooms service at Shangri-La is sensational value, kids dine free and we have a huge variety catering to most pallets. And yes there is no extra charge for orders over $15. We are just about to release a new wine list that will compete with many of the local bottle stores – quite unique for a luxury hotel.

We look forward to welcoming this guest back.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
4.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £103 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing