We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool, nice rooms, uneven service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great pool, nice rooms, uneven service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Novotel in Cairns on a family trip to North Queensland. First and foremost, the pool is the standout, and that is why we chose this particular hotel. Overall, the hotel is in a great location, fabulous pool, nice rooms, average food and beverage, but uneven service. I'll go into more detail in terms of the rooms in the pool below, but there are a few points worth making first. If you are planning on taking tours while in Cairns, and I think that most people will do so, do your research first. The hotel doesn't have a concierge in the traditional sense, and instead has a "Tour Desk", which is operated by an outside company and which pushes a particular range of products and options. You can get better deals in downtown Cairns, (which is two blocks from the hotel), and at significantly cheaper prices. We bypassed the tour desk altogether, and rented a car and did our own thing. See my review of Cairns as a destination for more detail.

The rooms:
The rooms are a contemporary, nice and light and airy, a good size, and are clean and well maintained. I travelled alone with my six and eight year olds, and a room with two queen beds was more than adequate. The bathrooms are getting a bit long in the tooth, but clean and nice, although it is worth asking for some extra towels - we had two towels in the room on arrival, even though the room was booked for three. The television itself as well as the options (in house movies, selection of channels and so on) need to be upgraded. The television is low res, the remote is counter intuitive, and almost relic from the days before pay TV and iTunes. The system is designed to steer you to the pay per view movies, and the selection of free channels is limited, unless you like Foxsports. I work in the media, and I had to get someone to come up to our room to explain how to actually navigate to the other channels. The wording below the buttons is tiny, (with the exception of the pay per view movie button), and the remote was old enough that some of the wording had rubbed off. A first world problem, granted - but frustrating when on holidays. It is also worth asking for a room overlooking the pool. We initially had a room overlooking the car park across the street, and asked if we could move. It's the same room at the end of the day but with a much more tropical feel.
The pool:
The pool is amazing - nice little sandy beach, nice and big, with plenty of lounge chairs at various vantage points for watching the kiddlywinks swim. There is a swim up pool bar - always a bonus - which we used most days - a chocolate milkshake for the kids and a glass of bubbles for mum. The poolside food however is disappointing - a limited and not particularly exciting. It's on the expensive side as well, but considering that it's a hotel poolside menu in a resort town that is to be expected.
All in all, the Novotel was a good choice - but if you want a true five star experience you really need to look at Port Douglas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool - the rooms overlooking the car park and street lack atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmaingirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    904
    537
    196
    95
See reviews for
637
844
136
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I always enjoy staying at Novotels, Cairns was no exception, comfortable rooms, clean, modern and a fabulous pool. Beats going to the public man made beach with the masses of backpackers as the resort has a great man made beach in the pool. Location is great walking distance to the main strip as well as close walk to activity park for kids to play.Highly recommend it. Service at reception could have been better upon check in and when waiting for towels for the pool though.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view room as the pool is a highlight and try to get a room in the reception block or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great breakfast, nice rooms and beautiful swimming pool. What else could one ask for in a hotel besides a good staff. And, of course, they had a good staff as well. A nice place to spend a week. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Good Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights in interconnecting rooms (family of 5). We chose it because of the pool and we were not disappointed! Our kids never wanted to get out. We had breakfast included and I can strongly recommend it. Our room had some chipped paint and some towels were worn out, but we couldn't care less. Staff were very friendly and the location was superb. The bats woke me up the first morning, but then we got used to them and it wasn't a problem. Can strongly recommend - the perfect tropical holiday accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We travel to watch our football team all around australia.... Novotel Cairns Oasis is probably the best place I've stayed. I honestly don't have a bad thing to say about the hotel. (even if we had the gold coast suns staying as well)
ALL the staff were extremely friendly.
We had breakfast included in our deal and enjoyed a range of different foods each morning.
The BBQ area was fantastic and we were able to sit out with friends having a laugh.
Thanks to ALL novotel staff members for making our week so enjoyable

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleAmY88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the hubby 16 months and loved it,so stayed again with some friends for our footy weekend away,and again I loved staying at the Novotel,can not find a bad thing to say,the staff are very friendly,room clean,breakfast menu is yummy,location is central to everything,,I highly recommend it,,thanks NOVOTEL for making our weekend very enjoyable

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing