We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul and Helen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
1 review
“Paul and Helen”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for 10 Days at Rydges Plaza Hotel in Cairns, we were very pleased with the room very clean and tidy, cleaned every day, towels etc changed daily, we had breakfast every morning there, it was a fantastic buffet, the staff were so friendly form the front office, cooks, waiting staff and the cleaners, we had evening meals a few times, they were great too, once again a great stay and would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: High up great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi Helen
Thanks for your great review; we agree that our breakfast is one of the best in Cairns. Appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and their service, and I am sure they will all take delight in reading them.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the FNQ.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    121
    125
    97
    89
See reviews for
89
106
41
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our first trip to Cairns and have always stayed with Rydges so chose Plaza for location. Always love Rydges breakfast and Plaza did not disappoint. Found the service from both reception staff and others to be at a high standard. Although room was dated it was very clean. Absolutely rated the location for shops and convenience and the pool was an added bonus with kids in tow. I would stay with them again. Have their breakfast! Its simply worth staying there for that alone!

Room Tip: Studio room had balcony and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I went with a group of middle aged and elderly persons. Obviously we were the only guests of this second rate hotel.
The breakfasts were mediocre (no cheese either available).
Our room for example had a nice balcony, couldn't use it at night as the light was not working.
Our room was large and had two queen beds. nice BUT one bed had blood spot on the side of the sheets, all thru the seven days.
The veneer on the fridge cabinet was lifting, the bottom drawer of the chest of drawers was faulty and the carpets smelled.
The bathroom had a cracked-fibreglass patched plastic bath, the shower hot water tap kept falling off, there were drummy wall tiles and mould in the corners.
Tv reception except for channel seven was poor.
One of the nights "included" dinner was pathetic rump steak,! some had rump leather or rumped grissle. The fish alternative was also mediocre.
How this can be rated as 4 stars amazes me.
we have stayed in other hotels mainley o/s and in GHA hotels and never have I seen one so bad.
This puts me off all Rydges hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked flights with Jetstar whilst in Australia and they offered hotel deals in Cairns where we were staying. I usually do plenty of research into my hotels and remember looking at the Rydges chain in Cairns which had fairly good reviews but I think the other two that were available would have been a better choice. The Rydges Plaza hotel was well located for all the amenities such as travel eating shops etc. so my initial reaction was positive.

The family bedroom was very tired with worn and dated furniture and when I opened the very small wardrobe their were 3 coat hangers between 4 of us. It was very noisy mainly because it was holiday weekend and there were a lot of young party going types staying in the hotel. I was a bit alarmed to see the young party in the room opposite carrying 5 or 6 cases of beer into their room. They did not disappoint and seemed to party most of the day. Luckily we did not spend much time in the hotel.

Although I was disappointed with the quality of the hotel I want to stress the staff were absolutely fantastic. I could not fault their understanding and helpfulness including the room maids who did the best of a bad job in keeping our room clean and tidy. They always took time out to be polite and assist with all our trips and enquiries. I would like to single out one person (Evan Coleman) in particular who always seemed to be on duty at the reception. Evan would print us out maps, bus time tables and explain the best places to go for trips and sightseeing - one of the most helpful members of hotel staff I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiner54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night. The room itself has everything we needs with the beds super comfy. The hotel is just dated...mould...cracks..light falling down in bathroom etc. The reception staff were great...very friendly and warm. The car park is small and hard to find the entry button butr hey at $10 a night cant complain. Location is great and overall when needing a bed for the night it is a good palce to stay. Need to pick up game with room service...plates left outside room at 7am still there at 11am.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolej77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi Nicole,
Thanks for taking the time to send in your feedback on your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our service and our reception staff are the perfect example of this. Also as mentioned there are areas that we need to pick up our game and we have been addressing these.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfail, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Comfortable hotel although its age is showing in some areas. The pool was nice but would of been nicer if it was cleaned more thoroughly. The bed was very comfortable which is rare in a hotel, so that was a huge plus!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Pictures online don't reflect the actual property. Very damp and musty smell. Bathrooms are dated and mouldy. Rydges Group should consider a major refit.
Staff were lovely and restaurant and menu was great :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bic_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#55 of 64 in Cairns
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Property: Rydges Plaza Cairns
Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing