We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

So Breakfree is right in the centre of town on the Esplanade. You can't get a better spot. Downstairs is the night markets, a great place for a quick takeaway or if you've had a hard day, go to the $15 massage. It's fantastic and you'll feel a million dollars. The staff in the motel are friendly, helpful and can't do enough to help you have an enjoyable stay. Being self contained it's easy if you want to cook a meal but with so many great restaurants just downstairs why worry about cooking. The rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable and the view across the water is magnificent. Great pool with modern furniture and 2 BBQ areas with tables. Walking distance to everything!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front (although all rooms have a good view except lower floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Springo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Springo67,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate your efforts to spread the good word.
Cheers
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in July 2014 for 5 nights.
Location was the one outstanding plus.
Staff were friendly.
No Wifi provided which is unusual in this day and age.
The hotel room needs an update was very tired but clean, was infested with small ants in the kitchen, obviously an ongoing issue as there was an inspect spray provided under the sink.
Only 1 dinner plate, 3 cups, 3 side plates were provided and a blunt kitchen knife for cutting fruit and vegetables.
Aircon in bedroom was not working when we arrived and could not be fixed until the next day as the man to fix it was not available until then. Glad it was not the summer months!
Stayed 5 nights, no replenishment of any items.
Strange no window in bedroom.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank pjc195410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear pjc195410

Thank you for your contribution. I will answer each point in turn:

Wifi is available - we have a service provided by Azure which guests pay for - approx $10 for a day, and there is a free service (which most guests report is available from their balconies) provided by Cairns Community Wifi.

We do not have hotel rooms, all our rooms are 1 bedroom apartments. Hotel rooms is a name given to a room with a bed and an ensuite bathroom and nothing else, perhaps a kettle and a cup and saucer or two. Our apartments are being updated each year; we strive to present a better package each year because to do nothing is going backwards. Our last AAA Ratings inspection was in April 2014 and we maintained our 4 star rating.

Those little sugar ants are prevalent in most of Queensland and nothing seems to eradicate them. If guests seal all food products and store them in the fridge or microwave, they will not be bothered much by the ants.

Having such a shortage of crockery and cuttlery in your unit is something for which I apologise. Replacement items are available simply by informing reception.

Regarding the air conditioner, our maintenance staff are not on duty after 5pm as was the case when you reported the problem. We are not a hotel which operates 24/7 and as such, we can offer an apartment for about the same price as a hotel room in other similarly located establishments.

When guests book for a stay of less than eight days, their apartment is not serviced. However, replenishments are available from reception.

Cheers
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Meagan the receptionist was very helpful even stayed back to help us. Close to eating area even has opening into food court. On top of Night Markets. Security very good Key access only!!! Rooms quite spacious & well equipped. Pay the little extra & stay in Ocean View room as back rooms are a little noisy from all the air conditioners on roofs. Taxi service excellent. Can walk from Station. RSL nearby Only down side the Spa Bath/Shower has glass walls into kitchen area. OK if you have a good body but NOT for us Oldies!!!!! Can use shower curtain to screen off (don't like seeing someone on the loo!!!!! Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for room facing Esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanna001_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear hanna001_11,

Yes, Meegan is extreemely helpful and friendly. Thank you for your positive review, it is most appreciated.

I'd just like to say that all rooms from level 4 to level 7 inclusive are Ocean View Rooms - irrespective of whether they are at the front of the building or the back. And all rooms face the same direction which is North-East.

Cheers
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for three nights mid June at this apartment in the middle of Cairns. The property is located within walking distance of the esplanade, the casino, restaurants and pubs. The apartment itself was reasonably clean. It was classed as a one bedroom but the front door opened directly into the bedroom and if the timber divider had been drawn across it would have felt very claustrophobic. The living/dining area was a better size. The kitchen is small and only has basic cooking facilities. If you are staying for more than a couple of nights you will need to provide extra amenities such as toiletries and toilet paper. We found the staff welcoming and helpful, they went out of their way to stress the sensitivity of the fire alarms. There is also a helpful information desk on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaAustralia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear AmandaAustralia13

Many thanks for your review. We are glad you liked the great location, the quality of our cleaning and our helpful staff - all very important factors.

For the benefit of people considering us for their next stay in Cairns, I would like to add that we only class and advertise our "kitchens" as "kitchenettes" - but the only thing they are missing is an oven and a dishwasher (except for 2 rooms). They have cook tops, microwave ovens, a kettle, toaster, crockery and cuttlery. We also include a "starter pack" of tea, coffee. milk. sugar, salt, pepper, toilet tissues, facial tissues, hair shampoo, bath gel, soap, washing up liquid and clothes washing powder for the washing machine. And if you need more of these, they are available at reception at reasonable prices.

Best wishes
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent Customer Service, a great location & a clean room greeted us on our recent stay. We stayed on the 2nd floor & the street noise was non existent. The grounds & pool area were fantastic 10/10!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and had access to pool and BBQ facilities on the same floor. Limited view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Matt L
We loved your review, thank you for taking the time to post this - much appreciated.
Best wishes,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in a one bedroomed garden view apartment which was actually quite large. The apartment was well equipped with everything needed to self cater. The resort is very centrally located with access from both the Esplanade and Abbott Street, with the main entrance located in level 1 and accessed from Abbott Street. The resort is an easy walk from the train station (about 800 metres) and a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the airport (approx $20). The resort has a very nice barbecue area and a good pool. There are plenty of good restaurants and pubs along the Esplanade, all within very easy walking distance of the resort. The night markets are located virtually below the resort and run every night from 4.30 until about 10.30pm. Perhaps the only downside to being so close to the markets is the smell of cooking from the many food outlets, but it didn't really bother us. Megan on reception was very friendly and extremely helpful; nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I would certainly recommend the resort and stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Sue M
You covered a few things which many first-timers here would be glad to know about: central location, distance to station, taxi details to airport etc. Thank you for your very well written review. Yes, Meegan is a wonderful receptionist, our small team appreciate her passionate and friendly attitude, as do many of our guests.
Best wishes,
Brian T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed with two friends in a twin bed apartment (number 407) with the sofa bed folded out for the Cairns Half Ironman in June. We were most impressed with the location - two street entrances, right beside the night markets and opening out onto the restaurant strip in the middle of the esplanade. There is even a tour desk in the complex.

We chose an ocean view room to watch the last ironmen and women come in, and despite the extra noise (which we expected) we enjoyed a lovely panorama and proximity to the atmosphere of the esplanade. The price was reasonable for a busy weekend which books up months in advance, keeping in mind that one must pay extra for daily servicing.

Service was impeccable, with special thanks to Meegan (for whom nothing was too hard) and Brian (who came down and let us into the luggage room promptly after checkout even though we had failed to read the sign informing us of their early 2pm public holiday front desk closure.)

My favourite feature of the room was the spa, which had a view of its own (clear screen out into the living area with covering shower curtain if needed.) It was well utilised! The hotel and decor are a little older and would benefit from a facelift, but this did not detract from our comfort. The apartment was comfortably big enough for three people, a bike and various triathlon paraphernalia. Room 407 could have done with a larger TV (not that we used it) and new rubbish bins/crockery.

I award this hotel five stars not because of its luxury (that wasn't what I was going for) but because I felt that the location, staff and facilities made a perfect base for a getaway in Cairns, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra for an ocean view room - great part of the whole experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth-Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear regmarks,
Your excellent review is well received - I can assure you. The whole team here was most appreciative of your kind words. You covered all the issues that can make or break a happy stay and I am glad to have passed your critical and experienced examination. We hope to see you back next year.
Best wishes,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
4 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £75 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback, overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing