We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slowest Wi-Fi, poor service, but a little bit comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
東京
Level Contributor
247 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Slowest Wi-Fi, poor service, but a little bit comfortable”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very poor and slow WiFi signal even in the hotel lobby (no idea how fast if you pay for non-free Wi-Fi to use)
No early check-in service (they said they would charge us extra if we wanted. I have read a lot of reviews that said they received free early check-in as early as 7am. I felt very disappointed.
No rental service of umbrellas
Car park : 7 AUD CHARGE per day
The room was average, but unfortunately, there were three single beds even though there were only two of us). Terrible service.

The pool is very wide, it makes a small wave, and not too busy. We saw it from the balcony. At night, the illumination was very nice and beautiful.
The shower and drain worked well. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate was provided.

We parked our car near the hotel. There are a lot of car parks on the street. Between 5 pm to 8:30am, it's free.
Walk down only for 5 minutes from the hotel to get to a lot of restaurants, bars, main streets, supermarkets, a shopping mall, some souvenir shops, a marina where trips to the GBR depart, Cairns Train Station, and Esplanade. The location is quite convenient.

Totally, the hotel was not bad. But I don't recommend my good friends to stay there.

Room Tip: Stay in the pool side room Keep away from the street side room. There is a big tree which has ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 梓
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear 梓,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

Your comments about the slow Wi-Fi Service have enabled us to review our speed and we are going to be upgrading by mid-September not only the speed but where you can receive Free Wi-Fi within the hotel lobby, bar, restaurant and pool area.

Depending on our occupancy impacts how early we can check guests into their rooms - we try to ensure that our rooms are ready prior to 2 pm check in so that our guests can relax and enjoy our great city.

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in our service to you. We pride ourselves on customer service and invest a lot of resources to ensure we excel in this area which we will be revisiting.

I am also following up on your room allocation to ensure that we allocate the correct room types to our bookings.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be so central to the Esplanade and all the attractions that the restaurant strip has.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    916
    542
    196
    95
See reviews for
642
852
137
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great location being a short walk to everything of note. The pool and pool bar are good, the staff very friendly. They definitely struggle with multiple bookings and despite checking out and checking in my room card was constantly deactivated for the next 24 hours.

The beds are terrible! Well overdue for replacement - the mattresses are just about springs only.

Room Tip: Had a pool view room on the second floor. Good view, easy access with minimal wait for the lift. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 857Monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear 857Monster,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

Your comments about th state of the bed you slept in has resulted in the hotel reviewing the conditions of the beds and a replacement programme which is starting from September onwards.


I have spoken to the Front office team about multiple bookings and how we can improve on our handling of these, as well as the issue with the room card becoming deactivated.

The Pool area is a real gem for the hotel and is our little Oasis hidden here in Cairns and i am glad that you enjoyed your view from your room.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Thought that this was going to be a great place to stay and was a little disappointed. The room was small, the beds were ok. TV was tiny... As was the bathroom.. The pool was freezing... Must admit the pool looked great... Breakfast was fine... Would have second thoughts about going again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Alex B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

Your comments about the size of the TV has been noted and we will be showing our owners our guest feedback where we need to upgrade for our next refurbishment so thank you.

I am happy that you enjoyed the Pool and gardens and as the pool is naturally heated the tempertures do fluctuate with the outside weather condidtions.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Poor organisation and communication by reservation staff. Had made three separate bookings that were all meant to be linked to same room but staff kept wanting us to change rooms. Hotel had also kept my credit card details from making book 6 months prior on Accor website.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Glenys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Glenys W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

I am sorry to hear about your experience when you checked into the hotel with your booking of 3 separate rooms; I have reviewed our procedure from time of booking to when our guests arrive to ensure that we can offer a seamless experience.

I am also reviewing our policy of how we hold personal information and ensuring that we follow Accor’s policies & procedures.


I trust you were able to utilise the hotels facilities and relax by the Pool and use the hotels central location to the Esplanade and all the shops & restaurants that are located within that vicinity.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights in July. Arrived later in evening, an were greeted by two great check in staff. We were given 2 breakfast deal cards(one ate free). The purpose of this stay was to celebrate my birthday, nice bottle of bubbly waiting in our room. We had a pool room view on the second floor which was great. Rooms clean and tidy and reasonably spacious. Great view of pool and the surrounding trees where we could watch the nightly bat flights.
Staff were attentive particularly the lovely girl on breakfast! Bar staff were also friendly. The ground staff when sitting by the pool were also very friendly and helpful.
The location of this hotel is fabulous as it is close to some great restaurants, car hire and a laundrette. It is only a short walk into the main cbd of Cairns. The only negative was the tour desk operator who could have been more personable! This encouraged us to book elsewhere for trips. Wifi was very slow if you weren't purchasing high speed internet. Awesome pool but due to when we visited the water was rather chilly!
Overall a great place to stay and would not hesitate to book here again!

Room Tip: Definitely attempt to avoid being too close to trees outside of the property due to the noise of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

a clean,tidy place to relax after a busy day trip. Friendly staff. Nice big swimming pool. The pity thing is the bar in the middle of the pool did not open probably due to winter season. Internet is a bit slow. Overall, it is a comfortable restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Sunny L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

Your comments about the slow Wi-Fi Service have enabled us to review our speed and we are going to be upgrading by mid-September not only the speed but where you can receive Free Wi-Fi within the hotel lobby, bar, restaurant and pool area.

We are currently reviewing our Pool bar operation and have just recently upgraded & increased the selection of meals available and will be reviewing to extend our operating hours of mid-day to 5 pm. We have closed the Pool Bar when we have had a rainy day and then opened Novo Bar as an alternative facility.

I trust you were able to use the hotels central location to the Esplanade the city as a great base during your stay in Cairns.

Once again we apologise that were not able to experience the Pool Bar and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing