We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainbow Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Inn
Ranked #63 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rainbow Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was really concerned when we pulled up and went into reception, we were greated with a gentleman that appeared to be just out of hospital with bandages and iv cords hanging from him, he was wanting to cancel the nights accommodation as he was going thru a rough time etc and I was feeling a little uncomfortable when another undesirable couple came In also looking for somewhere to stay. I also asked what time the pool would be opened till seeing our room was right next to the pool, and the response was whatever time as long as you are quiet, my thought was omg its going to be a nightmare, but to my surprise no one hung around the pool and made any noise which was fantastic, the rooms were comfortable for what we paid, the tv remote didn't work, but apart from that everything else worked, air con fan etc. I would stay there again if there wasn't anywhere else to stay, but we did a lot of walking into the town so I would rather stay closer to the pier or shopping centre next time as walking at night past the local park was a little bit nerve racking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    28
    34
    22
    93
See reviews for
53
40
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Loved this place purely because it had great character, charm and very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help us be comfortable.

The rooms while older still had great facilities and just a few blocks from the Esplanade and night spots I thought the $100 per night was extremely well priced. Our friends stayed at a different place for $265 per night and wish they had have booked at The Rainbow too.

Thank you Rainbow and good bye Cairns!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

First of all I think that a lot of the reviews posted about this place are purely written for entertainment value, and i doubt if some of the stories told actually ever happened. I got a good laugh from reading some of them though.

Lets be honest about Rainbow Inn - it's a motel but their website doesn't mention that. The room on the website looks exactly like what I got except the one in the picture looks much cleaner. Some people mention it's star rating, something I don't even look at as it means nothing. It's subjective, not regulated and anyone can make it up.

I spent one night here as my flight from Cairns to Sydney was cancelled on the day of the public holiday for the Cairns show in July. Given that this was one of the busiest weekends in the city I was lucky to get a room anywhere at short notice and Rainbow Inn for $105 per night was a bargain. The room was spacious with a balcony view of the pool area, but the bathroom was very jaded looking and could do with a total refurbish. Toilet and sink were old looking and the shower was directed into a small bathtub with a greasy looking shower curtain around it. The tiled floor in the room was filthy, from just waking across it your feet would be black with dirt. Bed was clean and very comfortable.

From reading other reviews some people were concerned about security but the rooms have electronic locks and you would need to use reasonable force to break the door and you would not be silent, so I'd no concerns there. There was however a lot of young indigenous men wandering aimlessly around the complex. Not sure what they were doing there, were they long term residents or visiting other guests?

Room had free wifi, tea/coffee, flat screen tv, but the air conditioner was one of those relics from the last century with just very hot or very cold setting and sounding like a jet engine.

Did not avail of the restaurant/bar on site, but the motel is about 10-15 minutes walk from Cairns CBD. Reception staff were very helpful and courteous, for example they printed out airline boarding passes for me free of charge.

Overall, while not exactly perfect Rainbow Inn is exactly what you'd expect for $100 a night in Cairns. If you want something a bit better go over to Rydges on the Esplanade. However, Rainbow Inn should at least, modernize their bathrooms, get new air conditioning units and wash the tiled floors in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a pleasant place to stay. An older style motel but it was clean and reasonably priced.
There was a small restaurant and bar, which was handy. The pool area was nice. The reception staff were nice and very knowledgeable of the area and transport. Only a 15 minute walk to the centre of Cairns.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool have a nice view and are away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Rooms shabby and small, staff impatient, just horrible, they should turn it into a backpackers, over priced for what you get, be wary of booking online it looks nice in the pictures but it is deceiving it's nothing like it and the prices advertised in their window is much cheaper than what we paid online

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
501 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived and was met with unfriendly staff. We were staying 3 nights and cleaning was done at 4pm by rehanging wet towels from in the bath back up on the towel rail. Ran out of soap and had to ask for more. Internet only worked about 2 hrs of the whole time. The facilities are very run down, however the pool was clean and inviting. There is a bar which also served evening meals which were ok, but there was a sign out the front offering breakfast - but on the window is said 'no breakfast available' despite all the breakfast cereals and bowls being laid out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as we needed a reasonable price room whilst we went on a full day trip to the reef. A little apprehensive when we read some of the reviews but could not have been happier with our choice. Rooms are on the old side but we found our room very comfortable, clean and nicely positioned just metres from the pool. The pool and the gardens surrounding were an added bonus. Great for the tours as most operators will collect you from this hotel. The WiFi didn't always work from the room but we could sit outside and then had good reception. The room price was excellent for the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#35 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#61 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#29 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Property: Rainbow Inn
Address: 179 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated Cairns Rainbow Resort is located in Cairns, Queensland, One of the most popular tourist destinations in the world, surrounded by lush rainforest and beautiful tropical oceans. The Resort is Located close to the city center where you will find shops, world renowned restaurants that cater for every cuisine, large variety of bars and clubs and only 100 meters to the esplanade and ocean waterfront. 5 minute drive is the Cairns Domestic and International Airports. 15 minute walk of the resort you can get to other attractions such as; Cairns central shopping center, cairns civic theater, convention center, cruise ship terminal, arts gallery, casino, train station, bus terminal, cairns museum, botanical gardens, and much more. Cairns Rainbow Resort is a tropical oasis close to the city center offering great valued rooms with Pool, Spa and tropical garden views. All rooms have private balconies, and free wireless internet. ROOMS: All of our rooms have balconies that open your room up to the beautiful tropical gardens and pool area. Only meters from your room awaits our spa perfect for relaxing and our large swimming pool with cascading waterfall, perfect for those warm summer days, by pools side awaits the lounge chair area where you can lay back and let the sun shine down while you enjoy a cold beverage from our bar, or a meal from the Coral Garden Restaurant. All of our daily cleaned comfortable guest rooms come with on a 32" Flat TV screen, free wireless internet, room safe, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, fridge. FACILITIES: Cairns Rainbow Resort facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, outdoor spa and pool side lounge chair area, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. Coral Garden Restaurant and Coral Bar are our onsite dining options, both great places to meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a dining experience and beverage. The resort waiting lounge has a computer terminal with free printing facilities, free wireless internet is throughout the resort. CORAL GARDENS RESTAURANT: Coral Garden Restaurant is your onsite option for dining. With a collective mixture of contemporary and classic design and views of tropical gardens, you sure will be pleased with the location of the Coral Gardens Restaurant. Offering locally caught seafood, succulent steaks, fresh salads, and seasonal vegetables you will be very pleased with the options. Not just offering a large variety of dishes, we also offer a few options for dining. During the humid months that the tropics bring, having a seat inside the restaurant is the comfortable choice, with a large fish tank along with gentle back ground music, you will feel relaxed and ready to try our a-la-carte menu. For the rest of the beautiful year round weather, you might be much more inclined to have a table in the outside area, you will be dining under the stars, and enjoying the clear night sky's. If dining amongst tropical palm trees and the background sound of only a cascading waterfall is your thing, no problem, this is also available with pool side dining. Also available is room service if relaxing on your private balcony is your preferred option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing