We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms, large beds but hotel looks really old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, large beds but hotel looks really old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

The pluses of this place are definitely its location, spacious rooms and large beds. There's so much going on in the vicinity so you can never run out of food and shopping options.

However, the place looks really old. It's generally clean, but I still felt that the floor was really sticky and we didn't feel quite comfortable walking barefooted in our room. Shower curtain looks a bit old and dirty as well.

And the main gripe I had was the freezing aircon. Turned it all the way to the "hottest" and I was still freezing. Luckily the bed felt comfy and warm and I dreaded getting out from underneath the blankets. To be fair, I went to my friends' rooms and ours was the coldest by far. One of our room lights was faulty as well. If the management sees this, our room number was 510 FYI.

Lastly, they only issue out a single key for the room, which was a real hassle for my roommate and I.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chunlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
HI Chunlian,
Thanks for your constructive feedback. Your comments about the air conditioning and the floor have been passed on to the appropriate managers who have looked into and addressed these opportunities.
Our location is definitely a positive as you mention as well as our large spacious rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Rydges Plaza Cairns.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    114
    118
    93
    74
See reviews for
84
94
40
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend, and was pretty impressed by the majority of the hotel. Staff were courteous and helpful on check in, yes they still use keys but I thought that was a bit retro. We stayed in the deluxe king and the bed was well worth the extra money - the top mattress is separated so when my partner moved, I didn't feel it. Best pillows we've ever had in a hotel room also - I want the exact same for home. Had a fantastic sleep the whole time.

The one main issue we had was with the room service - AWFUL! We just wanted a light snack after a big day out before we went somewhere for dinner, so decided to split a kids meal of fish and chips. Called the room service number, after ringing for ages, I got cut off. Called again, ordered - no problem. 40 minutes later, the reception staff called us to ask if we had heard from room service - we had not, and were still waiting! An HOUR after ordering, it finally came - and it was terrible. The fish wasn't skinned properly so it still had the skin on underneath the batter - I don't know any kids that would eat that, let alone an adult that's not particularly fussy. Huge waste of time (and money).

Overall, the place is quite dated, but our room was clean, so it didn't matter. Oddly, the curtains could have used an iron! What a strange thing to notice, I know, but there it is! Also, like others have said, the air con is quite cold but just turning it off fixed that. We had a nice view of both the mountains and the water, it is just a shame that its set so far back from esplanade that you see a lot of rooftops, but if you don't want to look at that, there's plenty of hotels *on* the esplanade I suppose. Yes, the balcony was rubbish, but there's not much to look at anyway - if you want to sit out and have a view, again, go to a hotel on the esplanade or the pier.

The location I thought was perfect for what we wanted, we walked practically everywhere and it was fine. No noise complaints from the 10th floor. The breakfast was pretty good with a wide selection, but expensive - we didn't test anywhere else's breakfast in the area to compare though. We had to hunt down glasses for juice (and someone to set a table for us - it needs a concierge desk or something because we wandered around wondering if we could eat there without having paid in advance for a while before we were helped). Pool area was lovely, with undercover cabanas to get out of the sun.

Most importantly - the hotel needs to offer free wifi. Even the skydiving reception area had free wifi. There's not really much of an excuse to charge $18 a day for wifi when you can get it for free practically everywhere else, not in this day and age.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the king deluxe on the top (10th) floor by the sounds of it - we overlooked the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billie111255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Hi Billie,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a thorough review of Rydges Plaza. Firstly let me apologise for your room service experience as this should have been a simple process – we have looked at our procedures and tinkered with the children’s F&C dish so appreciate your comments.
Our pillows and dream beds are very comfortable as you mention and I am glad you enjoyed your sleep. And we agree that our location is perfect to see the sights of Cairns.
Hopefully we get another chance to see you up in FNQ in the near future.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Swimming pool was great and you get to use one of the fitness centres in the local area for free. Great location as well. It was close to everything. Beds were very comfotable.

Room Tip: Well soundproofed. Nothing worst than a hotel that is not soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi Nelson,
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. As you mention our location is perfect & within walking distance of so many great Cairns attractions. Our Rydges dream beds always guarantee a great nights sleep and many of our guests have purchased their own after a few nights in one of ours.
Again thanks and hope we get the chance to see you up in FNQ soon.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfail, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in a Queen Queen room for two nights the room was comfortable and very nice for a hotel room. It was overlooking the pool which was a great view. The breakfast at rise was delicious both mornings and the staff where very friendly and helpful. The location was very central in the CBD.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi Maria,
Thank you for your review of Rydges Plaza, sounds like you had a great time away with the family. As you point out our Rise breakfast is delicious – one of the best in town we believe and I will pass on your comments to the team up in Lilo.
Once again thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Staff simply just check you in and check you out, no information on in house restaurant or amenities, just take the lift to your room. The hotel is in need of renovation, peeling paint on doors, still use keys, aircon was freezing in my room when I went in. Bedding and bathroom were okay, balcony you could only just stand on, no room for a seat as it's tiny.
They have renovated their pool and restaurant area called Lilo which I didn't even know where it was unfortunately until the last night as I had to ask how to get there. I had tapas and a wine in the lounge, if I knew about this when I checked in I would of eaten at the lounge bar every night as it was a good menu. Convenient to the convention centre for a conference and rustys market.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Hi Tracy,
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback from someone who has travelled a fair few times. We pride ourselves on our service so it disappoints me that you were not informed about Lilo Restaurant and bar as we believe it is one of the best spots in Cairns, so my apologies for this. The air con issue has been bought to our maintenance teams attention and rectified.
I do hope that we get another opportunity to show you what we can do and feel free to contact me personally for any further reservations.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

After a long day was welcomed with miss typed name so hard to check-in.
Got to room ready to collapse but when i opened door was greeted by a moldy smell...
Decided to open windows to freshen up air. When i noticed LARGE dark marks on wall that look like someone tried to paint over mould sigh!!!!
then decided to iron shirts before crashing out only to find what looked like a 1950s ironing board with a cover that was useless, and a cupboard that smelt soooo bad that after ironing i had to lay clothes out on bed rather than hang up.
Tv was new which was a waste as only 3 channels were tuned in and remote batteries were so dead that once i got to 1 station i stopped looking as i was getting so frustrated...
Went out for run in morning only to get back and find I was locked out as key failed to work...
Best part of 2 days on 6th floor room was leaving

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stablest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Hi Mr Stables,
Thanks for your review of Rydges Plaza. Our apologies for the misspelt name on check in – though we have checked our records and both names were correct to what we were sent, so we will be following up with your booking agent. The walls that have been painted over have already started being removed and should all be gone in the next few weeks – we agree it’s not the best look. The ironing board and TV issues have been addressed with Housekeeping.
We do hope we get another opportunity to show you what we can do at a future date.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My room was on level 4 which has access to the roof top pool area. Bed was comfy, pillows were soft and amazing, room was clean, bathroom was old but I had no issue using it. The exhaust fan didn't seem to work though and the mirror would fog up within seconds of having the shower on. Water flow was strong. Great location. I would stay here again just for the location. 5 minute walk to Cairns Central shopping center. 5-10 minutes walk to the esplanade. So many great food places to eat at right on your door step. Standing on my balcony I could see Gilligan's Backpackers/Night Club. I stayed on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. Did not hear a single noise from the night club or any other club. Only downside is that there is no free wifi. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destiny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi,
Thanks for your review; we can’t agree with you more about our location it is so close to everything Cairns has to offer and all within easy walking distance. And as you point out our dream beds are amazing. My apologies regarding the extractor fan our maintenance team have been informed.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#42 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Property: Rydges Plaza Cairns
Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing