We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Tully, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I liked the tropical gardens and the pools. It is spread over a big area. Staff at reception were great. We had lunch and dinner at the poolside cafe and both times the meals were really nice. The guy who served us also made our drinks at the bar was very sociable and made us feel welcome and he was also very efficient at his job. The guy at breakfast who was cleaning the tables after customers had left was so efficient. He looked like he loved his job. He was very keen and also very polite. If you have awards he deserves one. Our room was clean.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor as like to sit on the patio near gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    264
    171
    88
    54
See reviews for
180
248
64
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the morning straight after our flight and was able to get into our room right away. All staff throughout our stay we're friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are not modern, but they are spacious and clean.
It has beautiful gardens and pools, and good guest facilities. The shuttle bus into town is reasonably priced.
We will stay there again on our next visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. There appeared to be many (5-6) tour groups using the hotel. It wasn't really a problem, although breakfast got a little busy on one day.

The hotel bills itself as a resort, but I wouldn't call it that. The hotel rooms are very spread out, with lush gardens and pools separating everything. That would be fine if it weren't so buggy. There were mosquitos in all of the public areas, which made it tough to find a place to congregate and relax. This was especially problematic because the only areas of the hotel with internet access ants were those open public areas...so going online in the evening meant putting on bug spray or getting bitten. There were also ants in the kitchen area and bathroom of the room.

The room itself was a sort of suite, two rooms and a bathroom. It was sparsely furnished, though, and rather dusty. Still, the bed was comfortable enough, though there was only a single sheet on it. No comforter or duvet. There was a blanket in the closet but that seemed pretty sketchy. There was great water pressure in the shower. There was a strong air conditioner too. There were no special amenities, though there was a full kitchen set up complete with dishes and utensils.

The hotel is not really near anything. It is situated in a residential area. It was a 30 minute walk to the nearest grocery and McDonalds for a snack. The restaurant breakfast was fine. I didn't have occasion to have any other meals there. The one time we tried to get a pizza from the poolside bar, we were told they wouldn't be making pizza that night. Not particularly helpful. We ended up having to order a pizza. There is a car service into town, but it was rather expensive.

Were I to return to Cairns, I don't believe I would consider staying here again. I don't know how it compares to other area hotels price wise, but in terms of rooms and service it was average at best, and location was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at the resort with my husband and 2 sons, we had a wonderful time. Our room was clean tidy and spacious, we did not feel cramped at all! Had breakfast each morning in the Homestead Restaurant, was delicious every time. Our first morning there was quite busy and there were quite a few rude customers dining at the same time as us, however the staff grinned and took it on the chin and treated us nice patrons with extra kindness, especially Jack he was brilliant, made us laugh every morning and we couldn't wait to write a lovely review about him and the rest of the restaurant staff. I would have loved hot chocolate sachets in our room, I don't drink tea or coffee. But that is my only complaint! Loved every minute here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeJones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

When I visited this hotel, I had 40 teenagers with me. I could not have asked for a friendlier staff, better room layout, or more beautiful environment for my students.
The rooms are small, but very tidy and comfortable.
I felt like I was walking in a paradise every time I stepped outside.
The breakfast served was very good and we really enjoyed the beautiful scenery.
I will come back again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGJG-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 5 nights as a family, had a brilliant time. Breakfast each morning in the resort was wonderful, our kids loved it and the service from Jack was brilliant! He made our morning every time, would return just to see him! Resort is older style but still clean, tidy & very enjoyable, great pools! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanMBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We strayed here with our daughter and enjoyed the stay, the hotel was a little tired but the staff were welcoming and it was a good base for the price we paid.

I'm not sure if we would stay again as we probably would go for something a little more plush but do not be out off I'm sure that you will enjoy your time here.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#32 of 64 in Cairns
467 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Colonial Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Property: Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Colonial Club Resort is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Café (operates seasonally) or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing