We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
353 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise...”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The pool was a great place to sit and relax whilst trying to avoid the heat. The rooms are quiet and the beds are comfortable, oh and the a/c works a treat.

It's centrally located so it's an all round win. You'll enjoy your stay. It's that simple.

Ps there is a Mac centre for all your computer needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    924
    542
    198
    97
See reviews for
647
863
137
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Location is convenient to lagoon and harbor without being in a boisterous neighborhood.
however, it is not quiet, due to thousands of flying foxes (bats) that live in the trees around the hotel. They are a protected species, so nothing that the hotel can do about them.
We got a rate that included the breakfast buffet, which was worth it.
Building looks a tad worn and furniture, especially in the restaurant, looks very dated.
Pool was good for the kids.
Gym was pretty small.
Happy hour at the bar is a pretty good deal.
No wifi in rooms kind of stinks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschmidt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, Excellent pool (and pool bar!), clean rooms, well functioning air con, staff reasonably helpful and friendly, superb buffet breakfast! Only one little thing that annoyed me (and no, not even the bats bothered me in the slightest) there was no mini bar in our room! I am being quite petty, however all we wanted when we checked in, was a beer and a sparkling water. Seemed quite odd not to have a mini bar.
Overall a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krisstylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I recently had to stay in Cairns and the company provided accommodation at the Novotel. I have to say that I am glad I didn't have to pay for this as I would have been terribly disappointed! I would rate this property at one above a backpacker hostel. staff were adequate but certainly not happy and helpful. Rooms are bland, nothing on the walls, bathroom is cramped, if you are more that 6 foot 2 you will have a real problem as the ceiling is very low! Bed is not very comfortable and carpets tired. Hallways are musty and dirty and overall I would say that the stay was a disappointment! If you have an option try somewhere else! My room had an interesting noise coming from the air conditioner as well, sounded like someone was tapping on the window!

Room Tip: Watch out for the bats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our reservation paperwork confirmed a Superior King Bed Room was booked however, the propertys' system did not indicate this. Upon check in we were not allocated a Superior Room and, due to no Superior Rooms available, we spent our first night in a twin room. A discussion with the manager and a $50 food & beverage credit later, we spent the remainder of our 4 nights in a Superior Room. The property was in walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade, where cafe's and restaurants are a plenty and to Cairns Central Shopping Centre.
I found the staff to be friendly and professional. The aircon in our Superior Room was quiet and kept our room comfortable - due to the humidity in Cairns the aircon was kept on the entire time and it coped very well.
"Happy Hour" at the bar between 530-630pm is well worth it - $6 basic spirits.
Plenty of Parking out the front of the property - free 3hr centre parking during 830am-5pm.
Beds were a little too soft for us but .... different strokes for different folks
We had Accor Special Rates, which made this stay a very god one ..
Would definately stay here again at those rates.

Room Tip: Superior King Bed Rooms overlooking the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing