We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Breakfree Harbour is very conveniently located right in the centre of the action part of The Esplanade strip of restaurants and shops. Directly opposite is the well used and very clean free open air public swimming pool known as the Lagoon The accommodation in the room is fine, with adequate basic cooking needs. Although there for 7 nights we only ever made breakfast. We had an ocean view room which I would recommend. Free parking is a good plus as you are in the busy part of town. Given the location I was also pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was at night. Would definitely stay there again. Note Taxis are a bit expensive with the 10 min trip to from the airport costing $23 each way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear RobandCarmen

Many thanks for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed our great location, free parking and terrific ocean views. We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Cheers
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights for our wedding anniversary and I must say it was the most relaxing time in a while. When booking online you worry that what you see is not what you get. Well we got what we saw and for the price of the room we were amazed. The apartment was excellent value. The view was amazing.Thankyou to breakfree for my request for a beautiful view as we had the best room in the block I think. The staff were excellent and we loved there friendliness. The bed was so comfortable - Have stayed in many a Flintsone bed that is not comfortable. No ants because we read the reviews and sprayed barrier on arriving. I agree put your food away and you won't encounter a problem.The location is the best you can get and right within everything you need. My only tiny wine was the noise of people slamming their doors because the bedrooms are close to the main hallway but put a towel at the door and problem solved. The doors are heavy for our security I figured. I will definitely stay again . Thankyou for being part of our time away because if the accomadation is right then that makes for the start of an enjoyable holiday. Break free is definitely in the best location for restaurant, town , marina, clubs, casino, parks and lagoon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetravelling38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Ilovetravelling38,

Thank you for your review, we are very glad that you enjoyed our fabulous location, apartment and value. Those doors are being fixed at present, the door closers on many doors have failed and are being replaced. Yes, those doors meet Australian standards for fire ratings and are very heavy - they can slam if the door closers don't work as they should. We look forward to your next stay.

Best wishes,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights in this fantastic hotel, booked online after reading fellow reviewers comments and I have to agree, every thing was was perfect. From the moment we stepped into the foyer to our departure, friendly, welcoming & helpful staff, rooms were ideal. Having never been to Cairns I had no real concept of the location when I booked & it couldn't have been situated more perfectly close to absolutely everything, definitely stay here again. Donna

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hi Donna
We are very glad that we met with (perhaps exceeded) your expectations. Thank you for your most welcome review.
Best wishes
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for 7 nights...loved every minute. Garden Room was perfect as we travelled with our young daughter and it felt like we had our own backyard!. Room was clean, staff very friendly and location cannot be faulted!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Leanne
Thank you so much for your great review, we appreciate you taking the effort to spread the good word to potential guests.
Best wishes,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just spent 5 nights at the Breakfree. The staff were fantastic, Megan organised all our tours. Manager was very honest and helpful. Views were breathtaking. Central location with some fantastic restaurants around. The marina was a short walk away for the trips. This is the only place we will stop in Cairns.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Gail
You are very much appreciated for your kind review. Many thanks from our staff.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great place to stay clean room close to every thing you do not need a car go on tours get picked up at the door staff very very friendly they arrange everything for us great job well done.The pool barby great the out look is perfect walk out the door all the shopping you need .
John Sue l

Room Tip: Garden rooms are great.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear John and Sue

We are so glad you enjoy staying with us and look forward to seeing you back here. Many thanks for your review.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place was great. We only spent one night here, but we had a 'ground' floor unit, great access to the pool and BBQ area, and the room had a great look. Location was great, and we heard no sounds at all from the Esplanade despite our closeness. The spa bath was a great addition as well.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Peter T
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will return. A special thanks for your review.
Best wishes
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback, overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing