We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Inn(Cairns)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
133
289
190
96
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
289
190
96
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomestead restaurantgames roommain poolnice resortcairns centrereception areastudio roombuffet breakfastpoolstropicaltennisrainforestaustraliatoursreef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Spent two nights here before flying out of Cairns with my partner. Rooms are clean and tidy with basic amenities and the bed was very comfortable. The pool was nice and clean but a bit old and in need of a little restoration. We had dinner at the Resturant and I recommend the buffet, which I believe was great value. Staff was pleasant, friendly and helpful. Overall a nice stay and very affordable. I will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alintajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I found this hotel to be a great place to stay, I went with my 4 kids and stayed for 2 nights, so we could go to the movies, and do local activities with the kids, like muddy playground etc, the hotel was ver clean throughout and we really enjoyed the tropical breakfast

Room Tip: The restaurant is very basic, I would eat out some where else next time
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaPortDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Had a late overnight stay here enroute to Townsville. The staff were pleasant, the room was suitable and very clean with no mould smells that can be common in the tropics at this time of year. $16 to $20 taxi fare to/from the airport although they do offer an airport drop off service for $15 pp. The pool area looked clean and relaxing. This property is old but it is very well maintained is a very fair price per night and gives a nice sense of being in the tropics. No WiFi in rooms just 15 free mins in the reception area. More time can be purchased.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Overall a very good place to stay and excellent value for money. The hotel does have a bus travelling to / from town at set times but if you hire a car or even a bike before you get there that's even better.

Room Tip: Breakfast is very good plus..Keeps you going for most of the day. Best to hire a bike or car to get you to and from the center of town.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarcusL483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is quite a distance from town and you will need to organsie transport or use the courtesy bus. The whole resort looks pretty tired and it feels as if hundreds of rooms are 'packed in' into the facility. Due to the high room density, there is a fair amount of after hours noise from the other guests and quite often you will see the shadow of a guest passing right in front of your window which can be a little disconcerting. The rooms themselves (at least the one we were in) have undergone refurbishment in the last few years and they are quite new and comfortable. The pools are pretty good, however they are not heated, so while the air temp may be a pleasent 27 degrees, the water might be 20 degrees. The restaurant was also disappointing so we dined out every night. (but again as you are not near tthe city centre this is problematic).

Room Tip: search for a better option...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews