We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Hoppers Crossing
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

This hotel is in a great position, close to wharf, restaurants all around and shopping.
We chose this place by the fantastic looking pool, which didn't disappoint us. The restaurant in the Hotel was great for dinner and breakfast. Its the second time i have stayed here and would come back anytime

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allywho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    903
    537
    196
    95
See reviews for
637
843
136
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton Tablelands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

We live up on the Atherton Tablelands and go down to the Oasis 4 to 5 times a year and have done so for the last 4 years. We always get a pool side room (with free buffet breakfast) in the warmer months, and a 2 room apartment, (with free buffet breakfast and spa bath), when the weather gets cooler. The kids love the pool with the sandy beach at one end and only get out when they get hungry, and hubby likes the bar in the pool and only gets out when l drag him out, lol. The staff have always been good to us and rooms are always clean, plus the food is great for both breakfast and dinner. Thanks Oasis Cairns from the Wilson family.

  • Liked — The pool bar.
  • Disliked — They close the pool bar to early (4.00pm), lol.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank minimi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed at the Novotel for 4 nights last new years eve.
The Good.
- Location. Just a short walk to the esplanade and some excellent cafes and restaurants.
- Nice pool.

The Bad
- The Restaurant only had a buffet breakfast and at $30 ish per person was ridiculous. Fortunately the cafes along the esplanade had buffet breakfasts at $12 to $15 or standard order what you want.
At night the entire foyer area smelt of fish actually make that reeked!
If the ridiculous prices didn't put you off then the smell certainly did.
- The computers in the foyer for checking email are from France apparently so if your looking to check your facebook forget it! They all default to a French portal so are mostly useless unless of course your French. The staff were friendly and helpful but not able to do anything about the little inadequacies. No courtesy umbrellas, bad smell, moldy bathrooms, french computers, pool bar that closes down about the time you want to have an evening drink.
And a pet peeve of mine that many hotels suffer from including the Novotel. When you spend all that money on widescreen TV's please upgrade the entertainment server to widescreen! Watching every show with squshed short wide people is pointless. Just keep the 4:3 TVs if that's the only option.

To recap the good. Great pool, good price (booked through wotif.com.au for less than half rack rate), excellent location.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 5starbargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2009

Stayed 5 Nights at Novotel and 6 Nights at Pullman Reef to make Cairns visit more interesting. Novotel is a good family hotel with friendly staff, the large tropical lagoon style pool with a white sandy beach at one end, and bar with covered area in the middle was great. However, there was NO outdoor Spa which I missed.
The rooms were adequate, small bathroom with bath/shower, free coded Key safe, and pool towels provided. The rooms had individual A/C units which required to be turned on, the corridors were not A/C apart from the foyer, Dining Rm etc. This would save on power, but until the room cooled down, I would be sweating profusely and found it uncomfortable.
The buffet breakfast was very good and busy at times with lovely decore and setting beside the pool. The location was also good with easy walking distance to the Esplanade area and most of Cairns Central. In-house Tour bookings were very helpful and convienient as well, also they had free Internet stations.
Overall very good value, clean and family friendly.

  • Liked — The lagoon style pool, and buffet breakfasts, location
  • Disliked — Airconditioning in room, no outdoor Spa
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PINZYVIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at this hotel in Cairns, & found it excellent. It is well placed, just one street back from the sea front. There is no beach as such in Cairns (just mud flats), so the pool was a major draw. It has a fantastic pool in the centre of the hotel area - it beautifully desined amid tropical gardens, & even has a sandy beach running into the water at the shallow end! Nce rooms, good public areas, & excellent bufft style restaurant make this a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Location in Cairns, wonderful pool
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoomar1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

6 times we have stayed at the OASIS Cairns for business and my self and my wife enjoy each stay usually we stay around 2-3 nights before departing home to Gold Coast only on one occasion that we request a room change as it has no view of the pool only the car park, apart from this overall stay we really enjoy and have a pleasant pool view really nice. We have enjoy both breakfast, dinners , and we even try the food close to the swimming pool cafe which we always orders nachoes and ice cream coffee we love those. On Dinner time we order steak and chips and fish meal both are very good include dessert chocolate and macadamia ice cream overall we have enjoy staying at the OASIS and will recommend to all business or holiday travelers ,great distance walking around Cairns Area and close to the major shopping center . Good and enjoyable stay .

  • Liked — We love the pool and the restaurants
  • Disliked — view of some of the rooms
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

Booked a stay at the Novotel Oasis resort as part of our trip around Oz. We booked the hotel via their website on a pre-paid rate. I would like to mention that we emailed the hotel requesting a pool view which we were given but it was not made clear that we would be charged extra so be careful when you are making requests. After making our request the hotel emailed us asking if we would like to include breakfast in our rate to which we accepted. However, upon arrival we were told that breakfast was not included in our rate. Luckily I had taken a print of the emails so after several days of discussions the hotel agreed to let us have the breakfast. Although I must add we weren't that impressed with the food. The hotel did sort out the problem and compensated us well for the hassle but I would advise to take a copy of any email communication with you. The pool is the highlight of the hotel it really is like being in an oasis and the rooms are lovely very modern and comfortable. Location wise the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the ocean where there are plently of shops, restaurants and bars. Would definitely recommend a visit to Outback Jacks for steak lovers probably the best steaks I have ever had wish they were here in the UK.

Cairns itself is lovely although the weather is tropical so be prepared for a few showers. As non-swimmers we had a lovely trip to the Barrier Reef we went on the submarine and still got to see a shark, turtles and loads of tropical fish. We only had half a day but had a lovely time. We went to Kuranda which was really nice. We got the railway up and the skyrail back down. We really enjoyed our trip to Kuranda and got to buy a few souveniers as there are plenty of shops to look around. We also went to Daintree rainforest which was amazing. We went on a crocodile watching trip but unfortunately didnt get to see any but also went to a wildlife sanctuary and got to feed kangaroos and cuddle a koala. The rainforest is an experience and interesting the tour operator wasn't brilliant but its fab to see that side of the country.

Cairns is definitely worth a visit as you get to see not only the Barrier Reef but the Rainforest aswell. The hotel is really nice and although we were disappointed with the problems we experienced in the end we feel it was sorted out.

  • Liked — Pool was fantastic
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lisa799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Property: Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing