We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,753)
Filter reviews
2,753 results
Traveller rating
1,230
924
378
137
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,230
924
378
137
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubclub roomnorth restauranthorizon roomone bedroom suitethe great barrier reefpool bartour deskan upgradereef terminalshopping centrebit datedfantastic locationbuffet breakfastcanapesbalconyconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,327 - 2,332 of 2,753 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We recently spent 4 nights in a Horizon Club room at Shangri-La in Cairns. This was our first stop on a 3-week trip to Australia and the hotel provided a convenient, restful, pleasant location to adjust to the time change from the US. Staff in all areas of the hotel provided personal and efficient service … always greeted by smiles and our names.

We booked the Horizon room via a “Holiday on the Horizon” special offer. I would book the Horizon floor even without a special tariff. The extra space was welcome, the balcony provided great vistas, and access to the Horizon Club provided an early evening respite (appetizers and wine were sufficient for dinner on several evenings).

Yes, the hallways are LONG and we were at the END of the building – chalked up the treks to a workout and the hallway was not a real nuisance.

A HUGE benefit of the Horizon room was the inclusion of breakfast. In lieu of the “cold breakfast” available in the Horizon Club, we opted for the FULL, complimentay buffet in the hotel restaurant, complete with an outdoor table with a marina view – a WONDERFUL way to start the day!

The tour desk was helpful in providing tour options via e-mail prior to our visit. We booked one tour with the hotel and it was billed directly to our room.

The location next to the Reef Terminal is super-convenient and the central part of town is a quick stroll from the hotel.

Cairns is a laid-back coastal tourist town … the Shangri-La is not opulent, but it is certainly at the top of the list of Cairns lodging.

We will certainly recommend the property to anyone travelling to Cairns.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank old3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2009

Great to hear from another satisfied guest – thank you to the writer for the kind words.

Our Horizon Club and Suite accommodation is a popular topic amongst our reviewers. The accommodation is the premium product in our city and coupled with the views over the Marlin Marina and Trinity Inlet……ok well we thing it’s magic.

The Horizon Club and the writer notes also offers complimentary breakfast either in the exclusive lounge or buffet breakfast at our ‘North’ Restaurant, refreshments throughout the day in the lounge, free internet and probably the most social and popular with our Club Floor guests – complimentary cocktails and canapés from 5-7pm.

Javier and James look forward to welcoming you to the Horizon Club Lounge.

Rob Weeden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Location is fantastic, just right next to the Reef Terminal. Clean room and nice bed. Tour desk was just perfect. Free internet, both via cable and wi-fi. On the other hand, mini-bar restocking did not happen every day. Breakfast wasn't really that great. Room could use renovation: bathroom seemed a little dated, in-room safe works only with a card (not a code like most hotels) and no flat-screen TV you would expect in a 5-star hotel. Swimming pool could also use some maintenance works. Overall a good hotel, but could definitely do better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2009

Thank you to the writer for taking the time to write this review. Being blessed with such a fabulous location not only provides our guests the best views in the city of the Marina and Trinity Inlet but also saves time and money being within 100 metres of the city’s premier dining and bar precinct and Reef Fleet terminal. I can also confirm that we are the only luxury hotel to our knowledge that provides a complimentary internet service for our guests.

I promise to look into the minibar and breakfast issues and do hope that we can be indulged on this occasion. Our breakfast is one of the most extensive in Cairns and also outstanding value for money and can only offer that perhaps the writes breakfast co-incided with peak hour between 0800 and 0830 when replenishment may have fallen behind slightly.

Flat screen Televisions are on their way for the standard rooms and have already been placed in the suite and Horizon Club accommodation! Televisions an expensive investment and we put our people first this year.

Our pool is one of the largest in the city and certainly more typical of a resort property than a hotel so in that respect we are again fortunate. The lounges are very high quality and our deck has only just been repainted. I’ll have a look and see what we can find.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

... this is the best hotel in Cairns. Large rooms, fantastic service, great food (fantastic breakfast choice). The location, right next to the waterside, is ideal for boat trips to the Great Barrier Reef. My only (minor) criticism: the floorplan is a bit confusing and we were lost a couple of times (though immediately helped out by very helpful staff).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomeRomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2009

Thank you to the reviewer for the lovely comments and also for referencing the efforts of our team who really do try very hard to deliver our own special brand of Shangri-La hospitality.

Our floorplan or footprint is triangular and was designed to minimise the height of the building while leveraging the outstanding views across the Marina and Trinity Inlet. Fortunately being triangular if a wrong turn is made you will end up where you started. Seriously though we here your comments and others and have additional signage being printed that will assist greatly – good point, thank you.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Booked 3 rooms with friends and had to room-change two of them due to broken A/C's and mildew....(woke up with damp clothes and sheets) . We still ended up with a room with a leaky shower, bathroom door that didn't close and a bed that sunk. So, make sure you are prepared to ask for another room and another until you get a decent room. Also, they don't to top-sheets on the beds!?!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ByronBayBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2009

Thank you to the writer for their review and hope the following does provide some plausible explanation.

Cairns is geographically located in the tropics and as such susceptible to various types of moulds and dampness. As a consequence of our environment we ensure that our rooms are kept as dry as possible at all times. Waking up with damp sheets would suggest that the balcony doors were left open. Open doors allow the humidity to come into the room and once it hits the cooler air causes condensation. The air-conditioning unit in every room will also disengage operation in time if the balcony doors are left open.

It is also true that we do dress our beds in a Continental style. Unlike many hotels we launder our duvet covers every day ensuring that hygiene and cleanliness is paramount and thus negating the need for a top sheet. That said if a guest specifically requests a top sheet, and some guests do, we will be more than happy to dress their bed to preference.

As I have written before if there is an issue with your stay let us know so that we can correct the problem. Our goal is to satisfy our guests each and every time.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

This hotel is in a great location close to where the boats leave for the Great Barrier Reef. From the lobby we were most impressed however upon entering the hallways the decor takes on a life of its own and than our room was a very nice size however the room didn't even have a flat screen tv and the bathroom hadn't been renovated for a long time. The staff were ok not really exceptional. For a 5 star hotel the basic rooms definitely didn't qualify for 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leticia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RugbyRob, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2009

Thank you to this guest who has taken the time to write.

The location is fabulous and certainly saves our guests time and money accessing the various attractions Cairns has to offer, cruising, diving, eating and drinking etc. Our guest rooms are amongst the largest in the city at 40sqm and were last refurbished in 2005. All of our premium accommodation including suites and Horizon Club have LCD televisions and our standard accommodation will be outfitted in early 2010.

Collectively we challenge is to delight each and every customer and we do sincerely apologise that we did not meet customer service expectations. Exceptional is a terrific goal to have and do hope that the guest would be so gracious as to indulge us on this occasion.

Rob Weeden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews