We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
1 review
“Great value and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights and loved every one of them. We stayed in one of the updated standard rooms and it was clean, good sized and modern with crisp white sheets and a flat screen tv. We enjoyed swimming in all three of the resort style pools and walked around the property with its lush, green gardens. The best part (aside from relaxing by the pool) was the friendly and accommodating staff. Nothing was a drama. They offered helpful advice on restaurants, beaches, car rentals etc... and really went the extra mile to ensure you had a special stay. Margherita in particular was especially lovely. We would stay here again and again and have been telling all our friends how great it is. Make sure you rent a car as it's a 5 min drive from the town centre. Cairns is super easy to drive around in and having a car saved us a ton of time and money. I highly recommend the Cairns Colonial Club to anyone looking for an economical resort vacation.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a standard room. We were right across from the largest pool and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    264
    168
    87
    54
See reviews for
178
246
64
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very pleasant resort-style property, well set out with a good breakfast in a light and airy setting. Several landscaped pools throughout the property; always busy with busloads of tourists. Beds are comfortable. The older rooms at the back of the hotel are somewhat weary and always seem to be surrounded by noisier guests, whereas the newer ones near the front of the hotel (the ones you get 'upgraded' to) are more cheerful and quieter. Great value for money with the breakfast included and very family friendly. Wifi is non-existent at the back of the hotel but you can use your ten minutes free in the restaurant. You'll need a car if you want to get around since its not in the CBD or on the Esplanade.

Room Tip: We always book the newer 'refurbished' standard room (often offered as an 'upgrade'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was rock hard, the room was clean, the air condition made strange noises briefly during night, a few noisy guests, early morning departrees with their bags rolling past was annoying. Overall a very average experience, one that I would be reluctant to repeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked a day room as was just passing through, check in was seamless, our room was quite basic and dated but in fairness was clean and this is not an expensive hotel, the hotel is quite large with at least 2 pools, their was plenty of shaded seating and space. we had a meal in the restaurant which was a very pleasant surprise, the wait staff were great, the menu was a bit limited however what we received was a great meal at a great price. this is not a place I would choose for myself for a holiday but can certainly recommend for family's looking for a hotel with great staff, facility's and value for money.

Room Tip: Keep away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Awful Pizza, terrible Games room, too far from Cairns, needs refurbishment. Pool was great. I was hoping for Cocktails and a bit of luxury but I really felt let down. I guess if you are on a tight budget with a young family it's OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sabe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times and i thinks its a great value place to stay, all the tours will pick you up from here. Its just a bit out of the main CBD but they do have a shuttle bus that is very cheap. Best buffet breakfast around great food and service in the restaurant and it overlooks a tropical pool setting. There are 3 pools in the resort great if there are people in one pool and you want to swim alone just go to another one. Plus there is a range of different room types depending on how much you want to spend.

Room Tip: it depends what you are after i had a room next to the pool great location but a bit noisy when peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
It is rewarding to hear that you have chosen to stay at the 'Cairns Colonial Club' several times! We appreciate you highlighting the value offered. - and, the Chef will be delighted to know you enjoyed the 'breakfast buffet'. It is hard to beat - and, the view over the pool from Homestead Restaurant is a tropical paradise. When you are next in Cairns we would welcome the opportunity of having you stay with us again.
Kind regards - Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed just 1 night before flight to Melbourne. the receptionnist was nice and the manager came to meet us in French because he is french. we told him that the hotel is really big for an Ibis with 3 swimming pool. the room is big, the bathroom clean and nice, the bed confordable. it's just 10min drive from the city and it's quiet place to stay. we enjoyed the breakfast (included in the price), lots of choice and good food. the only thing is not too much car place in the carpark next to our room, it was just heavy to carry the bag from the front that it. ;-).
good place for good value.
i'll come back next time and I'll recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ophelie_delon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted that you would recommend staying at Cairns Colonial Club to others. On your next visit to Cairns, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort.
Kind regards - Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Property: Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Cafe or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant to something more casual at the Poolside Cafe. Work up an appetite on the tennis court. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing