We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed for four nights over December 2013 and January 2014, and BreakFree Royal Harbour were very impressed with the location, and the lovely receptionist (Meegan I believe was her name) who was very helpful.

As a serviced apartment, it was perfect for us - as is standard in these types of hotels, there is not a daily cleaning/towel service, but this was all clearly stated on their website, and there were options for replacing towels for a fee - again, this is what I expected and as it is an apartment, there are washing/drying facilities in room if you really want clean towels each day.

Our room was large enough for two people, and the living area was particularly generous - although some of the decor is a little outdated everything was clean and comfortable (particularly the bed), and we had everything we needed for a self-contained stay - large, clean refridgerator, a good washer and dryer and enough kitchen equipment for cooking a good meal. The spa-bath was a touch my partner particularly enjoyed!

The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained - we saw a gardener several times during our stay, and he spent a long time cleaning the pool area. The pool area itself is not large, but was never crowded even though I assume the hotel was probably at nearly full capacity - there are also BBQ areas in the garden that were very clean and well-maintained.

Location-wise this is probably one of the best hotels for being central to the action - located about the Night Markets it's actually very quiet - even on New Year's Eve we couldn't hear any street noise from inside the hotel. There's a large Woolworth's supermarket a block away, the Cains shopping centre is an easy 5-10 minute walk away and the cruise terminal is also close by (less than 10 mins walk).

As I mentioned above, the receptionist was incredibly helpful and pleasant - she asked us about our plans when checking in, gave us all the information we needed about the hotel and the local area, arranged a taxi to take us to the airport and made us feel incredibly welcome - she is a definite asset to the hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I can't think of anything that could have made it better. Highly recommended for couples and families staying in Cairns that want to be close to the action in a self-contained apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear katB82
What a great review! Many thanks. Meegan was over the moon when she read the nice things you wrote about her. I certainly agree that she is one of our greatest assets. Francesca, our other receptionist, is equally valuable to us, and Abu (the gardener - as well as cleaner for all the public areas) is most dilligent and always provides a quality finish. We only have a small team but every one is like a member of the family. We take great pride in BreakFree Royal Harbour.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    226
    68
    17
    15
See reviews for
105
367
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were surprised that the apartment did not get a service for the whole time we were there, including clean towels! The apartments were very basic and quite dated, however, we had a balcony overlooking the ocean which was a big plus. The staff were also very helpful and polite which is also a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaWealleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear AndrewWealleans
Thank you for your review of our apartments which I consider a positive one except for two issues which I would like to address. Our apartments are independently rated at 4 star and we need to be constantly upgrading to maintain that rating. Secondly, our rates are devised to include a mid-stay clean for any booking of more than seven days. Extra cleans can be arranged at a cost. This is stated in our Terms & Conditions. Thanks again for your review.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived at the BreakFree Royal Harbour mid-afternoon and was greated by a lovely receptionist who checked us in and talked us clearly through the terms of the room (security deposit etc). She then asked what we had planned to do for our 4 day stay and quickly recommended some trips relevant to our plans. I'm sure the hotel get some sort of commission for this service, but she was well informed, helpful and talked us through what she would recommend. She got us all booked into the trips that were available, which was good so that we could relax and know if was all sorted.

The room was as I had expected, nothing luxurious, but clean, with a comfortable bed, suitable kitchen facilities and plenty of space for the two of us. With a fold-out bed it could have easily accommodated three people. The room also had some 'starter' tea and coffee - very nice after a long flight! There are sufficient utensils and pots to make a meal. I read on the in room documents that the room is serviced if staying longer than 8 nights, but that you can request for frequent servicing at an additional cost. The air-conditioning work great which was a godsend in 36 degree heat.

The hotel has a small pool, but it is such a short walk to the lagoon that we didn't use it in the end.

The hotel is in an excellent location with an entrance opening straight onto the Esplanade only a minuet from the lagoon, and 5 minuets max from the harbour where you catch trips to the reef. There are a good assortment of souvenir shops, diving shops (for water proof camera hire etc) and its about a 5 minuet walk to Woolworths for groceries, 10 minuet walk to the large shopping mall. There are a large number of bars and restaurants along the esplanade (which unfortunately we had really bad experiences with so I couldn't recommend any - we only went to two and I'm sure they were off-days)

All in all, a really pleasant experience from the Royal Harbour, I would stay here again when visiting Cairns.

Room Tip: Sea view room - definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILikeToTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear ILikeToTravelUK
Your comprehensive review is most appreciated and I consider it to be both fair and honest. Both our receptionists, Meegan or Francesca are well versed in the various tours and we strive to make a great first impression and then improve from there.

We would be delighted to see you return - such a long way to come, I know.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed only 3 nights wish it was longer will go back.
Friendly staff, brilliant apartment, fantastic views to Esplanade and HUGE free public pool. Located over night markets but still a quiet location. Walk to terminal for all boat trips in 5 mins. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Deat Tatnger,
Loved your review, hope we will see you back here one day. Many thanks
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We always stay in this hotel when we are visiting family in Cairns.Great views over the inlet with ocean view rooms.They are good size one bedroom apartments with kitchen,lounge and balcony.The bathroom has a spa. The reception are always very helpful and friendly.The location is great,just walk out onto the esplanade with all the eating places and bars right there.It is situated directly above the night markets.Great stay and would not hesitate in booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank time0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear time0ut,
Thank you for your great review, our team were delighted with your comments. We are all thankful for the time you took to do this.
Best wishes,
Brian T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This spot may not have been the most posh, amazing hotel ever... but it was such a great deal for the incredible view of the ocean and the location (directly over the night market and a short walk from the pier where all the dive/ excursion boats leave from). There was also a rooftop pool that looked really nice, though we didn't get a chance to enjoy it. The room had a washer/dryer and fridge. There were tons of pool towels available (helpful to us going on the dive boats). Make sure to check out the night market under this hotel- very cool (and decent cheap massages available!). Overall, we really enjoyed this spot!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSiltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Smiltons

We greatly appreciate your review and high ratings, especially as you are such seasonned travellers. Thank you!

Best wishes,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you are looking for accommodation in the most ideal spot on the esplanade with the best views, this is the place. Not serviced unless you spend more than 8 nights so you will need to stock up your own milk, tissues etc but perfect spot. Didn't see any staff other than reception desk person so if your happy to do your own thing, eat out anywhere downstairs along the strip or utilise the small in room kitchen you'll be fine. Washing machine was handy. Best view in town made it ideal. Also, despite being on esplanade on New Years Eve, we managed to sleep through any noise. Ideally ask for 4th floor and above.

Room Tip: Ask for front room above 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Tracy V
So glad you appreciated our ideal location and some of our amenities. Thank you for your review.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Property: BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. Please note: For guests arriving by car, including taxi, please arrive at our rear entrance where Reception and car parking is located - Level 1, 60 Abbott Street. This is above the Night Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing