We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Quiet Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here at the start of our tropical North QLD trip, yes it is a little out of the city but still a very short distance away and it's location means it's nice and quiet for relaxing around one of their pools. The pools are so lovely, perfect for that tropical themed holiday, the cocktails by the pool are great. Room was clean and the air-con worked really well. Staff were so helpful especially with organising a taxi to the city centre. Definitely will be back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chantelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Small family trip and quick stay. Loved how there three pools and very lush and beautiful. Me and my family enjoyed the stay as I loved how the kiosk/cafe is close to the first pool and the second pool had a nice hidden area behind the waterfall and a bar pool side. Worth the stay

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Deanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights while waiting for a cruise, so we chose it for price which was excellent. The classic queen room was good, actually had a bath, which was great for the aching limbs! My main difficulty was the location - hopeless without a car. It is not in Cairns, 10-15 minutes out and there is no food nearby - no corner shop, no takeaway, no cafes, NOTHING. You are dependent on the restaurant, which is pricey & sometimes booked out. The pool bar is very average & closes for food at 8pm. So... If you have a car, it is a reasonably priced motel type resort in a nice setting. Can be a bit noisy though.

Room Tip: Bear in mind there are verandahs all the way along the front of rooms. Inevitably people talk &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a great time. Staff very friend and helpful, restaurant a little expensive, food nice though. Room ok (air conditioner didnt work and shower leaked) but all in all nice. Cafe was good and the housekeeping staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendypeacocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing, We stayed here just recently,when we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a room with a balcony and beautiful view,team here are very helpful, polite and go above and beyond.we will definitely be coming back, already planning it :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here recently with friends on two occasions, both times the bookings were not as had been booked, after some time we were relocated to another room, the worst thing the long life milk in room was sour. On positive side the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays
Thank GrannyJules2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked two rooms, one Classic Queen and the other a Superior Room overlooking the pool with a request for both rooms to be relatively close to each other.

On check in the rooms were polar opposites of the hotel and the Superior Room overlooked the back end of a run down garden (a far cry from the pool view requested).. We where compensated with a full buffet breakfast.

The rooms look tired and in need of some TLC with the very basic facilties. The bed where clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
608 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
510 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £57 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing