We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good motel in Cairns with helpful staff”
Review of Rainbow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainbow Inn
Ranked #63 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good motel in Cairns with helpful staff”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed for a night in Rainbow inn after dropping our campervan in Carins. We turned up on the day and paid AUD ~75 for a one-night stay. The staff was helpful, printed out our boarding passes for free and arranged a taxi for us to go the airport at 5 o clock in the morning. There is only one computer at the reception which can be a bit of an issue but we managed to access wi fi from our hotel room (of course we had to pay).Our room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were reasonably clean for a motel standard. There is a swimming pool and a restaurant in the complex. Although we didn't swim but the pool looked quite nice. As with any motel, noise was bit of an issue as our downstairs neigbours decided to have a party with lots of booze and smoking. Overall, it was a good night stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thshoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your holiday with us in the beautiful Tropical North Queensland region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    35
    25
    97
See reviews for
55
45
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed one night. Think we paid about $95. Room was just ok. Bathroom vanity looked like it had alot of damage around the bottom which made it look dirty. Shower kept switching from hot to cold water. Pool looked fine but did not use it. Mattress was stone hard. We awoke the next morning, packed up and thought we would give breakfast a try in their restaurant. We showed up about 9 am only to find out that breakfast hours were only 6:30-8:30! Seriously? Worst hotel choice of our 10 day stay in Australia.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BlondeFishBoat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that our facilities did not meet your expectations.
As most people are doing day trips leaving reasonably early in the morning, it is not viable for us to keep the restaurant open for longer hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

oakville
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night- we booked thru expedia however they charged me $93 per night but the hotel cost was $70 per night.
This place is horrible. Looks like an appartment not a hotel. Dirty smelly room. On the doors there is a warrning : " For your security please attached door safety chains before retiring"- with all drunk locals around- it really scared us. We went to the restaurant- locals drinking alcohol. The server was very nice- food- good but they were short with rice- gave us fries and extra shrimps. as an excuse for not having rice-very nice. I got an extra beer for the mistake they made while making my food- it was nice too. The receptionist was very nice too. However that place is very dirty and full of drunk locals. Pool looks OK but we did not use it .. The hotel is located within walking distance to the downtown

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ania-ania2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to advise of your issues regarding our property. Being a high tourist area we feel that it is important to warn people to lock their doors. The bar, adjacent to the pool area is only open to house guests and people in their company. We are sorry that you didn't feel comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I didn't have a choice at staying at this terrible place. It was booked for me as part of a group of people staying in Cairns for 10 nights. Stayed in what they classed as an apartment. While walking up the stairs to the apartment the paint on the handrails came off in flakes every time you touched it. Walked in and found dirty floors, smelly rooms, curtains fallen down, stove and oven not working, prescription medication and food in the cupboards, leaky shower head, no cleaning material for the dishes and a dirty fridge, The funniest thing was to see a sign saying that if you didn't leave the room in the same condition you found it you would be charged $50. Just wondering if we get a $50 refund as we left it in better condition when we left. The sign out the front advertises AUSTAR in the hotel. Don't be fooled, there is not any there. The bar was ok however on the second night we were there they ran out of whiskey. Not a good start. Wanted to have dinner at the Restaurant there on Saturday night, however found it was closed when we went there at 8.30 pm. Took our business elsewhere and other places were more than happy for us to dine there for dinner. This place is NOT WORTH even the cheapness of the hotel. Stay somewhere else; can't possibly do any worse than this! This hotel IS NOT WORTHY of 3 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wineguy1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
This room type you chose is not available on line. You have to physically be at the front office and ask for room types/prices and be shown the room and choose to stay there because it suits your needs and budget..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This place is well situated, in cairns able to walk to night markets and major city features. I also walked to cairns central several times. The staff were helpfully and willing to do a bit extra for you. Yes the I price is at the lower end but it suited me fine. Pool was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased that you were happy with your accommodation and enjoyed our lovely pool and garden area in our beautiful North Qld climate.
Look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our family of four would have been lost without the pool. Cairns turned on a rainy week for us which limited some of the sight seeing trips we had planned. Staying at the Rainbow was a real bonus. We were close to Cairns center, cafes, shops and Botanical Gardens, the Pier and Esplanade. The pool was fantastic, clean and attractive. The kids spent a lot of time playing there so were not cooped up inside.

The rooms were clean and tidy, staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: A room close to the pool will be best if your travelling with kids because they are going to want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6Sigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank your for your comments. We are glad that your family chose to stay with us in Cairns and enjoy the facilities available for recreation at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knowsley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I found the hotel to be better than I anticipated after reading the reviews the staff were very friendly and helpfull the room was clean and the beds comfortable the swimming pool was also clean and set in a tropical enviroment the shops and takeaways were within 100 metres and the centre of cairns about 10 mins walk or about $8 taxi fare I have no problems at all about recommending the hotel to stay in and the next time I go to cairns I will be booking in here I was also accomponied by my teenage daughter who also had no complaints

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your honest appraisal of our motel. We are pleased that your enjoyed your stay and found our property to be good value and well located in relation to the city area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 64 in Cairns
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#61 of 64 in Cairns
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
477 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cairns Southside International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Property: Rainbow Inn
Address: 179 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated Cairns Rainbow Resort is located in Cairns, Queensland, One of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, surrounded by lush rainforest and beautiful tropical oceans. The Resort is Located close to the city center where you will find shops, world renowned restaurants that cater for every cuisine, large variety of bars and clubs and only 100 meters to the esplanade and ocean waterfront. 5 minute drive is the Cairns Domestic and International Airports. 15 minute walk of the resort you can get to other attractions such as; Cairns central shopping center, cairns civic theater, convention center, cruise ship terminal, arts gallery, casino, train station, bus terminal, cairns museum, botanical gardens, and much more. Cairns Rainbow Resort is a tropical oasis close to the city center offering great valued rooms with Pool, Spa and tropical garden views. All rooms have private balconies, and free wireless internet. ROOMS: All of our rooms have balconies that open your room up to the beautiful tropical gardens and pool area. Only meters from your room awaits our spa perfect for relaxing and our large swimming pool with cascading waterfall, perfect for those warm summer days, by pools side awaits the lounge chair area where you can lay back and let the sun shine down while you enjoy a cold beverage from our bar, or a meal from the Coral Garden Restaurant. All of our daily cleaned comfortable guest rooms come with on a 32" Flat TV screen, free wireless internet, room safe, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, fridge. FACILITIES: Cairns Rainbow Resort facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, outdoor spa and pool side lounge chair area, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. Coral Garden Restaurant and Coral Bar are our onsite dining options, both great places to meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a dining experience and beverage. The resort waiting lounge has a computer terminal with free printing facilities, free wireless internet is throughout the resort. CORAL GARDENS RESTAURANT: Coral Garden Restaurant is your onsite option for dining. With a collective mixture of contemporary and classic design and views of tropical gardens, you sure will be pleased with the location of the Coral Gardens Restaurant. Offering locally caught seafood, succulent steaks, fresh salads, and seasonal vegetables you will be very pleased with the options. Not just offering a large variety of dishes, we also offer a few options for dining. During the humid months that the tropics bring, having a seat inside the restaurant is the comfortable choice, with a large fish tank along with gentle back ground music, you will feel relaxed and ready to try our a-la-carte menu. For the rest of the beautiful year round weather, you might be much more inclined to have a table in the outside area, you will be dining under the stars, and enjoying the clear night sky's. If dining amongst tropical palm trees and the background sound of only a cascading waterfall is your thing, no problem, this is also available with pool side dining. Also available is room service if relaxing on your private balcony is your preferred option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing