We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Rainbow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Inn
Ranked #62 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night- we booked thru expedia however they charged me $93 per night but the hotel cost was $70 per night.
This place is horrible. Looks like an appartment not a hotel. Dirty smelly room. On the doors there is a warrning : " For your security please attached door safety chains before retiring"- with all drunk locals around- it really scared us. We went to the restaurant- locals drinking alcohol. The server was very nice- food- good but they were short with rice- gave us fries and extra shrimps. as an excuse for not having rice-very nice. I got an extra beer for the mistake they made while making my food- it was nice too. The receptionist was very nice too. However that place is very dirty and full of drunk locals. Pool looks OK but we did not use it .. The hotel is located within walking distance to the downtown

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ania-ania2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to advise of your issues regarding our property. Being a high tourist area we feel that it is important to warn people to lock their doors. The bar, adjacent to the pool area is only open to house guests and people in their company. We are sorry that you didn't feel comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

I didn't have a choice at staying at this terrible place. It was booked for me as part of a group of people staying in Cairns for 10 nights. Stayed in what they classed as an apartment. While walking up the stairs to the apartment the paint on the handrails came off in flakes every time you touched it. Walked in and found dirty floors, smelly rooms, curtains fallen down, stove and oven not working, prescription medication and food in the cupboards, leaky shower head, no cleaning material for the dishes and a dirty fridge, The funniest thing was to see a sign saying that if you didn't leave the room in the same condition you found it you would be charged $50. Just wondering if we get a $50 refund as we left it in better condition when we left. The sign out the front advertises AUSTAR in the hotel. Don't be fooled, there is not any there. The bar was ok however on the second night we were there they ran out of whiskey. Not a good start. Wanted to have dinner at the Restaurant there on Saturday night, however found it was closed when we went there at 8.30 pm. Took our business elsewhere and other places were more than happy for us to dine there for dinner. This place is NOT WORTH even the cheapness of the hotel. Stay somewhere else; can't possibly do any worse than this! This hotel IS NOT WORTHY of 3 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wineguy1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

This room type you chose is not available on line. You have to physically be at the front office and ask for room types/prices and be shown the room and choose to stay there because it suits your needs and budget..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This place is well situated, in cairns able to walk to night markets and major city features. I also walked to cairns central several times. The staff were helpfully and willing to do a bit extra for you. Yes the I price is at the lower end but it suited me fine. Pool was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased that you were happy with your accommodation and enjoyed our lovely pool and garden area in our beautiful North Qld climate.
Look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our family of four would have been lost without the pool. Cairns turned on a rainy week for us which limited some of the sight seeing trips we had planned. Staying at the Rainbow was a real bonus. We were close to Cairns center, cafes, shops and Botanical Gardens, the Pier and Esplanade. The pool was fantastic, clean and attractive. The kids spent a lot of time playing there so were not cooped up inside.

The rooms were clean and tidy, staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: A room close to the pool will be best if your travelling with kids because they are going to want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6Sigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank your for your comments. We are glad that your family chose to stay with us in Cairns and enjoy the facilities available for recreation at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I found the hotel to be better than I anticipated after reading the reviews the staff were very friendly and helpfull the room was clean and the beds comfortable the swimming pool was also clean and set in a tropical enviroment the shops and takeaways were within 100 metres and the centre of cairns about 10 mins walk or about $8 taxi fare I have no problems at all about recommending the hotel to stay in and the next time I go to cairns I will be booking in here I was also accomponied by my teenage daughter who also had no complaints

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your honest appraisal of our motel. We are pleased that your enjoyed your stay and found our property to be good value and well located in relation to the city area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Terrible place to stay. Smelly rooms, dirty sheets; unhelpful, rude staff. NOT WORTH even the cheapness of the hotel. Stay somewhere else; can't possibly do any worse than this!
Other reviews say you get what you pay for. We (2 groups) stayed in two hotels of different classes (4* and 3*); both were vastly different in quality but prices were less than £5 per room per night diffference! This hotel IS NOT WORTHY of 3 star rating

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere; shop around and book early if possible to get a good deal on a good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Masiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to advise of your opinions. We realise that our 3 star affordable type accommodation is not suitable for everyone and that for some it is better to book 4-5 star accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I'm writing currently in one of the rooms and for the price the room is very good. It's also an easy walk to both the esplanade and shopping center. The only real negative is the loud people on the top balcony ( I assume they are the staff). Their language and loudness can make the resort not suitable for young families. Overall, its a nice resort in a good location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardMacQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank your for your comments. We are pleased that you found our property to be good value for money and well located in relation to the city area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.3 mi away
Cairns Southside International
3.3 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#59 of 63 in Cairns
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#60 of 63 in Cairns
121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Address: 179 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £33 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated Cairns Rainbow Resort is located in Cairns, Queensland, One of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, surrounded by lush rainforest and beautiful tropical oceans. The Resort is Located close to the city center where you will find shops, world renowned restaurants that cater for every cuisine, large variety of bars and clubs and only 100 meters to the esplanade and ocean waterfront. 5 minute drive is the Cairns Domestic and International Airports. 15 minute walk of the resort you can get to other attractions such as; Cairns central shopping center, cairns civic theater, convention center, cruise ship terminal, arts gallery, casino, train station, bus terminal, cairns museum, botanical gardens, and much more. Cairns Rainbow Resort is a tropical oasis close to the city center offering great valued rooms with Pool, Spa and tropical garden views. All rooms have private balconies, and free wireless internet. ROOMS: All of our rooms have balconies that open your room up to the beautiful tropical gardens and pool area. Only meters from your room awaits our spa perfect for relaxing and our large swimming pool with cascading waterfall, perfect for those warm summer days, by pools side awaits the lounge chair area where you can lay back and let the sun shine down while you enjoy a cold beverage from our bar, or a meal from the Coral Garden Restaurant. All of our daily cleaned comfortable guest rooms come with on a 32" Flat TV screen, free wireless internet, room safe, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, fridge. FACILITIES: Cairns Rainbow Resort facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, outdoor spa and pool side lounge chair area, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. Coral Garden Restaurant and Coral Bar are our onsite dining options, both great places to meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a dining experience and beverage. The resort waiting lounge has a computer terminal with free printing facilities, free wireless internet is throughout the resort. CORAL GARDENS RESTAURANT: Coral Garden Restaurant is your onsite option for dining. With a collective mixture of contemporary and classic design and views of tropical gardens, you sure will be pleased with the location of the Coral Gardens Restaurant. Offering locally caught seafood, succulent steaks, fresh salads, and seasonal vegetables you will be very pleased with the options. Not just offering a large variety of dishes, we also offer a few options for dining. During the humid months that the tropics bring, having a seat inside the restaurant is the comfortable choice, with a large fish tank along with gentle back ground music, you will feel relaxed and ready to try our a-la-carte menu. For the rest of the beautiful year round weather, you might be much more inclined to have a table in the outside area, you will be dining under the stars, and enjoying the clear night sky's. If dining amongst tropical palm trees and the background sound of only a cascading waterfall is your thing, no problem, this is also available with pool side dining. Also available is room service if relaxing on your private balcony is your preferred option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rainbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing