We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location,great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We always stay in this hotel when we are visiting family in Cairns.Great views over the inlet with ocean view rooms.They are good size one bedroom apartments with kitchen,lounge and balcony.The bathroom has a spa. The reception are always very helpful and friendly.The location is great,just walk out onto the esplanade with all the eating places and bars right there.It is situated directly above the night markets.Great stay and would not hesitate in booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear time0ut,
Thank you for your great review, our team were delighted with your comments. We are all thankful for the time you took to do this.
Best wishes,
Brian T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

This spot may not have been the most posh, amazing hotel ever... but it was such a great deal for the incredible view of the ocean and the location (directly over the night market and a short walk from the pier where all the dive/ excursion boats leave from). There was also a rooftop pool that looked really nice, though we didn't get a chance to enjoy it. The room had a washer/dryer and fridge. There were tons of pool towels available (helpful to us going on the dive boats). Make sure to check out the night market under this hotel- very cool (and decent cheap massages available!). Overall, we really enjoyed this spot!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougSilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Smiltons

We greatly appreciate your review and high ratings, especially as you are such seasonned travellers. Thank you!

Best wishes,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you are looking for accommodation in the most ideal spot on the esplanade with the best views, this is the place. Not serviced unless you spend more than 8 nights so you will need to stock up your own milk, tissues etc but perfect spot. Didn't see any staff other than reception desk person so if your happy to do your own thing, eat out anywhere downstairs along the strip or utilise the small in room kitchen you'll be fine. Washing machine was handy. Best view in town made it ideal. Also, despite being on esplanade on New Years Eve, we managed to sleep through any noise. Ideally ask for 4th floor and above.

Room Tip: Ask for front room above 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Tracy V
So glad you appreciated our ideal location and some of our amenities. Thank you for your review.
Cheers
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I are currently staying here, (6th Dec - 13th Dec 2013).
We had second thoughts after reading some of the reviews listed. Glad we decided to stay. The staff are fantastic, helpful, knowledgeable and very friendly.
The apartments are clean, comfortable and great views (6th floor Seaview) recommend it.
Location is central to some of the best cafes, restaurants, eateries (being directly above the night markets) also overlooking the Cairns Esplanade Lagoon. A short walk to the Marina, Casino, Shops you name it it's not far away.
We manage a similar Apartment / Resort on the West Coast of Australia ( a bit smaller being only 20 apartments) so we appreciate the work that goes into keeping this resort looking good and so clean and presentable at all times.
The negative feedback in some of these reviews, reflects the lack of research and planning these people put into their choice, We have stayed at more expensive, higher star rated places but this place it makes you feel welcome for your whole stay. Always trying to make your stay memorable for all the right reasons.
Thank You for a GREAT stay in Cairns.
Highly recommend Breakfree Royal Harbour. .

Room Tip: Seaview Rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Gail J,
Wow! So good to read your comments which put into perspective some of the negative comments some people have made. I put your review at the top of my list because you understand the work required and the effort needed to be successful in this industry. Our small team are passionate about making our guests' experience here truly memorable for all the right reasons. Thank you for a GREAT review.
Best wishes,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

+++
- location is perfect, right on the main strip and easy to get to various tours/dock/restaurants
- room is clean and quite large, includes washing machine, mini fridge, microwave and sink
- noise level was great, although close to tourist activity - couldn't hear it at all!

---
- only provided with 2
large bath towels and must pay $6 AUD if more needed
- no free wifi
- if in only in town for a few days, good place to stay. If longer,
recommend traveling to Port Douglas for nicer accommodations/town setting

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DanieJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear DanieJudi,
We appreciate you taking time to post your review. Many thanks.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

From our 5th floor apartment we loved the views, day and night over the lagoon, both Hotel and public pools, but especially the ocean and Harbour. The apartment is large with a separate very quiet bedroom and large lounge area with basic cooking facilities and good sized fridge . Everything in Cairns tourism is an easy walk ,including every type and cost of restaurant and the indoor Night markets and food hall next door. Woolies is 5 minutes walk There is a helpful tourism office /agency in the building , gym, plenty of parking and helpful reception staff. We found our apartment very quiet with shutters as well as heavy windows and enjoyed the small balcony . The room rate ( in November) was good value.

Room Tip: Be sure to have a room overlooking the waterfront .There is no servicing of rooms for stays less tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear sheilarussell,
Thanks for your review. It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay and I hope we will see you again one day soon.
Best wishes,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a brilliant property close to virtually everything a tourist would want in Cairns. It's a two minute walk to the lovely warm lagoon, five minutes to the reef terminal, over the road from a big chain supermarket and has a plethora of restaurants just out the back door on the Esplanade. I stayed for 8 nights in a fifth floor apartment (it really is that much bigger than a typical hotel room that it warrants being called an apartment) overlooking the lagoon. The air-con was great and a washing machined helped considering Cairns is humid enough to turn dry clothes into sweat drenched in a matter of minutes. The property has a very nice salt water pool on the 2nd level and bbq facilities. The only thing stopping me from giving the place an excellent rating is that the bathroom bin wasn't emptied when the room was serviced midway through my stay. A small oversight I agree, however, considering the contents (I won't gross you out), it's an oversight that should not have happened.

Room Tip: Try and book a room overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesfarnarkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Jamesfarnarkler

Thank you for your very positive review and I am so sorry about the bathroom bin not being empty - our houskeeping standards have improved to a very great extent but there is always something that can (but shouldn't) be missed.

Best wishes and welcome back one day soon I hope,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £84 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback, overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing