We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Old, Old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old, Old, Old”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights before moving on to a nicer and better priced hotel. This Hotel is old! might have been great in the eighties but it has not been maintained well. The foyer, Cafe restaurant is very old fashioned. The pool area was dirty could see the mould and dirt from above. The balcony was barely wide enough for a chair and was mouldy and dirty. The room itself, had a one bedroom, this is merely two rooms separated by a slide door which did not close properly. The bathroom drain smells and the shower head was broken so it would not stay upright. They fixed it but still had to use it for a night. The TV would not work all morning just about to ring about it but it came on. The kitchenette only had some plates nothing else. No microwave, toaster, element it was really just a sink. There wasn't even a dishcloth. The glasses were dirty lipstick stains still on them - YUK! And I was itchy the whole time I was there! The elevator too kept lurching slightly not a good feeling. They charged me $200 a night! Are you kidding! No way was it worth that. I moved to a 100% better Hotel closer to the CBD and for $70 less a night had a lovely apartment with views, kitchenette - fully stocked, laundry, huge balcony, clean and modern.

The service was odd. Some staff seemed very good others totally useless and strange.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinyamaMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay at the resort. We appreciate that some guests prefer an apartment style product with limited services and some prefer to stay in a hotel. Fortunately Cairns has a great selection of both styles of property, so we are pleased to learn that you found a serviced apartment that provided cooking facilities within your price range.

Your valuable comments regards a broken shower head and a smell coming from the drain in the bathroom has been actioned by our Maintenance team.

Once again we are sorry about the issues you encountered and we hope to welcome you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    903
    537
    196
    94
See reviews for
636
843
136
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked direct with hotel, I made special reference to not wanting to be on 2nd floor because nearly all prior comments said those rooms were awful. Arrived on time with rental car. Asked receptionist (dark skinned Afro-american?) if I could leave car out front until we had checked in. Response being "Well you are not supposed to". Made arrangements to hire a park in basement. No instructions how to get there.

Whilst we were trying to check in, he was also having a conversation with friends who were "visiting" him at his work place, some thing to do with upcoming Gigs. In hindsight his attitude as a Receptionist made sense as he obviously wasn't a professional. Let's say it wasn't the most welcoming reception I have received at a NOVOTEL hotel.,

We had signed up for the "Le Club" so I must admit that I was expecting a little more personal attention and professional attention. So not a good start.

We unloaded our luggage from our car unaided. We took our own bags up to the room, unaided. No room services explanation, Not a thing, I practically felt we were a bit of a bother in having decided to stay here.

Despite assurances yes we were assigned the 2nd floor 2015. So we gave it a try!

We had reserved a king size bed deluxe room with a pool view. We had been given a dump of a room which would have put a back packers to shame. See the photos. It was not what was reserved, it was dirty, noisey was a triple room not a double and it had no view.

There were two beds in the room not one, the view of the pool was in fact a view of the roof of what sounded like a pump house for the pool. There was one small towel each. It was simply disgusting.

I immediatly went back down to reception and this time approached the female receptionist in the hope that she would be more helpful than her workmate. No such luck. She had obviously been through the complaints ritual many times before and had all her answers off pat.

To my enquiry as to my having a correctly allocated room she responded NO Mistake has been made.

To my enquiry as to why when I had reserved a de luxe double kiing room and had received a triple room which certainly was not a deluxe room. The response was 'they all have two beds". on that floor. I offered to pay for an upgrade as they were advertising on the desk itself upgraded rooms SPECIAL for 20.00 p.p. more. The response was I was already in the "upgraded room" already. My goodness there were rooms in this hotel that were worse!!!

To a question what was the next "non special" rate the response was if I would pay an additional another two hundred a night she would move us.

If I had not have already prepaid we would have been out of there in a minute.

Well readers I have attached several photographs of this hotel's so called upgraded 2nd floor de luxe room for you to judge for yourselves. I ran out of adjectives.

Certainly DON'T take any of their advertising photographs at face value regarding the rooms, beds or views from the rooms.

I also show a couple of photos of the "Included Breakfast" if you wish to take up that option don't bother. Plastic spoons and a nescafe machine just doesn't do it for me any more I'm afraid.

Oh and just in case you do despite my warnings, don't sit at the tables along the wall side. You will feel like a two year old, the seats are so low the dining table come up to chest height.

Check out the photographs of the wonderful (NOT) selection of Queensland fruit and hot breakfast dishes available! You will be overcome......However a cold face cloth, provided you brought you own will revive you.

Maybe a nice relaxing pre dinner cocktail in the foyer lounge bar.....errr NOT. a series of mis matched chairs and tables stuck in an alcove around the side of the reception isn't my idea of a cocktail lounge.

Oh and forget the romantic wedding anniversary dinner. The menu is pathetic. If you wish to eat inside they will set up a table in the same "cocktail bar" area, but there are a few outside tables provided it's not raining, and these are OK alongside the inside wall where you won't get too wet.

All in all a pretty sad hotel which would put Joe Maplin's to shame. "Heidi Hi Campers" We actually counted the number of staff/management that smiled at us during our stay. Two, and those smiles were from the same breakfast hostess, good on her. She actually took some interest in her guests.

A very poor start to a 2nd wedding anniversary holiday.

OK Novotel Cairns, you have a great location but you really need to do better. Even the Cairn's locals had little nice to say to recommend you once we told them where we were staying.

It takes more that dumping a pile of sand a couple deck chairs and towels set in the hotel foyer to impress the visiting Travel Agents who were in Cairns over the same period as ourselves. if you can't deliver service and room standards for your paying customers you are on a looser.

Room Tip: The rooms and assumedly all the less than deluxe rooms offered on the 2nd floor should be withdrawn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian-R-Bray-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is evident from reading about your experience that we failed to offer the level of service we aspire to provide in a Novotel hotel. Given the focus we place on customer service it is very disappointing to read your Trip Advisor review. Please accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations.

The resort management team will take the steps necessary to address the issues you encountered during your stay.

Once again, thanks for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Novotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for business and was very comfortable. Nice reception area and room functional but comfortable. Great pool are in the middle of the resort and close enough to walk to the main area of Cairns.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having reading a few negative reviews on here after already booking this Hotel for our family holiday we were a little apprehensive.

We need not have worried as our experience at the Novotel Cairns exceeded our expectations. Yes the rooms are slightly on the small size and not all have great views, although some do. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was a problem. The facilities were great value for the money, the gym had really good quality equipment and the pool is massive and suitable for little kids and adults. Unfortunately the pool bar wasn't open except for our last day there. However, this was down to the unfortunate weather at the time. Which I thought was completely understandable as not many people were swimming or using the pool area anyway accept for us crazy Kiwis.

Once the sun did come out ( on our last day there) the pool bar was great and a nice place to chill out with family and friends.

This Hotel is also very close to the Esplanade and just a short 5 minute walk to the Pier. The Cairns mall is only a few hundred meters down the road too.

We especially enjoyed the buffet breakfast it is very good value for money. Despite what others have said we found the bat show at dusk was an amazing spectacle to watch, especially from the comfort of our Hotel balcony. We had a room very close to the trees but couldn't hear them at all during the night time so no problem at all..We will definitely consider the Novotel when we next visit Cairns, hopefully not too far away....

Room Tip: If travelling with a family definitely pay the extra for the breakfast buffet. Also there are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramyon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It is great to read your positive feedback about your visit to Cairns. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel on a day when the sun is shinning.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were going to cairns and got a great deal from accorhotel( I am an advantage plus holder) for $76 overnight accommodation.
I was concerned about bats in the area after reading some reviews.
We checked and asked about the bats and where our room was, we didn't need to worry. They are taking steps to rid the area of these bats. Our room was on the 6 level overlooking the pool area. We paid for secure parking $7.50.
We ate in the restaurant and used our 50%discount for meals. Next morning we ate at the hotel with prepaid breakfast next time I will take advantage of the 50% discount on meals not worth the price we paid $20.00 P.P. Overall great value for what we paid. Cheers Sue

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It is great to read that you were able to take advantage of some of the good value for money offers we have available during low season.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed one night for work. My main gripes are in relation to lack of attention which reflects a lack of care. I went to have a shower- no shower curtain. I arrived at 2pm hungry and thought I'd have the 2 minute noodles from the mini bar. There was no fork supplied so I had to use a teaspoon resulting in me wearing most of the noodles. The mini bar said there was a one litre Fiji water- not there. Main restaurant was closed so there was a limited menu at the main bar which was full of rowdy conference attendees. Ordered the entree that was supposed to have satay sauce - none on the plate. The restaurant guy James tried his best but clearly he has his work cut out for him.

Facilities are nice but they just need to lift their game!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Its hard to put your finger on why the Cairns Novotel feels quite so un-loved, its not that it hasnt had a renovation (actually it had quite a recent one) rather its that so many little things either dont work, or are broken or just poorly executed. While we were staying for instance the swim up bar was never open, the beds made the most horrendous squeeking noise, the bar fridge leaked, the carpet was wet, the balcony door was broken and the room smelled mouldy (probably from the leaking bar fridge).

The foyer space is strangely unfriendly, the bar probably works well for tour groups but was not conducive to a quiet drink before dinner. The tour guide (there is not a concierge) in the foyer was very keen to sell us expensive tours (every option was a $200 tour) when we were quite aware of low cost options to hire a car and visit the national park (we were informed this was not possible).

On the upside the room was in expensive and the pool quite large, the location is central and convenient, it just could have been so much better with only a little effort.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank crispin_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
While it is good to read your comments about the value for money price, our large lagoon style pool and our central location we are sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations during your stay. It is evident from your feedback that we did not pay attention to the detail and get the little things right. On behalf of the resort team I wish to apologize for not delivering the high standards we aim to achieve.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing