We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cairns Colonial Club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 2 January 2013

When we booked this, I was very excited by the website, it looked just what we wanted and on arrival the outside, reception and pools looked just like the website. The pools are warm and tropical but I would have to describe the hotel as a tropical Butlins! The room layout was as per the the website although the decor was very plain and tired and in this respect, nothing like the pictures on the website and this was disappointing.

I am glad we went with a studio room so that my daughter could have a separate room from us - this was important as we were on trips that started early in the morning so we all needed to be able to sleep. The standard rooms looked quite small.

The air conditioning was useless and on inspection the filters were full of dust/dirt - this was stopping it functioning properly so we removed the filters and then it worked! The filters had obviously not been serviced for a while!

We had bed & breakfast board and the breakfast was fine, although juice was from a carton! I couldnt comment on the evening meal as I didnt have it. Staff were helpful because on the one morning we didnt have a trip we were late for breakfast but they helped my husband by providing him with the facilities to take breakfast back to the room for us. Breakfast is early enough to cater for those going on early morning trips.

Staff were helpful as they opened up the gift shop for me outside its usual opening hours when I needed a couple of bits.

The hotel has a shuttle bus to and from Cairns centre which is good value for money. It also has a shuttle service to the airport but once you have more than two people in your party it is cheaper to get a taxi.

Recently Cairns has agreed direct flights to China and this is very evident in that everything at the hotel is in English and Chinese. Lots of Chinese tourists who tend to use the pool at night and run around. I did ask them to keep the noise down due to our early morning starts and to their credit they did.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise_051972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback and it helps us improve on our standards. We will investigate the web site photos, apologies that you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

I stay at this property, on a semi-regular basis, (most of my stays are one nighter's due to work travel) I did manage to stay a number of nights over the resent holiday season with my family. I must say that that the staff on reception are always professional and helpful (Megan, is an asset to your property). There are a few areas that could do with improvement :
1) The public areas are tired and in need of TLC.
2) The breakfast buffet is a big letdown (definitely not as the promotional blurb states). The whole menu in its self needs to be overhauled as well... The decor in the restaurant is out dated too..
3) The games room is great however due to the heat it is not utilised as must as it could be if it was air-conditioned, the revenue that this could take if was air-conditioned would be greatly increased..
4) The gym being closed is disappointing too...
Finally It’s a great location, great pool's and of course the front office staff are an asset... Especially Megan.

Cheers

Justin Thompson

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHAGGYSLIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. The staff always appreciate feedback and I will be sure to pass on your comments. Other improvements will occur as the econiomy improves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and I couldnt be happier to leave.
The food in the restaurants were beyond horrific and after complaining we werent even comped for our meals or given an appology.
The rooms are so outdated - as if the 1980s so dont expect anything nice.
I wouldnt stay there again and am very dissapointed in the way they handled our complaint.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for your comments. We endeavor to exceed our guests expectations at all times and it appears we did not achieve this on all occasions during your visit. The issue in the restaurant has been dealt with earlier, our apologies for the delay. As far as the rooms are concerned, the entry level rooms have not been fully refurbished but offer value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
31
Reviewed 24 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon10001
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 November 2012

my wife and I arrived and the foyer looked very inviting and the reception was very friendly. The walk to our room through the gardens and past the beautiful outdoor pool and bar was very encouraging. The room was a little small but clean, the bathroom was adequate. Single pane windows made sure no one could have sleep past 7am, as the guests were up and about early.
Our room was booked for the full breakfast, continental breakfast available. The buffet was extensive with cereal, toast, fruit, full cooked, both western and eastern styles. we had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was sub-par. The poolside bar and Cafe, provided snacks, pizzas and buggers, from " From noon till late". The Saturday we were there it closed at 8 pm. The Internet is available in the lobby and the poolside bar area only, for a cost. the Gym was closed when we were there and it looked like it had been closed for a while. The grounds and gardens are beautiful but the paint work on the outer building rooms etc. was looking a little worn. The Staff were genuinely friendly. The resort is a little far from the main attractions, the hotel has bus the runs for most of the day at a nominal cost. when I return to Cairns, I will probably pick a hotel closer to the town centre.

Room Tip: Our room was by the pool and on the main path to the restaurant and lobby, it was very noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback and it helps us improve on our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This 'resort' is so-so. It is kept clean enough, the people are generally friendly and the gardens are lovely.

Apart from that, it is 5kms from the Esplanade (there is a very friendly bus service), the accommodation is very dated and in no way reflected the photographs on the website and there is no privacy (you need to have your curtains drawn as long as you are in your room). Also I was told to be careful in the area at night and not to walk anywhere.

It was cheap though, so you get what you pay for. Still, we moved after one night to the Harbour.

It is fine for an overnight stop if you are touring, however if you want somewhere nice to stay and to have easy access to the restaurants, lagoon and harbour, you will want to book closer to the Esplanade.

Room Tip: Request a modern room or something, and perhaps upstairs so that you don't endure the pedestrian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback. The location is a positive for some, depending on your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 63 in Cairns
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £55 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include a Conference Centre and a Gazebo. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing