We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were disappointed in this hotel on a recent stay. The room had not table, and one very uncomfortable cane chair. There are no chairs on the balcony at all. The food was, at best, decidedly average. There was broken glass and a discarded towel on the roof beneath our balcony. The whole place is very tired. The management were very understanding and apologetic when we raised our concerns, but overall the experience was not a good one, and most certainly did not live up to expectations of the Novotel brand.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverHome3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Travelling_girls2022,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

It is only when we are armed with our guests comments about how and what are needed to make their experience better are we able to plan for what we need to do. Your comments about the room’s furniture and what is needed has been taken into account and yours with other guest comments will form the basis of what we present to our Owner when our refurbishment programme is discussed.

I trust you were able to use the hotels central location to the Esplanade the city as a great base during your stay in Cairns.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    902
    537
    195
    94
See reviews for
635
843
136
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The Novotel is walking distance to the main Bay. If you arrive at 5 in the morning, like we did, you will be greeted by a hoard of bats like the flying monies from the wizard if oz. The bats are loud and the staff was not overly helpful. Maybe if they actually built a batcave there they could make it into an attraction.

That said, Cairns is beautiful. The bats are harmless and become a symphony of nature as your stay goes on. There are plenty of places to eat close by. The hotel breakfast buffet was overpriced and you can find places along the main strip for about a third of the price.

The rooms were outdated, the beds made me feel like I could find better accommodation in the tree lines, with the bats, who sounded like they were right there anyways.

Go to Cairns, it is beautiful. Stay near the Marina.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanpersad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Ryanpersad,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

The colony of the speckled flying fox's that roost in some of the trees that are on the company’s property is a sensitive nature and we are working with Cairns City Council in the most environmental way to ensure their relocation from the Cairns CBD is done within the Department of Environment guidelines so that our guest stay isn’t impacted negatively by the colony.

We are starting a bed replacement programme in September to replace the older beds.

Yes there are cheaper breakfast offerings and we believe that the extra value you get with our Buffet that includes unlimited Espresso coffees, eggs cooked to your liking, free breakfast for the kids gives you value that overrides price.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Novotel Cairns has most of the (basic) amenities you might require: pool, gym, some food services, but no mini bar (small empty fridge provided; but they are not alone in this trend...). On this note, the breakfast was very limited. The rooms are relatively recent. The service provided by staff was basic but we don't recall the staff being particularly welcoming/friendly except when we were checking out. Mostly, we got the sense the staff weren't happy, which negatively impacted the level of service. Unfortunate, since this resort has a lot of potential.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aussieWayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear AussieWayno,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

I must say I was disappointed for you when I read your comments, what is most alarming is the feeling that you got that our team members are unhappy. I have started to talk to the staff members on a one on one basis to find out if they are unhappy and why. We pride ourselves on customer service and invest a lot of resources to ensure we excel in this area.

I wish to sincerely apologize for failing to provide a high standard of guest engagement and extend my personal commitment to restore your confidence in our hotel.

You are so right that the resort does have amazing potential and we are just starting to tap into that with a new dinner menu, new all day offerings for the Pool Bar & Aqua Bar.

Moving forward we are upgrading the free Wi-Fi speed and increasing its availability to cover all public areas as well as the F&B outlets.
Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We recently spent four nights at the Novotel in Cairns. The room was spacious, the staff friendly and the pool fantastic.
The Breakfast could do with a touch more variety, after four days it becomes pretty boring, however it was good quality.
We would stay here again and have no problem singing it's praises to friends (and you all ).

Room Tip: Go for a King room , pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank row62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We use to stay there all the time..great family local deal $146 with breaky and a nice room....Last stay,we got a stuffy,mouldy room with views of the bats in the tree and bat crap everywhere,price hike and No Breaky.VERY DISSAPOINTING NOVATEL !!!
I thought i would give it another go..I opted for a poolview room,which was around $180 with No Breaky..ok room,nice view,but mouldy,stuffy,outdated,stained/faded carpets,the beds were very comfortable though.Freezer all iced up,empty ice trays,fridge not cleaned.No room/resort information..dissapointed again...probably wont stay there again..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Simonne H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

The colony of the speckled flying fox's that roost in some of the trees that are on the company’s property is a sensitive nature and we are working with Cairns City Council in the most environmental way to ensure their relocation from the Cairns CBD is done within the Department of Environment guidelines so that our guest stay isn’t impacted negatively by the colony.

Since we have started the relocation process we have been able to clean the hotel grounds and remove the bat droppings as well as the footpaths alongside the hotel.

I do apologise for the state of the rooms that you experienced as we do pride ourselves on the quality of service and presentation of the rooms to our guests.

Simmone H when you next book a room in Cairns, please contact me personally on my mobile 0407 732 595 so I can make the booking for you so that you can see the changes that we have made to the resort.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Only stayed here one night after a late evening flight into Cairns and just had time for a quick dip in the pool next morning which was lovely...definitely one of the best features of the hotel! The area around the pool was also nicely green and planted. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. We wished we could have stayed longer and would return here if staying in Cairns in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackinBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I needed a short 'warm break' away during a cold Melbourne winter. We loved staying here and were lucky enough to have a suit with the spa bathroom. The rooms are going to need a face lift in the near future however the king bed was very comfortable everything worked and the room was clean. We looked over the pool and had the double balcony. The staff are friendly and very helpfull. The location to town is great and in walking distance to restaurants, shopping, the water front and the casino. We will come back again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JVanStav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing