We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senior Citz View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Senior Citz View”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Arrived at Cairns Station on the Sunlander. Wheeled my port (I’m a Queenslander) through the large Cairns Central Shopping Centre and then 2 blocks to Rydges Plaza. Oldish large clean room with balcony and view. Spotless white bed linen and towels. Room serviced daily during my 6 day stay. Walking distance to Casino, boat terminals, RSL, local bus service mall and waterfront. Enjoyed both breakfast and dinner in the Lilo Restaurant. Under $25 for taxi to Airport for return trip. Excellent service from Reception, Restaurant and Household Staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hi Carmel K - I was delighted to read you enjoy staying with us; the Hotel is certainly well located and the staff attentive. It is also great to read you enjoyed your meals in Lilo Restaurant & Bar, I will be sure to pass on Chef who will be very pleased.

Regards,

Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    121
    125
    97
    89
See reviews for
89
106
41
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel is central to everything in Cairns. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly both when checking in and when leaving.
Our room on the 9th floor was clean and fresh and the furnishings did not seem old. The bathroom whilst not looking new was clean and neat. The bed was great and gave us a great night's sleep.
Breakfast in the restaurant was superb with an excellent range of dishes and the option of making your own juices from a variety of fresh fruit. The chef makes omelettes as you wish and does a fantastic job! It was great to see different presentations of some of the items too - fresh juice 'shots' and small glasses of museli, yoghurt and fruit - it shows that there is staff pride in what they do rather than the 'same old same old'.
We'll stay again.
Oh, join the Rydges' loyalty programme "Priority Rewards" - you get 20% off restaurant meals and drinks and some help with accommodation (staff at a sister Rydges' property put us on to this before we paid the bill at dinner the night before).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hi Paul W - Thanks for the lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed your room and stay with us. The Rise breakfast has really been a great addition to Rydges Plaza Cairns and Chef sure does take pride in his product! On your next stay be sure to try some of the Bar Tapas - Yum!

Thanks,

Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Rydges Plaza hotel is excellently situated in the centre of the CBD, close to all the action, and was ideal for our weekend in town. The staff were excellent, efficient, friendly and courteous. Having used the function rooms etc. a number of times over the years, it just seems that parts of the hotel (pool/bar/toilets) are now rather tired and in need of maintenance, and some cleaning. On the roof below our balcony were lots of cigarette butts and a dead bird :-( (but to be fair it hasn't rained in a while). The room was clean, as was the bathroom, but it was definitely past its best, with mould on the ceiling tiles, and the sink are very tatty. The two staff on breakfast were a little overwhelmed on Sunday at 9am, and coffee and bacon both ran out, and it took 10 minutes to rectify - but breakfast had an excellent choice and was well cooked and presented. We had a good local deal with my loyalty card, which made the stay good value because it included breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hey OllieOxford- Your kind comments on the staff and Rise breakfast have been passed on to the team here who are thrilled to hear about them. We are currently doing some work on level 3 and by the pool to keep in line with the funky atmosphere created in Lilo Restaurant & Bar. Thanks for your time.

Regards,

Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I had a fairly bad experience with Rydges Plaza Cairns. My room was dirty and smelt and when I complained I was provided with air freshener. Surfaces in the room were visibly dirty, roof was moldy, carpet and curtains stained. It didn't make for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harasness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hi Harasness – I was very disappointed to read about your stay, it was not good enough. I have brought this to the attention of the management team here who are working hard on making sure all rooms are up and above the correct level of cleanliness.

Regards,

Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Reception staff were friendly, helpful, welcoming and efficient.
Convenient location.
The overall cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired - there was a cigarett butt on the floor just inside the door; the inside of the refrigerator was not clean with dried milk stains on the shelf of the door; the balcony floor was sticky; the room was very dusty, including the packets of food items in the basket on top of the cabinet and the bathroom bench and amenities.
The refrigerator was noisy.
The bed linen, however, was clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hey Louise N – Thanks for your kind comments on the reception team here. I will be sure to go over the cleanliness of the room with the Executive Housekeeper, my apologies that it was not up to par for your stay and hope that your next stay is much more enjoyable.

Regards,

Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns The room was clean and staff very friendly the food very nice the kids enjoy the meal.The pool very nice again very clean.The bed very good,shower great We very enjoy our stay Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Hi Kiki,

It’s nice to hear you and the kids had a good time staying with us. It has been absolutely gorgeous weather here to enjoy relaxing by the pool, we hope you had a great time! Thanks for taking the time to review us.

We hope to have you back soon!

Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Read the reviews and was worried but the staff and the room were wonderful. Clean and tidy, comfy bed a little bit of noise first night from the night club but not too bad but rest of stay was great no noise at all. Staff at reception were friendly and personalised the service. Curtains were a little out of date and had some cigarette burns in them but that didn't really bother us at all. Breakfast was great. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 9th floor was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hey Julie S,

We sure are glad you had a great stay! I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to the reception / food & beverage team who will be very please. Thanks for the feedback the curtains, it has been directed to the housekeeping team here who are presently looking into it.

Thanks once again,

Fareid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#55 of 64 in Cairns
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Property: Rydges Plaza Cairns
Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing