We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bat house!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bat house!!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was surrounded by big trees which where full of bats!!! Maybe you can find bats quite interesting but try to sleep when they start making a cry noise all at once. Additionally, the hotel facilities needs to be renewed. The only good thing was the location near the Esplanade.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Silviamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
While I am glad that you like the central location of the resort, I am sorry to learn that your stay was impacted by the presence and noise of the Spectacled Flying Fox colony that roost in trees nearby the resort. You may not be aware but their roost is protected. It has been reported in the local press that the city council is currently working with the Queensland Department of Environment to move them away from the city centre. In the meantime we try to allocate all guests a room that is located away from their roost when occupancy allows.

Once again we are sorry you had this experience and we hope to welcome you back to Novotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    903
    537
    195
    94
See reviews for
635
843
136
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Bad service from Greg one of the night reception.Novetel lost out on 6 breakfast because of hes rude attitude. He was not happy to help at all. I hope Novetel call me and speak to me about this.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
I am sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. It is important that we provide our guests with a high standard of service and it is evident from your feedback that we failed to deliver on this occasion. I wish to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Your valuable feedback is important to us so I would be grateful if you would contact me so we can discuss and learn from your experience; I may be contacted on 07 4080 1888.

Kind regards,
James Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I don't think this hotel should have a four star rating. We stayed here recently for 4 nights, the staff was lovely but the beds were too soft, we spoke to reception and they organized to put a board under the mattress, but that made no difference, so my husband and myself tried with the mattress on the floor, it still made no difference. The beds were that soft that my 3 year old grandson would sink into the mattress . Its a pity as we had choosen this hotel because it was a four star hotel close to all amenities, sorry to say we wont be back, as now I have to see a osteropathy im in that much pain

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thanks for providing valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. While I am happy to read that you received good service from the resort team, I am sorry to learn that you did not get a good night's sleep. I wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Following your feedback we will complete an inspection of our guest rooms to determine if the issues you encountered is limited to one room or if several matresses need to be replaced.

Once again, we are sorry you had this experience and we hope to welcome you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

10-day stay Oct 2013 via Webjet booking. Three month advance paid room booking lost by the hotel despite three confirming phone calls over three months. Manager made it right on our firm insistence.

Room not 100% clean, carpet stains, bathroom grout/silicon dirty, cracked room walls, property shows its age. 100% sleep deprivation from noisy refrigerator swapped out for bad one, hard bed and rock solid pillows. "Fine dining" was a small tough gristle steak for $40.00 turned back for no-charge. Thin locked hollow fire door between rooms passes all voices and sounds.

Queen size sheets used sideways on our king bed leaving mattress exposed by our feet. Maid service routine never the same on any two days. Forgets this, forgets that etc. Nice sitting balcony but no chairs provided. One small chair in room can be put on the deck.

Free Wi-Fi in lobby dial-up slow and nearly 99% unavailable. Guest MAC PC's (2) in lobby won't access secure sites so can't web check-in w/airlines, pay for baggage etc. Room cable modem too expensive to use at $30 per day. Horrible bat colony in trees around whole property. Some 10,000+ huge bats that stink to high heaven with pools of brown bat excrement on foot paths when it rains. The smell stays in your sinuses even when away from the property.

The huge bats fly all over the property after dark which is cool to observe so long as you cover your neck! Staff does try hard to please with limited resources they have. On-property free parking lot shown on web was sold and fenced-off recently. Underground paid parking only.

Overall worst issues are noisy room, hard beds/pillows, no sleep, parking, constant stench of bat dung everywhere, dreadful restaurant food quality and overpriced slow internet access. Pool is great for kids. Spend your time on the 7-8 great beaches just 15-25 minutes North by car and eat at the Casino, Lake Street food courts or the Cairns Central Mall for best meal deals. Glad to be home and able to sleep for the first time in 10-days.

Room Tip: Book top floor middle rooms centered over the pool in the North main building only for an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I am disappointed to discover that you encountered issues with the internet speed. I am pleased to confirm that we provide free internet connection in the lobby via a dedicated ADSL 2 line. We also provide a cable connection in guest rooms for a cost of either $12 for 1 hour or $24.95 for 24 hours. Alternatively all Novotel hotels offer free internet connection in guest rooms to Silver, Gold and Platinum Le Club members.

I am sorry to learn that your stay was impacted by the presence and noise of the Spectacled Flying Fox colony that roost in trees nearby the resort. Unfortunately their roost is protected so we are unable to cut back the trees; however only 20% of our rooms overlook the trees and we try to allocate all guests a room located away from their roost when occupancy allows.

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your visit to Cairns and we hope you continue to stay in Novotel hotels in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing