We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,474)
Filter reviews
2,475 results
Traveller rating
516
1,012
598
227
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
1,012
598
227
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bara pool view roomgreat pooltour desklarge poolbuffet breakfastpool sidetwo blockscentral locationport douglasthe great barrier reefesplanadefoxesduskcbdqueenslandtours
Filter
Updating list...
1,013 - 1,018 of 2,475 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for one night & requested a room with a pool view but we got one with a view of a make shift car park. Not sure why this is as it had low occupancy at the time. The pool is nice and big but not heated. The pool bar also didn't open until 12pm, which was a let down. The staff running the pool bar were very friendly and helpful, which is more than I can say for the lady working on the tour & travel desk who was most unhelpful. Probably wouldn't stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnrex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Johnrex J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

I do apologise that you did not receive the Pool view room that you booked and i am following up on our procedures to ensure that this does not occur again.

Yes the Pool bar is a real asset to the Pool area and we are reviewing our opening times to ensure that we do offer a greater service here. And we have just increased the range of food available at Pool Bar so that our guests can have more choice.

I have passed your comments onto the owners of the Tour Desk in regards to the disapointing service you received from the staff member manning the desk at the time.
.
Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future

Kind Regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

When this hotel was last updated Michael Jackson was still black! It is clean but dated and basic.. If you like staying at cool or funky places then this is not for you. The staff are OK but the could throw out a smile every now and then.. Don't forget most of your guests are on holidays so are looking to have a good time. It has a gym and a big pool and is in an OK location, a few minutes walk from the Esplanade and Lagoon. It seems the average age of the guests is +55 so! Don't expect it to be too lively. TIP.. Ask for a room over the pool as the external views are pretty average.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JimmyNipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear JimmyNipper,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.


Your feedback regarding the staff to smile more ofetn has enabled us to identify what is necessary to address the issues you encountered. I have shared your feedback with the resort management team and together we will address the issues you encountered as a matter of priority.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be a great base and centrally located to explore Cairns easily.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future

Kind Regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very poor and slow WiFi signal even in the hotel lobby (no idea how fast if you pay for non-free Wi-Fi to use)
No early check-in service (they said they would charge us extra if we wanted. I have read a lot of reviews that said they received free early check-in as early as 7am. I felt very disappointed.
No rental service of umbrellas
Car park : 7 AUD CHARGE per day
The room was average, but unfortunately, there were three single beds even though there were only two of us). Terrible service.

The pool is very wide, it makes a small wave, and not too busy. We saw it from the balcony. At night, the illumination was very nice and beautiful.
The shower and drain worked well. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate was provided.

We parked our car near the hotel. There are a lot of car parks on the street. Between 5 pm to 8:30am, it's free.
Walk down only for 5 minutes from the hotel to get to a lot of restaurants, bars, main streets, supermarkets, a shopping mall, some souvenir shops, a marina where trips to the GBR depart, Cairns Train Station, and Esplanade. The location is quite convenient.

Totally, the hotel was not bad. But I don't recommend my good friends to stay there.

Room Tip: Stay in the pool side room Keep away from the street side room. There is a big tree which has many bats. Keep away from the tree.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 梓
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear 梓,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

Your comments about the slow Wi-Fi Service have enabled us to review our speed and we are going to be upgrading by mid-September not only the speed but where you can receive Free Wi-Fi within the hotel lobby, bar, restaurant and pool area.

Depending on our occupancy impacts how early we can check guests into their rooms - we try to ensure that our rooms are ready prior to 2 pm check in so that our guests can relax and enjoy our great city.

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in our service to you. We pride ourselves on customer service and invest a lot of resources to ensure we excel in this area which we will be revisiting.

I am also following up on your room allocation to ensure that we allocate the correct room types to our bookings.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be so central to the Esplanade and all the attractions that the restaurant strip has.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great location being a short walk to everything of note. The pool and pool bar are good, the staff very friendly. They definitely struggle with multiple bookings and despite checking out and checking in my room card was constantly deactivated for the next 24 hours.

The beds are terrible! Well overdue for replacement - the mattresses are just about springs only.

Room Tip: Had a pool view room on the second floor. Good view, easy access with minimal wait for the lift. I'd swap the view for a decent bed though.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 857Monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear 857Monster,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

Your comments about th state of the bed you slept in has resulted in the hotel reviewing the conditions of the beds and a replacement programme which is starting from September onwards.


I have spoken to the Front office team about multiple bookings and how we can improve on our handling of these, as well as the issue with the room card becoming deactivated.

The Pool area is a real gem for the hotel and is our little Oasis hidden here in Cairns and i am glad that you enjoyed your view from your room.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Thought that this was going to be a great place to stay and was a little disappointed. The room was small, the beds were ok. TV was tiny... As was the bathroom.. The pool was freezing... Must admit the pool looked great... Breakfast was fine... Would have second thoughts about going again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNovotelCairns, General Manager at Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Alex B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

Your comments about the size of the TV has been noted and we will be showing our owners our guest feedback where we need to upgrade for our next refurbishment so thank you.

I am happy that you enjoyed the Pool and gardens and as the pool is naturally heated the tempertures do fluctuate with the outside weather condidtions.

Once again we apologise that you had this experience and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to a Novotel hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews