We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fine!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's fine!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Rydges must have listened to all of these complaints, either that or everyone is being a bit precious. Good spot, nice staff, nice outlook, nice room, nice pool (although a little shady in the afternoon).

But its noisy. But to be honest I think more than half the hotels probably have that problem around here, there are backpackers and clubs EVERYWHERE.

Room Tip: If you're staying over the weekend, ask for a room facing a side without a night club on it (if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Hi Rosie,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at Rydges Plaza. We appreciate your kind and measured comments.
And we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are up here in the FNQ.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    119
    124
    96
    84
See reviews for
89
103
41
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Have just spent 1 week at the Rydges Plaza. Having never been to Cairns before I was really happy with our choice of accommodation. Very central, in walking distance to everywhere we needed to go. Staff were very friendly, helpful and always had a smile. We had a great room on the 10th floor with a balcony and beautiful views of the harbour and city. Impressed at how spacious the rooms were and the beds are so comfortable. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and we really enjoyed spending time by the well presented pool area, very relaxing. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keemca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Sally,
Hi there,
Thanks for your great review of your recent stay here at Rydges Plaza. We agree our Rise breakfast is one of the best in town and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to both the reception staff and morning team in LILO. And our location is perfectly located in the heart of the Cairns CBD.
Look forward to seeing you next time you are up in the FNQ.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Had a wonderful time at Rydges Plaza last weekend, staying there overnight during a function.

We had a suite on the 9th floor, with beautiful views of the pool and city.

The staff were so accommodating, and made us feel very welcome, from the initial booking right through to check out.

Being located in the centre of town, I was thrilled that they were able to arrange secure parking for us in their hotel carpark.

Within walking distance to Cairns Central, the Esplanade Lagoon, and all the night spots, this is a great choice for a visit to Cairns.

Make sure you check out Lilo Bar, on the 3rd floor, too - a beautiful and breezy spot for a drink.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairnsgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Cairnsgurl,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at Rydges Plaza. You are quite right we do have the perfect location for some of the best things to be done in Cairns, and our views can be spectacular on any given day.
And we agree LILO is a great spot for a cocktail or two.
Once again thanks and look forward to seeing you soon.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

From the moment I walked into rydges to the moment I left I was greeted with a friendly smile. The room was modern and had a great view of the mountains and harbour. For me the highlight was the breakfast buffet which I thought was great value for money and which was only complimented by the relaxing feel the morning staff have created. When I'm back in Cairns I will be back. Cheers

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi there,
Thanks for your great review of your recent stay here at Rydges Plaza. We agree our Rise breakfast is one of the best in town and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to both the reception staff and morning team in LILO.
Look forward to seeing you next time you are up in the FNQ.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Reasonably priced hotel in a great location on Grafton St. The management have tried to revive an old property with a paint job and new decor but nothing can save it from the rattling beast of an aircondioning system that threatens your sleep. Luckily, the beds the were comfortable. The room I stayed, which was the most basic, had a hideous bathroom with a dangerous bath, but I'd say it was clean, water pressure was decent... basic and a bit expensive for what you get. I'd say that the property itself is not up to the Rydges standard we expect. The staff were polite and helpful. Be aware that if you book through bookings.com, that parking will be $10 more. It is undercover parking and helpful when you are exploring the area. Unfortunately, I won't be returning as I think for my money, I can stay in a newer property with more bang for my buck.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyReowReow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Kitty,
Thanks for your review of your recent stay here at Rydges Plaza. Your right we do have a great location in the heart of Cairns CBD. The comfortable beds are the Rydges Dream beds perfect for a great night’s sleep. We are working on our bathrooms so please watch this space.
And hopefully we do get another chance to see you next time you’re in Cairns.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitianga
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel on our arrival in Cairns. Disappointed for a number of reasons including tired décor both in main room and bathroom, musty damp smell in corridor from lift to our room, having to pay for secure parking each night, cockroach obviously living behind tv, dripping shower tap, fridge not turned on - had to ask for ice, and short bedlinen. Asked for a room with pool view, but could only just glimpse it. Location okay, but would trying one of the other Rydges Hotels in Cairns if visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denlynWhitianga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Denlyn,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at Rydges Plaza – we seem to have got a few things wrong on your recent stay. For this I apologise and our Executive Housekeeper and his team have been made aware and we will use this as a major focus to improve.
Once again thank you and I do hope we get another chance to see you here at Rydges Plaza.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tully, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

What an absolute disgrace we have stayed at a lot of hotels in cairn this one is rated 4 star what a joke .the moment you walk out the lift the smell is absolutely terrible . In are room the false ceiling was hanging down.The bathroom was disgusting mould in between the tiles .The taps in the bath were not even matching taps .We paid for 3 people only had enough towels for 2 people .And charge you to park in there own car park never again

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob_vonhartitzsch, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi David,
I was extremely disappointed to read your review regarding your experience at Rydges Plaza Cairns. I have alerted the Executive Housekeeper about your cleanliness comments, and these areas will be of a central focus of the team to improve. Our maintenance team is currently working through the hotel and replacing bathroom tiles & vanities.
Once again thank you for your feedback and hope we get another chance to impress.
Regards
Rob von Hartitzsch
General Manager
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Property: Rydges Plaza Cairns
Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing