We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 10 July 2012

When we arrived the air conditioner was on and the room was too cold but we couldn't turn it off and the staff didn't seem to be able to help. They reluctantly gave us extra blankets and eventually the problem was solved. The bathroom was a bit worn but the beds and pillows were excellent and very comfortable. The breakfast in the LiLo room was nice, especially the freshly squeezed juices and the freshly cooked omelettes. Also we had quite a good view from our room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Chrisp64

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

I apologise about this time it took to resolve the issue with the air conditioning in your room but do am pleased that the team was eventually able to resolve it.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our new breakfast “Rise”, we are very focused on providing our guests with fresh and healthy options to start the day.

Regards,

Fareid Taheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for business. It is away from the main tourist strip but convenient local restaurants and cafes. Has a very noisy pub across the road.
Pros - good size room, very comfortable bed and pillows, great value for money
Cons- bad breakfast, standard rydges decor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from pub side and try one of the good local cafes for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear MsCulture

Thanks for reviewing Rydges Plaza Cairns.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought it to be of a good value.

I am glad to inform you since your stay we have refurbished the entire breakfast buffet area and release the new breakfast concept Rise, which consists of a market fresh approach to breakfast. Hope you can try on your next trip up.

Regards,

Fareid Taheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to our tour trips etc. If you want a basic room at a cheaper rate, then your stay here won't be too bad.
Staff were very helpful and friendly, and I cannot deny them of that. I was impressed by the service.
The room however, was extremely basic and the bathroom was very dated, so dated that it didn't really seem 'clean' with rust around the showerhead. We were surprised that Rydges had put their name to a hotel as dated as this (think refurb is needed - at the very least, the bathroom).
We were a little let down too by the room service - the 'beer battered chips' weren't really beer battered at all, and an upgrade from an entree to a main essentially meant double the price.
At the end of the day, if you need a bed for a night or two and you won't be in the hotel for too long, then it isn't too bad, but not one I would stay at again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Susie C

Thanks for reviewing us and your kind comments about the team here.

I take on your point about the bathrooms, and some have recently been refurbished. Upon your next booking, feel free to request one of these rooms.

We have also release new menus throughout the hotel and would love for you to try on your next visit to Cairns.

Regards,

Fareid Taheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We chose this hotel for its great location.Our room on 8th floor so Saturday night parties did not disturb.The beds as promised were comfortable and the buffet breakfast very good.The front desk staff(Brenden and Davina) were very helpful and friendly.We got a very good accommodation deal and we certainly would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betcando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Betcando

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us!

Our “Rise” Breakfast buffet was recently introduced to Rydges Plaza Cairns so it is great to hear your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back the hotel soon.

Regards,

Fareid Taheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Had a good stay and got a great rate with triple Priority Guest points. Played a gane of pool and had a coupla drinks in the very funky Lilo Wetbar too. Central location - a few blocks from the Esplanade - but very handy to the shops. The "Dream Bed" was too soft though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surftravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Dizne,

Thank you for reviewing Rydges Plaza Cairns.

Lilo sure is a fun place to have a game of pool with some beverages to match. We just released a new bar tapas menu that we hope you can try on your next visit.

Being right on the corner of Grafton & Spence streets we are ideally located to see all the local attractions in Cairns.

Regards,

Fareid Taheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We selected this hotel because it is in the centre of Cairns and its twin rooms offer two double-beds which means our daughter can stay in the same room without the additional cost of a roll-away bed.

The room / hotel is dated but the room was clean. We asked for a room on a higher floor as we knew the rooms in the lower floors would noisy. The buffet breakfast was OK and the staff were a bit slow in bringing out food.

We paid $99 per night for room and free parking, good value for 3 people staying in the centre of Cairns. As Rydges priority member, we also got free drinks vouchers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chillibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Chillibee,

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Did you know if you’re signed up with our Priority Guest Reward program you can also get up to half price on in-room internet and 20% of food and beverage in the bar and restaurant for dinner.

We look forward to seeing you again at Rydges Plaza Cairns.

Regards,

Fareid T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel does not live up to the expectation created by the Rydges badge. The room was a decent size but the carpets and curtains had past their use by date. The bed however was wonderful ,the best of the trip. The location was good but could be noisy at night if there are any concerts on in the near by venues.
The staff were really helpful but must be very tired of dealing with complaints from people about unrealised expectations. It is priced as a Rydges hotel but it is not up to that standard.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chookPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear chookPerthWA,

Thank for submitting your feedback on Rydges Plaza Cairns.

I’m sorry that you felt that this property was not up to the Rydges standard.

We have recently been purchasing new curtains in order to improve individual room aesthesis as well as putting an extreme emphasis on enhancing the look and feel of the overall property.

Thank you for your friendly comments on the staff. They are definitely a highlight to Rydges Plaza Cairns.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 64 in Cairns
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#55 of 64 in Cairns
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#36 of 64 in Cairns
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £85 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing