We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 20 October 2008

This hotel was okay but definately not great. I spent the weekend here with my bestfriend. We advised the hotel prior that we would be arriving early 10.30am, yet when we arried we were advised that we could not check in until AFTER 2pm. With so many rooms and not being a peak time, I find it very hard to believe that they had no other rooms ready that we could have.
The room was nice and beds comfy except the balcony was tiny.
Not one staff member smiled the whole time we were there, it was almost like we were a burden, never have i seen such poor service.
We pre-ordered breakfast when we booked (as it was not included in the room rate), and when we pre-paid our receipt said we had paid for this too, yet when checking out we got a nasty surprise that apparently it is a glich in there system and infact we had not pre-paid for the breaky so we had to pay for it on departure. Breakfast for the amount we paid was not worth it at all. We had to wait for plates and cups each morning as they had run out, most of the fruit was canned, I would have thought they would at least be fresh and the cooked food was a little ordinary.
The pool was nice but we ordered chips to share by the pool for $6 we were given a small bowl, both left very unsatissfied.
We are going back to Cairns, early next year and will not be staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath_kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,061 - 2,067 of 2,349 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at this Resort from 9/23 to 9/27/08 and we liked it so much that we returned, after traveling throughout Queensland, for our last 2 nights in Australia, 10/10 and 10/11/08. So a total of 6 nights. Got a good deal on Traveocity through Trip Advisor which included breakfast. We found meals to be expensive in Australia in general, and the breakfast at this resort was $28 per person, so breakfast included is a good deal, if it is available when you book.

While this is not a luxury resort, it is a very well located (easy walking distance to everywhere of interest in Cairns) 6 floor hotel that is very clean and pleasant. There is an attractive lobby area, the dining room opens out to tropical gardens, and their nice pool has a small sandy beach, with a swim up bar! The rooms are nice, very clean, with a small balcony off the room. Really nice comfy beds with good linens & extra pillows (I love a nice comfy bed!) . The bathrooms are not large, but perfectly adequate and well lit, with a hair dryer. There was good air conditioning and a fan as well.
I think the best location might be one of the top floors looking out on the pool, but probably the city side would not be bad either.

The best part was the great staff. From the minute we arrived until we said good-bye every single staff person we encountered was helpful, friendly and ultra efficient. They definitely made us feel welcome and appreciated as their guests. You don't always get that in places far more expensive. This place is very good value for the money and we highly recommend staying there. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JustJudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We saw this hotel listed in a German travel brochure, but got better prices via their Accor internet site by paying in advance. The hotel is located at about 15 minutes from the airport by hotel shuttle bus (15 AUD for 2), near the beach and the Esplanade, as well as to the Night Market and all the restaurants with terraces.
This is probably the reason why this hotel has only one restaurant but we liked that one very much. It is called Mizuna and it is also the place where you have your breakfast. The dinner menu is actually a buffet for 49 AUD per person with a lot of different bits and pieces for starters, nicely dressed small portions on small plates and bowls or spoons, a good variety of hot dishes with fish, poultry and beef. There is a life cooking section, but we saw mainly bowls of salads and differents dressings and a handful of kids waiting around for the cook to fix them pancakes or crepes with sliced fruits. The dessert buffet section is not bad either with, again, many small portions of delicaties.
Breakfast was also diversified enough, but, strangely, as at many other places in Australia, they do not offer cheese for breakfast. We tried the favorite Aussie spread, Vegemite, only once, and it did not really meet our taste...to express it in a polite way...
The lobby is often full of Japanese guests, but Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef ...and, thinking of it, Australia as a whole, seems to be a very popular place for them to travel to, anyway, which explains the Japanese style breakfast section in all the hotels we have been, as well as the advertisements in Japanese.
The style of the recently refurbished hotel is modern and pretty "zen" with simple but nice decorations.
The pool is quite big with a sandy beach area, lots of trees and shrubs around to provide some shade, nicely lit with torches at night, a good place to relax and have a cool drink.
The rooms and bathrooms are not too big, but bright and comfortable, combined tub-shower with a clean, white curtain. TV is a flat screen and you can watch a special
holiday channel which provides interesting information about Cairns and its surroundings.
A plus (in our eyes) was our first stay at the end of a corridor with a view on the pool area and the sound of the flying foxes through our door on the other side. We heard them coming back from their night flights (after feeding on mangoes, as it was mango season) early in the morning. They make a lot of noise when they settle down on the branches of the nearby trees and we first thought the noise came from birds.
Internet connection available in-room with an ethernet cable which you can borrow at the reception. The prices are rather high if you do not need internet for long: you have the choice between one hour for 11 AUD or 24 hours for 24,95 AUD.
There is a counter where you can book your excursions and we liked the two we did with "Tropical Horizons" very much (Kurandy bay train and skyrail and Lake Barrine, Daintree, waterfalls, Southern table lands and Paronella Park).
As to the staff, they were all very polite, efficient and friendly. Check-in and out were quick and smooth each time (we stayed twice at this hotel before and after our Great Barrier trip to Green Island).
We can only recommend this hotel, as we got really good value for the price we paid !

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Amanprana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We booked into this hotel late one night when we arrived in Cairns, and the room was excellent. We paid $139AUD for the room only rate, but the next day we checked out, went to an internet cafe, and found the exact same room, with breakfast for 2 people for $109AUD, BIG BARGAIN! So we went back there for 5 nights more! The rooms and hotel lobby and restaurants all look newly refurbished, the beds were soooo comfy, and the breakfast was lovely too. The location was perfect, it was one street behind the Esplanade (where all the main shops are). The pool was lovely, it has sand and all, and has a bar in the pool. The staff were really friendly, always smiling and happy.
All in all, the best hotel I stayed in during my 2 months in Australia. The only thing I would suggest is to shop around for the best deal, as it is easily a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CallumandLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed 3 nights in a Pool View Room and was given the 4th Floor with a clear view of Pool area. Rooms and hotel have been beautifully refurbished and pool area is great. Our rooms were made up daily and replenished with clean pool towels every morning. The staff were excellent in any request and a great location near the centre of city and esplanade. We had a great weekend with no negatives from staff or room. Recommend it to anyone looking for a nice fresh clean hotel :)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaZzie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We stayed at the Novotel Cairns Resort in August this year for a 4 day getaway. What a great location! Short walk to the shops, the esplanade, the pier, great reasturants. Rooms were a great size, beds comfortalbe, decor was nice and new since the refurbishment a couple of months ago. The pool was great, nice size, swim up bar, even had lunch down there around the pool one day which was good too. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Would definiatley stay there again! Try the Tha Fish reasturant down along the marina- one of the best meals we have EVER had!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scullmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Had two nights here in a second floor pool view room for which I paid an upgrade fee. Could just see the pool on an angle through the the palms and across the breakfast room awning. The balcony was so small as to be unusable and had no outdoor furniture. Unless you can guarantee an upper floor which is more centrally located over the pool, I think a high floor city / mountain view ,for which I was told there is no 'upgrade fee', is better value.
The room was OK - king bed was great, also the new plasma screen TV but could not understand why there were not two comfy chairs to sit in to have a cup of tea - just one small hard straight back non-padded desk chair and a strange cane saucer shaped object with pouffe in the corner. There is no small occasional table, so in-room dining is not really viable.
Service was pleasant but not prompt and servicing of room on second day was not done efficiently. . It took two phone calls and a wait of 45 minutes to get complimentary bathroom shampoo / conditioner plus tea / chocolate sachets replaced on the afternoon of the second day.
The best aspect of the hotel was the new Mizuna restaurant with its great new concept degustation-like buffet dinner. This assures a much more hygienic approach with freshly prepared individual portions that were constantly replenished. The food at dinner was excellent - innovative and healthy. The big negative here was that coffee was not included in the buffet price and cost $4 a cup for quite ordinary coffee that came from the same machine that all guests had open access to at breakfast. The waitress even apologized for having run out of 'sprinkles' when serving me this overpriced cappucino.
Breakfast was a satisfactory standard buffet.
To end on a positive note this hotel is very well located and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Errol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £78 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing