We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of room to move”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for business and was very comfortable. Nice reception area and room functional but comfortable. Great pool are in the middle of the resort and close enough to walk to the main area of Cairns.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having reading a few negative reviews on here after already booking this Hotel for our family holiday we were a little apprehensive.

We need not have worried as our experience at the Novotel Cairns exceeded our expectations. Yes the rooms are slightly on the small size and not all have great views, although some do. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was a problem. The facilities were great value for the money, the gym had really good quality equipment and the pool is massive and suitable for little kids and adults. Unfortunately the pool bar wasn't open except for our last day there. However, this was down to the unfortunate weather at the time. Which I thought was completely understandable as not many people were swimming or using the pool area anyway accept for us crazy Kiwis.

Once the sun did come out ( on our last day there) the pool bar was great and a nice place to chill out with family and friends.

This Hotel is also very close to the Esplanade and just a short 5 minute walk to the Pier. The Cairns mall is only a few hundred meters down the road too.

We especially enjoyed the buffet breakfast it is very good value for money. Despite what others have said we found the bat show at dusk was an amazing spectacle to watch, especially from the comfort of our Hotel balcony. We had a room very close to the trees but couldn't hear them at all during the night time so no problem at all..We will definitely consider the Novotel when we next visit Cairns, hopefully not too far away....

Room Tip: If travelling with a family definitely pay the extra for the breakfast buffet. Also there are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramyon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

It is great to read your positive feedback about your visit to Cairns. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel on a day when the sun is shinning.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were going to cairns and got a great deal from accorhotel( I am an advantage plus holder) for $76 overnight accommodation.
I was concerned about bats in the area after reading some reviews.
We checked and asked about the bats and where our room was, we didn't need to worry. They are taking steps to rid the area of these bats. Our room was on the 6 level overlooking the pool area. We paid for secure parking $7.50.
We ate in the restaurant and used our 50%discount for meals. Next morning we ate at the hotel with prepaid breakfast next time I will take advantage of the 50% discount on meals not worth the price we paid $20.00 P.P. Overall great value for what we paid. Cheers Sue

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

It is great to read that you were able to take advantage of some of the good value for money offers we have available during low season.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed one night for work. My main gripes are in relation to lack of attention which reflects a lack of care. I went to have a shower- no shower curtain. I arrived at 2pm hungry and thought I'd have the 2 minute noodles from the mini bar. There was no fork supplied so I had to use a teaspoon resulting in me wearing most of the noodles. The mini bar said there was a one litre Fiji water- not there. Main restaurant was closed so there was a limited menu at the main bar which was full of rowdy conference attendees. Ordered the entree that was supposed to have satay sauce - none on the plate. The restaurant guy James tried his best but clearly he has his work cut out for him.

Facilities are nice but they just need to lift their game!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Its hard to put your finger on why the Cairns Novotel feels quite so un-loved, its not that it hasnt had a renovation (actually it had quite a recent one) rather its that so many little things either dont work, or are broken or just poorly executed. While we were staying for instance the swim up bar was never open, the beds made the most horrendous squeeking noise, the bar fridge leaked, the carpet was wet, the balcony door was broken and the room smelled mouldy (probably from the leaking bar fridge).

The foyer space is strangely unfriendly, the bar probably works well for tour groups but was not conducive to a quiet drink before dinner. The tour guide (there is not a concierge) in the foyer was very keen to sell us expensive tours (every option was a $200 tour) when we were quite aware of low cost options to hire a car and visit the national park (we were informed this was not possible).

On the upside the room was in expensive and the pool quite large, the location is central and convenient, it just could have been so much better with only a little effort.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank crispin_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

While it is good to read your comments about the value for money price, our large lagoon style pool and our central location we are sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations during your stay. It is evident from your feedback that we did not pay attention to the detail and get the little things right. On behalf of the resort team I wish to apologize for not delivering the high standards we aim to achieve.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Ok, so looking quite dated, wi-fi is a joke, wanted a cocktail at the pool bar - CLOSED. Thought we would have a meal at the restaurant, arrived at 6:30 no one there, a member of staff said it CLOSED, had to go to the Lobby bar and order a meal from there, very crowded with a large group of drinkers, waited to get a drink, only 2 staff members that were working very hard, decided to leave and find another venue. This place is a joke, save your money and stay else where, a venue that actually has the pool bar and restaurant OPEN, and that has staff to serve you - how very bizarre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to confirm that we offer a free wirless service in the hotel lobby, restaurant and bar. The resort also features 3 outlets where our guests can dine or enjoy a refreshing drink. During the day Aqua Bar is open, located beside the largest lagoon style pool in Cairns it features a swim up bar and open air dining for lunch. In the evening our guests can chose casual dining in Novo Bar or Mizuna Restaurant.

We are sorry to learn that our team did not communicate the above options to you during your stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

check in staff were friendly upon check in and all to determined to make sure our stay was special and enjoyable.

room was clean, mattress was nice and soft.

Pool area was very relaxing and was a nice chilled atmosphere.

unfortunately the weather wasnt the best when we went but we still got to enjoy the facilties

only down side i had was the breakfast buffet. we paid $20 each for the full breakfast buffet. the selections of hot breakfast items was quite low and not great quality ...bacon tasted like it'd been out a while and scrambled egg was really watery. ..the pastries etc. were all just straight out of the packet stuff and pretty bland. i'd recommend saving your money and going for breakfast down the esplanade it was better quality and cheaper.

all in all lovely hotel and would definetly go back. just wouldnt pay for the breakfast next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

While we are sorry to read that the weather wasn't the best when you visited Cairns, it is great to discover you still enjoyed the resort facilties and had a nice relaxing time by our pool.

Thanks for your feedback about our buffet breakfast. We are pleased to let you know that guests can order eggs cooked to their liking and barista coffee when they stay at a Novotel hotel anywhere in Australia.

We look forward to welcomimg you back to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort some day.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £87 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing