We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Inn(Cairns)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
133
289
190
96
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
289
190
96
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomestead restaurantgames roommain poolnice resortcairns centrereception areastudio roombuffet breakfastpoolstropicaltennisrainforestaustraliatoursreef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Really nice rooms, lovely swimming pools. Food was good but not very cheap, but the accomodation was a bargain for the quality so that made up for it. Location is quite out of main town, but there are quite frequent shuttles available for a couple of dollars. Only takes 5 or 10 minutes to get to wharf, shops, restaurants etc So you have to balance the nice hotel for a cheaper price with the inconvenient location. Internet is available but not reliable

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking time to post your review.
I'm so glad to hear your comments of "value" as that is what we try to provide our guests - a great value proposition...!
Our frequent shuttle services into the city centre, at a nominal fee, really ensures visitors don't miss out on anything during their stay in Tropical North Queensland.
I trust we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If you are looking for an escape rather than a quick stay in Cairns than Colonial Club is perfect for you. It is probably even more attractive for families than couples. There have amazing service I must admit starting from the free airport pick-up (just call them from the free phone in the arrivals terminal), amazingly friendly staff and shuttle bus to and from Cairns. Last bus comes back to the hotel at 10:30 so for young people a bit too early and obviously you can take a taxi but it comes 5x more expensive than the bus. Very nice and spacious rooms, botanical gardens and several pool lagoons but for us a bit too boring.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeataGabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2011

Thank you for your recently-posted review.
I'm glad you enjoyed our services, staff attitudes, rooms and gardens. As we are located out of the city centre, it is great to see that you utilized our cost-effective shuttle service.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My wife and I just stayed 8 nights in this resort in a 'Superior Room'. On check in we received a complimentry fruit basket and a nice welcoming message from managament. The pools and gardens were beautiful, staff very friendly and meals from the Homestead Restaurant and Poolside Cafe were fantastic!!! They provide pool towels which was most helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable.

I must though criticise the following;

- The gym/fitness centre (which they advertise) is appauling. It has a broken treadmill, a broken rower, and a few torn up benches and weights which looks like were collected from the rubbish dump! In order to maintain our sporting fitness we had to use the commercial gym up the road. Colonial Club - either fix it up or stop advertising that you have one!!

- The 'Standard' rooms all seemed to have large modern flat screen TV's while the 'Superior Room' which we paid an extra $30 per night for had only a 51cm TV from the mid 90's. This didn't worry us too much as we didnt plan on much TV during holidays, however it does make the 'Superior Room' seem less superior.

All in all though it was still an enjoyable and relaxing stay and I would not hesitate to return.... so long as I see photographic evidence of an improved fitness centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank droo2ric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2011

Thank you for taking time to submit your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently endeavouring to finalize upgrades to our TV's in all rooms along with fitness centre equipmenent - please keep an eye on our website...
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Only planned to stay for one night as we were meant to move further North the next day as part of a round trip. However we got stuck due to a cyclone 4 and stayed 5 days in the end.
Room 418 was amazing and we believe the best room in the resort (very spacious, clean, private pool access, separate bedroom etc.). Due to the cyclone, we were only able to use all facilities on the first day. The main pool located around the Cafe was great and not overcrowded. The cafe itself offered cocktails and lighter snacks, so was ideal for a snack at lunchtime etc. The restaurant had a special dinner offer which normally changes daily. We took advantage of the discounted steaks and enjoyed it. The young Asian waiter was very nice and attentive. The resort has a business centre and mini library which was very useful. There are a lot of facilities and rooms, so the signage and resort map really helped not to get lost . They also cater for Asian groups (e.g. signage)
As the resort is not located downtown, the regular shuttle service was really useful. They also do transfers between the airport and resort.
From Day 2 the oncoming cyclone meant a lot of restrictions. However through it all, the management and staff were amazing! They kept everybody well informed, tried to reassure and even managed to organise boxed food during the cyclone itself. In all they stayed calm and tried to offer "business as usual" as far as possible. Luckily the resort did not have major damage and only a few rooms got flooded (luckily not ours). The staff managed to clear a lot up in a very short time.
In all, this resort is a great place to stay especially because of their amazing staff! Unfortunately we do not remember all the names apart from Paolo, who is a great asset to the team.
So do go and stay there!

Room Tip: ask for room 418
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DD_Adventuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking time to post your review following your stay with us during Cyclone Yasi - it certainly was a trying time for everyone and we were very lucky not only to not be directly hit but also to have such wonderfully understanding guests.
I trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The room was small old block type however updated and clean. Getting Luggage upstairs wasn't fun. Gardens was lovely tropical. Pools were great, loads of towels and good house keepers. friendly service. Bathroom was a little old and fan was dirty and so noisy! However for the price it was ok. There are other units that looked modern but didnt have kitchen stuff a family needs. We enjoyed our stay here although on arrival was disappointed with room it ended up to be ok. The resterant near main pool was great for familys had specials each night and games room attached.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground floor maybe if you have alot of luggage.
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2011

Thank you for taking time to submit your review following your recent stay. Despite your initial thoughts, I'm glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you bac in the not too distant future.
With Kind Regards
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews