We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location - Spacious Rooms - Spectacular Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sth Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect Location - Spacious Rooms - Spectacular Views”
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Royal Harbour Room 701 - Great Location - right on the Esplanade - Spectacular views Walking distance to just about everything, especially night life and food. Nice private pool Excellent Security .
Lovely King Bed - Nice Spa - Limited cooking facilities, but why bother on holidays - but a microwave and single hotplate is there if you wish.

Room (actually apartment) was presented very clean.

Reception staff Ruth & Megan were extremely cheerful & helpful with local info.
Although we had already pre-booked our tours, a great range or tours and advice was available from the helpful staff.

Highly recommended

Al & Col - Sth Australia

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlnCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    255
    75
    22
    16
See reviews for
130
408
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Flying from Brisbane, my girlfriend and I were very excited about our first trip away toegether. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 7 nights. Armed with our pen, paper and camera, we documented the damage to the room. The 'dining table' leg was broken, and we had ants throughout the apartment (including the bedroom). It was as if the floors had never seen a mop! Our feet were black after walking through the apartment taking photo's of the damaged items...

When advertising a 'queen bed', you generally expect a queen sized bed. Instead, we were treated to two single beds pushed together, covered by a queen sized sheet! This made for an extremely romantic holiday ...

Instead of recording our credit card details for incidentals, the company withdrew $150 from my account, and refunded this upon our departure. As the complex is situated above the Cairns Nightmarkets, the liftshaft was filled with a disgusting 'fatty' odour from the multitude of eating spots below the building

Reception was manned by a young teenager who didn't really provide the warm welcoming we were expecting.. The accommodation certainly put a dampener on our holiday.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bergenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

complained about ants in apartment gave me a tin of spray.dont mind ants in so called kitchen but dont like sharing my bed with them.stayed in same star rating motel in port douglas for the same amount as i paid here with it being 10 times better.complained via email as well as reception but nothing was done i am very dissapointed and wont stay there again or recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christina045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

After a recent stop through in Cairns, we had a great stay at the Breakfree which is located right on the main stretch of Cairns.

We used an Entertainment Card for a good discount here and are glad we found this gem among a sea of mediocre hotels in Cairns. These are apartments and in a great location, overlooking the Cairns Lagoon. It is perfect because the pool is on the 2nd floor terrace which means you can take in the atmosphere of the Lagoon with less people on mass! The day we were there, the band stand was going and the music was magical.

There were also BBQ facilities on the terrace which we did not use but which would have been great if we had been there longer. Rooms were full fitted and well situated with ocean views. The balcony was great and opposed to some other more expensive hotels that are recommended on tripadvisor our balcony was much more roomy with a better view!

Spa in the room was also a great bonus, very big. The only thing that could use improvement would be to fix up the bathroom, the rest of the unit is very modern. Also was great for us as we were in the middle of a long trip and needed the laundry facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful and even though they don't work long hours as it is not a hotel, we did not have a problem with service at all.

We'd definitely come again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Explorer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria,
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I have been to Cairns three times and this was the first time staying at this hotel. The location is brilliant. There are wonderful views over the lagoon and ocean, the night markets are down stairs. We were in room 608 and didn't find it noisy. They don't clean your room daily, which we knew before booking, but that is what keeps the costs down. The hotel itself had a strange smell, it seemed to be worse after they mopped the floors. Overall though, if you want a cost effective hotel in an excellent location book at this hote.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wodrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

After reading various comments about this place, I have decied to book an apartment for 3 nights. When I first arrived, I had trouble finding the reception as it is not on the ground floor. The front entrance is kind of a tour booking desk and you have to walk past it and pick up a phone to get reception to sent the lift down to the ground floor. How bizzard!

The apartment we have been allocated is facing the NW - don't get the morning sun but plenty of sun in the afternoon. All the apartments are facing the Cairns lagoon and have good ocean view. Adjacent to Breakfree are all the resturants from the Esplanade and their air-con systems generate so much noise that you will find it rather disturbing sitting out at the balcony. We are on level 5 (508) and we can hear it loud and clear! I think the best rooms are 03-06 as they have a more direct ocean view.

Breakfree is part of the Stella Hospitality Group and it is probably ranked at the lowest level of accommodation standards. The apartment needs to be frenshened up - paint is peeling off on walls. Kitchen and bathroom are very dated - they are going through a refurbishment program but from what I can see is that they are only re-painting all the apartments. No change to kitchen, bathroom or furniture.

The microwave oven doesn't seem to work properly - takes almost triple the time to heat up food and drinks than normal. The washing machine vibrates so much that you think it will tip over! The place isn't that clean - you can see plenty of dust on the blinds, coffee table, bedside tables. The floor feels sticky - I didn't dare to walk on it bare feet!

Overall, I don't feel I am getting my money worth in terms of quality of the apartment. The only positive comment I can make is the location - right next to everything!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank au_syd_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2009

I organised this accommodation for my in-laws for their anniversary. The really loved it their three nights there in a 1 bedroom spa unit. I especially appreciated the great service from the staff (Mark) who was really helpful. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Property: BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. Please note: For guests arriving by car, including taxi, please arrive at our rear entrance where Reception and car parking is located - Level 1, 60 Abbott Street. This is above the Night Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing