We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
133
290
191
96
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
290
191
96
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomestead restaurantgames roommain poolnice resortcairns centrereception areastudio roombuffet breakfastpoolstropicaltennisrainforestaustraliatoursreef
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The club wasn't in the center about 5K away of the city, however it is located in a quite area with great landscape, our room was on the ground floor, big nice and clean with very comfortable bed. Great staff an service, Chef John cooked our first meal on arrival. Toshi and Matt at reception were wonderful, specially Toshi made our trip in Cairns as she helped us with last minutes booking to the Great Barrier Reef. BTW, the hotel has really happy staff as you will see them everywhere, Chanel was cheerful.

However, the hotel was packed with tour groups, some are arriving in very late and certainly you will hear them talking and dragging their luggage, and some Japanese guest will wake you up by just calling each other for a room number.. and the resort is very dark in the evening.

Room Tip: Taxi around in Cairns is suggested, cant cost you more than 30$ as the city is not big
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JZP0964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I liked the tropical gardens and the pools. It is spread over a big area. Staff at reception were great. We had lunch and dinner at the poolside cafe and both times the meals were really nice. The guy who served us also made our drinks at the bar was very sociable and made us feel welcome and he was also very efficient at his job. The guy at breakfast who was cleaning the tables after customers had left was so efficient. He looked like he loved his job. He was very keen and also very polite. If you have awards he deserves one. Our room was clean.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor as like to sit on the patio near gardens
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We arrived in the morning straight after our flight and was able to get into our room right away. All staff throughout our stay we're friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are not modern, but they are spacious and clean.
It has beautiful gardens and pools, and good guest facilities. The shuttle bus into town is reasonably priced.
We will stay there again on our next visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. There appeared to be many (5-6) tour groups using the hotel. It wasn't really a problem, although breakfast got a little busy on one day.

The hotel bills itself as a resort, but I wouldn't call it that. The hotel rooms are very spread out, with lush gardens and pools separating everything. That would be fine if it weren't so buggy. There were mosquitos in all of the public areas, which made it tough to find a place to congregate and relax. This was especially problematic because the only areas of the hotel with internet access ants were those open public areas...so going online in the evening meant putting on bug spray or getting bitten. There were also ants in the kitchen area and bathroom of the room.

The room itself was a sort of suite, two rooms and a bathroom. It was sparsely furnished, though, and rather dusty. Still, the bed was comfortable enough, though there was only a single sheet on it. No comforter or duvet. There was a blanket in the closet but that seemed pretty sketchy. There was great water pressure in the shower. There was a strong air conditioner too. There were no special amenities, though there was a full kitchen set up complete with dishes and utensils.

The hotel is not really near anything. It is situated in a residential area. It was a 30 minute walk to the nearest grocery and McDonalds for a snack. The restaurant breakfast was fine. I didn't have occasion to have any other meals there. The one time we tried to get a pizza from the poolside bar, we were told they wouldn't be making pizza that night. Not particularly helpful. We ended up having to order a pizza. There is a car service into town, but it was rather expensive.

Were I to return to Cairns, I don't believe I would consider staying here again. I don't know how it compares to other area hotels price wise, but in terms of rooms and service it was average at best, and location was terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Doug V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at the resort with my husband and 2 sons, we had a wonderful time. Our room was clean tidy and spacious, we did not feel cramped at all! Had breakfast each morning in the Homestead Restaurant, was delicious every time. Our first morning there was quite busy and there were quite a few rude customers dining at the same time as us, however the staff grinned and took it on the chin and treated us nice patrons with extra kindness, especially Jack he was brilliant, made us laugh every morning and we couldn't wait to write a lovely review about him and the rest of the restaurant staff. I would have loved hot chocolate sachets in our room, I don't drink tea or coffee. But that is my only complaint! Loved every minute here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChloeJones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews