We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as it sounds from the reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as bad as it sounds from the reviews.”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I read the reviews before I went and was bothered I must admit. Is this the best hotel that I have stayed at..no. Is it the cleanest ...no. However, the location is amazing. Everything that you could want was in a block of the hotel.
The staff were great and service excellent. The lock on my bathroom door failed and I locked myself out. This was about 10pm. Within 5 minutes I had a staff member at my door and it was fixed.
What you have to remember about this hotel is that all of the units are privately owned and everyone is different. So when you book make you ask what you want. Eg,carpet vs no carpet. Cooking facilities etc.
The view that I had from the balcony on the ocean view room was excellent.
Unless you get a good deal I think the prices are too high. I got an ocean view room for $95.00 per night and thought that was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask at reception. As the rooms are all privately owned they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnasperls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    258
    75
    22
    16
See reviews for
134
410
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted. Everything went downhill from there. When we opened the door we were shocked to find a mother and her young child resting on the bed! After apologising and returning to the front desk, we were asked to take a seat while they sorted things out. This took some time and included a staff member going upstairs to ensure they were not giving us keys to an occupied room (again).

When they handed us the second set of keys we were told to be careful as the floors were still a little damp. We found the floor soaking wet, the refrigerator was open and stuffed with towels (defrosting), the air conditioning did not work and the bed was well below par. We were a bit tired, having arrived from an international flight so we opted to not create any more dramas for ourselves at this one night accommodation. While unpacking, a member of the cleaning staff walked in on us (without knocking), not realising the room was now occupied. By the way, there are no internal latches to ensure your security when you are in the room.

All I can say is that we were very happy to leave this accommodation the next day. While the location is great, it certainly is not worth the hassle of the incompetent staff. Also take note, the bars operate late and can be loud if you book the water view rooms along the beautiful Cairns esplanade.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PnsFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Just wanted to say that we are sorry for the bad experience on check-in by this guest. September 2011 was when one of our two fabulous receptionists was very new to the job and the industry. Both are very capable and well trained now and we receive heaps of praise from many guests about how friendly and helpful our receptionists are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was our second stay at Royal Harbour. We were disapointed on arrival to find we were not on a high floor as requested but our apartment on the 3rd had great views. The reception staff were excellent
The cleaning left a lot to be desired, particularly the floors. The bench top oven and microwave are overdue for replacement and there was very little in the way of kitchen equipment, what was there looked like it had been left by previous guests. Mismatched crockery and broken knives and forks. Not even a bottle or tin opener. Fridge also well overdue for a defrost.
Not sure if we will stay here again even though we love the location as it has really deteriorated since we were first there in 2009

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Not knowing quite what to expect in Cairns we were immediately taken by the fabulous view from our spacious 1 bedroom apartment but also the privacy on the balcony. Staff were very helpful and friendly, reception desk open all reasonable hours. Our apartment was well fitted out with leather lounges and contempory furnishings. Great little kitchen too and a spa in bathroom . The only minor comment would be the bed covers which are somewhat dated. As soon as you walk in you think - 'ex motel 1970's '. Re: 'ants' in a previous post - this is the tropics and it is a reality of the wonderful warm climate. They were so tiny and so few to be barely noticable. We booked months ahead and got a great rate and a great room so that is my advice to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiedreamer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omarama, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

After a favourable 7 night stay three years previously, we chose Royal Harbour again for the four nights at the end of our Queensland holiday. Even though we booked in December, we were disappointed not to be given a room on the north side of the building as we has requested. The apartments are I think, privately owned but this should not excuse the standard of fittings and contents. The level of cleanliness was not the best. The phone was too dirty to consider handling, mould in the bathroom, lack of plugs for sink, the waste disposal stank, the windows were absolutely filthy, the kitchen utensils and plates, glasses, very low standard, no valance on the bed, absolute minimal furniture. The staff were great and apologetic when we told them how things were. The pool was really cold. Location is great of course-that's one of the reasons we went back. Didn't see any ants and no bad food smells that others have commented on. Won't recommend these apartments to anyone unless they are cleaned up and contents checked regularly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwannets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This place was lovely the views from our balcony were stunning.It was central to everything,and within walking distance to everything.The receptionists Megan and Ruth are worth their weight in gold and more.Thankyou both for your warm and friendly service,it made our stay that much more enjoyable.Jill and Bruce Somers.New Zealand.

Room Tip: view the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caloundra
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife & I stayed 7 nights at this hotel.
The location was great,excellent harbour views & restaurants and eateries located directly beneath the hotel.
Walking distance to the casino and shopping centres.
The staff at the hotel all were great,always obliging & helpful with information regarding dining & tours around the area.

Room Tip: Request a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattoCaloundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Property: BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. Please note: For guests arriving by car, including taxi, please arrive at our rear entrance where Reception and car parking is located - Level 1, 60 Abbott Street. This is above the Night Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing