We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception less than welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Can't complain about the room or grounds. Everything meet expectations. Stayed there as I had a conference there to attend. Facilities were all good. Morning buffet had a good selection so did the lunch. Staff overall very friendly and helpful. However, was greatly disappointed with the reception given. The young man behind the counter looked tired and very unenthusiastic. Although he answered all our questions we felt as if we were putting him out by being there. As you can imagine when we went back down in the morning and found him working again, he was even less approachable. Amazing what a difference what one employee can make.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumTwoFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

While it is nice to read you were happy with the room, the tropical gardens and that most staff were very friendly and helpful, we are sorry to learn that our Reception team did not deliver the level of service we aspire to. I wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The room was average, basic and not worth the price tag.
the facilities and location were amazing- just a short walk to all the great places to eat on the esplanade.. The swim up bar/ pool area was great except it closed at 5pm. Staff were good. Parking an extra $8

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Renwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Monty B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I wish I could review something positive. Unfortunately, our stay at the Novotel Cairns was not the experience we were expecting. Novotel hotels are usually quite good. We had issues from the get go. There was a mix up with our room and we were forced to wait up to a couple of hours to get a new one on a lower level. - We upgraded to a pool view room which cost us an extra $100. - I don't know why we bothered. We had a roof that was blocking our view. Our room was half serviced on one occasion- we came back to find our bed was not made with our pillows on the floor, the bathroom not cleaned and no fresh towels. I would have thought this was a priority but I had to call twice to get someone up there. The pool was pretty, however I don't feel it was the cleanest. The pool bar closed early everyday which was irritating. Overall I was very disappointed with our stay and the Novotel brand.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ctak00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

We are sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations when you visited Cairns recently. I wish to apologize for your room not being properly cleaned on one day of your stay and for the pool bar closing early during your stay with us.

Once again we are sorry you had this experience and we hope to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 May 2014

5 Star Treatment.
Very helpful and polite staff.
This hotel is in walking distance to anyplace, there is underground secure parking, this was very important for us. The pool bar got a work out every afternoon.
You will be glad you stayed here.

Room Tip: Over looking the pool is a perfect morning picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ODin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

It was great having so many Harley enthusiasts stay with us recently.

We are glad you enjoyed the "5 Star Treatment" and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Travelhappy190
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £85 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing