We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Napier
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relatively ok”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a studio room upstairs. Slightly awkward dragging our suitcases upto it. We had a very nice outlook over to the pool area which was very attractive. The setup is very motel-like - and people needed to walk right past our door to get to their rooms , so at times it became quite noisy.
The studio room was quite compact - no chairs to sit on though, which we missed. Bathroom adequate, but the shower leaked quite a lot of water. Clean.
The breakfast restaurant was just lovely and we enjoyed three delicious breakfasts there.
All in all, perfectly good 3 star accommodation.
Location - you need a car or make use of their shuttle service into town, as it is about 10 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for your comments as we always appreciate feedback. The Team would be always willing to help if something was missing or you needed assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    264
    171
    88
    54
See reviews for
180
248
64
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The hotel resort is unusual for Cairns as it is build low, with single story only so one quickly forgets that you are in the middle of a city. The only problem with this type of building is that the noise levels can be a problem so pack ear plugs just in case!! The pools are great!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We do ask our guests keep the noise levels down so as to respect others but it is hard to manage; sorry if you were disturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at the colonial club resort for three weeks in a fabulous one bedroom apartment. The facilities are second to none with a tennis court, for which you get easy access via the gift shop where you obtain tennis rackets and key to the court for a $10 refundable deposit. There are three fabulous pools, one with an in-cave jacuzzi and a hot tub! The poolside snack bar serves delicious food, we ate here on many occasions. The colonial club is situated in a great location, just a ten minute taxi ride into cairns town centre or you can take the free bus service from the hotel at regular times throughout the day with a return service. Overall we had a fantastic holiday in cairns, definately the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your positive experience and we will continue to strive to be good at what we offer - value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our room was lovely and spacious. There were several pools to choose from and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Service was great at reception and at the restaurant.
It's the perfect place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG-TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback which will be passed on to the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned to Mission Beach after spending 4 nights at the Colonial Club.
First of all I would like to congratulate the Staff on the excellent service provided. From the receptionist who processed our check in right through to the bar staff the gardners and even the room attendance. They were all very friendly and welcoming.
We had one of the recently refurbished standard rooms which was excellent value for money. $79.00 per night which included breakfast. Stay in Cairns CBD and you would be paying at least $150.00.
The 4 days we had at the Colonial club was very enjoyable so we will return on a regular basis from now on.
However there is one area I would like to suggest to Management for improvement.
This is 2012. Smoking is now anti social so why on earth would you spoil this delightful resort by allowing people to smoke openly throughout the resort.
We were is room 60 and had to walk through the gauntlet of 3 smoking stations to visit the dining room and reception area. We also noticed people smoking in rooms which seem to filter through the building we were in. I realise it is difficult for staff to police this problem so why not make this beautiful resort smoke free the same as most hotels in Cairns. If you need to cater for the Asian guests I suggest you have a separate area at the rear of the resort for this purpose.
Because people were smoking in rooms we were also concerned that there were no smoke detectors in the rooms.
So that we can improve your rating next time to excellent can you please make some drastic improvements in this area. After all you will only be catching up with the rest of the hospitality industry.
Colonial Club has an excellent future and Iam sure we will return. Hopefully to see an improvement in the above area.

Room Tip: Refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibiscuslodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
We endeavor to exceed our guests expectations at all times and it appears we did not achieve this on all occasions during your visit. I am sorry the points mentioned were not taken care of by the Team who would have been happy to fix any issues for you. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Me and my wife stayed here 25-29 aug. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was in need of a major face lift as was the public areas. Our bathroom was not clean upon arrival, there was a coffe stain on the back of the bathroom door, there was hair in the bath tub and during our stay the bed sheets were not changed once, despite there being a coke stain on the sheets. We enjoyed the pool and the outside bar was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback and it helps us improve on our standards. We are working on some minor improvements to the bathrooms which is an ongoing project for a property of this size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed for 7 nights as a base for our holiday in the far north. Reception staff exceptionally welcoming and helpful, well done! Room was more modern than expected and well cleaned, just the bathroom needs a little maintenance - but all was satisfactory especially for the price. Gardens and pool areas immaculately clean and very pleasant. Noisy at night due to the location of our room in a courtyard but this was of minimal inconvenience. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. It is always good to receive positive feedback along with constructive comments to help us improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
467 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Property: Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing