We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Attention to detail lacking”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed one night for work. My main gripes are in relation to lack of attention which reflects a lack of care. I went to have a shower- no shower curtain. I arrived at 2pm hungry and thought I'd have the 2 minute noodles from the mini bar. There was no fork supplied so I had to use a teaspoon resulting in me wearing most of the noodles. The mini bar said there was a one litre Fiji water- not there. Main restaurant was closed so there was a limited menu at the main bar which was full of rowdy conference attendees. Ordered the entree that was supposed to have satay sauce - none on the plate. The restaurant guy James tried his best but clearly he has his work cut out for him.

Facilities are nice but they just need to lift their game!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    926
    543
    198
    97
See reviews for
648
865
137
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Its hard to put your finger on why the Cairns Novotel feels quite so un-loved, its not that it hasnt had a renovation (actually it had quite a recent one) rather its that so many little things either dont work, or are broken or just poorly executed. While we were staying for instance the swim up bar was never open, the beds made the most horrendous squeeking noise, the bar fridge leaked, the carpet was wet, the balcony door was broken and the room smelled mouldy (probably from the leaking bar fridge).

The foyer space is strangely unfriendly, the bar probably works well for tour groups but was not conducive to a quiet drink before dinner. The tour guide (there is not a concierge) in the foyer was very keen to sell us expensive tours (every option was a $200 tour) when we were quite aware of low cost options to hire a car and visit the national park (we were informed this was not possible).

On the upside the room was in expensive and the pool quite large, the location is central and convenient, it just could have been so much better with only a little effort.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank crispin_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
While it is good to read your comments about the value for money price, our large lagoon style pool and our central location we are sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations during your stay. It is evident from your feedback that we did not pay attention to the detail and get the little things right. On behalf of the resort team I wish to apologize for not delivering the high standards we aim to achieve.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Ok, so looking quite dated, wi-fi is a joke, wanted a cocktail at the pool bar - CLOSED. Thought we would have a meal at the restaurant, arrived at 6:30 no one there, a member of staff said it CLOSED, had to go to the Lobby bar and order a meal from there, very crowded with a large group of drinkers, waited to get a drink, only 2 staff members that were working very hard, decided to leave and find another venue. This place is a joke, save your money and stay else where, a venue that actually has the pool bar and restaurant OPEN, and that has staff to serve you - how very bizarre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to confirm that we offer a free wirless service in the hotel lobby, restaurant and bar. The resort also features 3 outlets where our guests can dine or enjoy a refreshing drink. During the day Aqua Bar is open, located beside the largest lagoon style pool in Cairns it features a swim up bar and open air dining for lunch. In the evening our guests can chose casual dining in Novo Bar or Mizuna Restaurant.

We are sorry to learn that our team did not communicate the above options to you during your stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

check in staff were friendly upon check in and all to determined to make sure our stay was special and enjoyable.

room was clean, mattress was nice and soft.

Pool area was very relaxing and was a nice chilled atmosphere.

unfortunately the weather wasnt the best when we went but we still got to enjoy the facilties

only down side i had was the breakfast buffet. we paid $20 each for the full breakfast buffet. the selections of hot breakfast items was quite low and not great quality ...bacon tasted like it'd been out a while and scrambled egg was really watery. ..the pastries etc. were all just straight out of the packet stuff and pretty bland. i'd recommend saving your money and going for breakfast down the esplanade it was better quality and cheaper.

all in all lovely hotel and would definetly go back. just wouldnt pay for the breakfast next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
While we are sorry to read that the weather wasn't the best when you visited Cairns, it is great to discover you still enjoyed the resort facilties and had a nice relaxing time by our pool.

Thanks for your feedback about our buffet breakfast. We are pleased to let you know that guests can order eggs cooked to their liking and barista coffee when they stay at a Novotel hotel anywhere in Australia.

We look forward to welcomimg you back to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort some day.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Can't complain about the room or grounds. Everything meet expectations. Stayed there as I had a conference there to attend. Facilities were all good. Morning buffet had a good selection so did the lunch. Staff overall very friendly and helpful. However, was greatly disappointed with the reception given. The young man behind the counter looked tired and very unenthusiastic. Although he answered all our questions we felt as if we were putting him out by being there. As you can imagine when we went back down in the morning and found him working again, he was even less approachable. Amazing what a difference what one employee can make.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumTwoFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
While it is nice to read you were happy with the room, the tropical gardens and that most staff were very friendly and helpful, we are sorry to learn that our Reception team did not deliver the level of service we aspire to. I wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The room was average, basic and not worth the price tag.
the facilities and location were amazing- just a short walk to all the great places to eat on the esplanade.. The swim up bar/ pool area was great except it closed at 5pm. Staff were good. Parking an extra $8

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Renwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,081 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing