We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, tropical gardens and amazing pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 8 December 2009

The hotel is in a great quiet location only one block from the Esplanade and just a few blocks easy walk from Cairns Central Shopping Centre and lots of restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although there is an underground carpark, they were quite happy for us to leave our car by the front door for an hour or two before we went out again. The best thing about this hotel is the tropical setting with lovely gardens and heaps of palm trees and the HUGE tropical lagoon type pool. There is a shallow sandy beach area in the pool which is great for the kids and a swim up bar for the adults. There are BBQs and the bar by the pool sells whatever you need to cook on them. The room wasn't huge but the bed was very comfortable. The pillows were rather hard and uncomfortable but I'm sure we could have got others if we'd asked. Make sure you ask for a room that overlooks the central pool area as I don't think looking out over the city would have been as pleasant. This hotel isn't an ultra modern place but when you are in Cairns you really don't want a place that feels like an inner city Sydney apartment. This hotel fits the image of what a tropical resort should look like. It would be great for families.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,054 - 2,060 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2009

We arrived with a late flight from Sydney and had looked for a hotel for a one night to stay in Cairns, departing the next morning for a trip to another location.
The hotel is good for a one night stay but I wouldn't recommend it for a couple for a week or a couple of days. The hotel (standard) room lacks in atmosphere and the bed is very soft, not suitable for people with back problems. The air condition is so loud that you can hardly leave it on over night. But the room was very clean and as we were on our honeymoon they even had put a bottle of sparkling wine in the room.
The breakfast though was really good with lots of choices. The staff was very friendly.
What was really good is that the hotel is opposite most rental car stations which again is very suitable if you want to continue your journey the next day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmopolitan1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

The Novotel was just one block from the very popular Esplanade but far enough from the major strip to stay quiet at night. If you email/call the reservations desk, you can get a deal by staying several nights in a row, and can also get discounted breakfast. Breakfast is not worth the full $26 price, or the discounted price unless you enjoy the convenience of not exploring local food options. The pool is nice during the day, but gets cool at night and there is no hot tub. Barbecue grills are provided near the pool and you can buy meat from the pool bar. Free internet on iMacs in the lobby which was great for travelers without computers or phone, but be prepared to wait in long lines. They also have free movie nights in the lobby Sunday-Wednesday. Rooms are comfortable and clean and have a small safe, but don't expect to sit on the dirty and much too small balconies. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickiandNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I found the staff at this hotel to be very friendly and helpful. Our room was a good size with a good size bathroom. I loved the beds, they were super comfortable. However, if you don’t like a soft mattress you may find them too soft.

It is a short three minute walk from the hotel to the Esplanade, were all of the restaurants and tourist shops are. There is also an exit at the back of the property passed the swimming pool which is great for avoiding the trees with all of the bats in them when going to the Esplanade.

We choose this property because of the price and the swimming pool and we were not disappointed. It is great value for money and the pool is lovely. The pool was actually bigger than I was expecting and we enjoyed swimming in it each day. There are lounge chairs all around the pool and a few table and chairs to sit at. There is also a large BBQ if you feel like cooking for yourself.

A couple of other nice touches are the free internet (there are two computers that you can use) and the free daily paper. We hired a car for part of our trip, this hotel has a large underground car park which was free to use.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights, really couldnt fault this place. The reception staff were great. We had a room with a pool view and breakfast was included for us. A lovely range to choose from..Although there appeared to be alot of people checking in we rarely saw anyone at the pool area. So it was always nice and quiet for us and plenty of sun lounges. The back entrance is grat to cut through to the shops.

Highly reccommend NOVETEL OASIS CAIRNS

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelplushie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

The hotel was well located within walking distance of all. The staff seemed to try and over charge when every possible. For example, we were quoted 12.50 for breakfast and they tried to charge us 17.50, but they back down when we complained. When leaving they tried to do a credit card sir charge for using a credit card again they backed down when we complained. The breakfast was good except for the coffee. There were long lines at the machine and the coffee was not very good.
All and All we would rate it Ok, but not great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LerchSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed here during our honeymoon tour in Australia and liked it very much.
The room with a very nice king bed, was modern and with a nice deco, as well as all the hotel. The view was not to the bes (road) but it was ok. The fridge was making itself heard, but we could still sleep. The bathroom was a bit dated, but ok.
Loved the huge pool and the tropical garden area.
We only had breakfast included and that was all what we had F&B. The breakfast buffet was very good, with a variety to suit everyone, including an organic section. We missed having cold cuts and cheeses on offer.
Staff was always friendly and it was very handy to have the tour desk in the hotel looby. The lady that attend us was quite a sale spersosn and knew what she was selling.
Hotel has a great location, just 5 minutes from the Esplanade, with a variety of restaurants and bars and supermaket just around the corner, withou the downside of having the noise associated to it.
Free wifi in the lobby and the free internet computers were a plus!
Would definitely come back and recomend it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AG77Lagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort

Address: 122 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £80 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Cairns the multi award winning Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort is situated on 2.5 Hectares of tropical gardens and boasts the largest lagoon style pool in the city centre, complete with its own white sandy beach and swim up pool bar. All 314 rooms offer contemporary style accommodation with a small balcony or terrace overlooking the city, gardens or pool. Facilities also include free wi fi (lobby & public areas), 24 hour in balance gym, and Massage Organic Day Spa. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service and reception. Mizuna Restaurant offers buffet breakfast daily and each evening boasts modern A la carte dining. Aqua Bar serves afternoon drinks from 12noon, lunch and light bites by the pool whilst Novo Bar opens at 5:00pm daily for pre-dinner cocktails, evening drinks or night time snack menu. The hotel is within walking distance to the Reef Casino and Reef Terminal and only one block from both the Esplanade including 'Muddy's', Cairns fun, safe playground and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairns Oasis Hotel Cairns
Oasis Cairns
Accor Cairns Oasis Hotel
Cairns Novotel
Oasis Resort Cairns
Oasis Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing