We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would never stay here again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Would never stay here again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights while in cairns for work. The hotel is a 4 star and looked lovely so I thought I would try it out.

Much to my disbelief this hotel is not up to a 4 star standard. The common areas look like they haven't been cleaned in months and all the walls are dirty. We stayed in room 266. The beds were horrible, my colleague slept on the floor as it was more comfortable. They were spongy and very soft, I normally don't have any back complaints after staying here I had a sore back.

The next morning I went to shower and there were no shower caps. I order one from reception 20 mins later I still hadn't received it. I went to reception and was told one would be sent to my room. 10 mins later I had to call again!!! This might be ok if you're on holidays not when you have a breakfast meeting.

I would never recommend staying here, for a little extra try the mantra trilogy, Pullman even the mecure is nicer!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmineo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We are sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. It is important that we provide a high standard of product and customer service. It is evident from your feedback that we failed to deliver on this occasion.

We will take the steps necessary to ensure we address the issues you encountered.

Once again we are sorry you had this experience and we hope to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    889
    530
    194
    92
See reviews for
626
834
133
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I travelled to Cairns this week to talk to Travel Industy Suppliers and chose the Novotel to spend out only night - I left very unimpressed with the check in staff and the the general mood of most of the staff here. A smile with your greeting goes a long way to making a pleasant memorable stay. Unfortunately this basic requirement for the hospitaility industy was not even remotely met and I will not stay again, and will be very hesitant to recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Well, having checked in, to checked out - I would have dealt with 4 different staff members - all as miserable then the next. I'm not sure if this personality choice was picked by management in recruitment or because it was filtered through by management but seriously, being the faces and representation of your hotel - not the greatest portrayal. They really looked and acted like that couldn't care we were staying there, didn't care about the business - my experience was not a concern for them and if you choose to go into hospitality, even a fake smile is a must. I was in a group and we were all put in completely different buildings away from each other. One staff member directed me to the road in order to get my room, which obviously was wrong but he seemed more interested in not really helping me then giving me precise direction?! Again, a smile and sincerity to help me find my room would have been appreciated.

Breakfast, $25! I would have been happier paying the usual cafe pricing and getting something above average at the local cafe. Don't do the breakfast. Have to say the lady that worked at breakfast location was the first I met who smiled and was friendly

Room - ants all over the kitchenette, bats galore outside the sliding door so you can't open it or you will freak out constantly that they will fly in, as them zoom past your head. Bathroom floor chipped. I would put it on a motel room standard to be fair. Nothing special about it or the creepy night walk to the stand alone building where it was.

All in all... the pool looked good but that's as far as positives go

Room Tip: Ask for one of the towers/buildings closer to the reception area - and not looking onto the loud bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojoe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location, about 5 minutes to the main town. It is not particuarly noisy either, apart from the bats which surround the hotel. The rooms were fine, as was the hotel in general. The pool service was a bit bizarre, with having to get a towel from the hotel reception desk. The main hotel bar is not open whilst the pool bar is open, which is a bit frustrating when you just want to chill out inside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to tell Trip Advisor readers how much you like our central location and the tranquil feel of the resort-like design.

We always ensure there is no shortage of pool towels, collected from our reception desk, and we will gladly serve drinks and food in one of our 2 bars or restaurant throughout the day.

We look forward to welcomning you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is centrally located and is walking distance to the Esplanade, lagoon, restaurants, park and shopping. Our room overlooked the beautiful pool, and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The room was average but had large fluffy towels, probably the highlight of the stay, especially after we heard and saw the 10,000 bats overhead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Myself and my friend stayed here over the busy Chinese new year weekend,the hotel is situated near the esplanade so is a great base for shops bars restaurants and trips.Our room overlooked the main area where the bats are,once you get used to them they really are quite spectacular especially when they take flight in the early evening for around an hour or so,they never pooped or peed on us so we weren't bothered at all by them.Our room was nice and air con worked very well and wasn't noisy,beds were very comfy and slept really well all 3 nights.We did request a wake up call on our second day which never happened luckily we woke up anyway,on our last day we requested another wake up call for a very early flight home told the reception of previous problem,they checked our phone and realised there was a fault with the line,so they came and knocked on our door to make sure we woke up.Overall the hotel was very nice,staff very helpful and polite ,it was probably a peak time when we visited this hotel and it did seem very organised and friendly.We didn't eat here in the eve,but the breakfast was very good with lots of choice.My only quibble would be that the bar seems to shut quite early,we came home one eve early around 11 hoping to have a beer in the bar and it was shut.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be near the bats you can request this
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Pleased to discover that you found our beds are very comfy and you enjoyed using our large resort style pool. While I am sorry to learn that you didn't receive a wake up call on your first night, it is good to read that our team made sure your phone was promptly replaced and we took extra efforts to make sure you got a wake up call on day 2.

I look forward to sharing your comments on how nice and polite our staff were with the resort team, and I hope we get to welcome you back to Novotel one day.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Gippsland, Victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Novotel Cairns. Got a good price with a Wotif mystery hotel deal - would not be happy at all if I had paid full price.
Everything in this hotel is adequate - which was ok, because we had paid less than $100 a night. The location is great, close to the Esplanade and an easy walk to the marina. We like the bats, but they are pretty messy on the paths around the hotel. Very glad that our room did not face directly onto the bat trees.
Our room was clean but had seen better days - carpet stained and walls battered.
There was a long wait every time we needed to speak to people at the front desk, including checking in and out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing