We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Default Cairns Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our Default Cairns Accommodation”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Once again stayed at this place while starting or transiting through Cairns. Now taken over by IBIS but still the same good economic accommodation in Cairns. Not a CBD/waterfront resort but has good, clean, modern standard rooms; great pool and associated sunning lounges and bar/snacks. The central dining area is spacious and handles breakfast and dinners. Both are excellent and not expensive. Not within walking distance of CBD and associated restaurants but they have a transfer service if you want it. We were happy to eat-in. Place has vast accommodation capacity and seems to cater for conference groups. We haven't struck one yet and if we did the place would be a touch crowded. However, with just tourists the place is great. Plan to use Colonial again shortly with a post midnight resort pickup from the international airport. Lets hope the transfer happens otherwise my next report might be nasty. My only complaint with this resort is the long walk from room to reception/dining with luggage. Not a major problem as long as your bag has wheels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    269
    172
    90
    54
See reviews for
185
248
65
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 days before flying home to UK after a 6 week stay in Australia. The room was large with a "lounge/kitchen area" and separate bedroom area. Although tired looking decoration, it was very clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a buffet affair that had a selection of cereal, fresh fruits, toast etc and you could pay extra to upgrade to the hot selection. We dined 3 nights in the restaurant which was good, Jeremy especially attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchumieWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This was my fist stay here, and first visit to Cairns. I really loved this resort. The room was fine, really nice it had a small fridge in it. Everything was in working order, a tad out-dated, but I don't mind that all. The important things are great. The pool was great! The pool side bar and food was great. Parking was free! I liked that the way the parking was set up. Once you entered the resort area you felt like there was nothing else. The grounds were excellent. The staff here is what made the stay. They were so helpful, nice and really made sure we had everything we needed. The breakfest buffet was a bit pricey, but I found out all food in Australia was pricey. I would stay here again if I get the chance to go back to Cairns.

Room Tip: Try to get a main pool view. Great location for everything, was quiet even thought the pool was righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MadDogTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Rooms were fabulous no noise so you could get a good nights sleep. Staff were friendly and helpful which is what you need after a 3 day car journey!! The staff gave directions to were we wanted to go. Restaurant by the pool was lovely and reasonably priced. Has a self-service laundry which is a great help if you're travelling around. Would defiantly stay here again. Situated a sort distance from the city. The hotel do offer a complementary shuttle bus which brings you straight into the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My stay at the Ibis got off to a rocky start when my airport transfer (with Coral Reef Transfers) was a no-show (flight was delayed). No phone call, nothing, and since Coral Reef was closed for the day, I was left with no choice but to catch a cab.

After waiting almost an hour for a taxi, I made it to the Ibis. David at reception was very apologetic, and agreed to not only pay for my taxi but gave me a room upgrade free-of-charge. This was a most pleasant surprise.

But it didn't end there. Jeremy, from the restaurant, made sure I was well looked after; ensuring my bourbon and coke glass was never empty.

The room was lovely and the overall layout of the Ibis was clean and well maintained.

I was here on business, and I would definitely stay here again.

Thank you, Ibis, for making my stay extremely enjoyable.

Kind regards

Teresa

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CattReporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I choose this hotel because it is very close to the airport, has 24 hr reception, a lovely garden setting, excellent value for money with breakfast included and fuss free check in on arrival. There is always parking for my vehicle on site and it is located in a quiet residential area. Staff are polite and helpful. Can't get much better than that for the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tryinghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have stayed here twice before and been delighted, but this time we were a little disappointed. Standards seem to have fallen since we were last here 4 years ago and several services that were previously free ie:shuttle bus, now have a charge.

Because we are smokers we booked a superior room with private terrace/garden. It was littered with bottle tops, ring pulls and dead leaves. The white garden furniture was absolutely filthy, and there was a nest of flying ants in the wall which made it unpleasant to sit out there.

The pool was just as lovely as we remembered but again the white sun loungers were filthy.

Our room was extremely comfortable and well serviced, but the carpet had several nasty looking stains and the fridge was running with water.

Breakfast was excellent and the restaurants always clean.

The staff at this hotel are the best, always helpful and friendly. We remembered some of them and it was like meeting up with old friends.

All things considered, we did enjoy our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
478 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Property: Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing