We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropic Towers Apartments
Ranked #43 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very poor location”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

my room was on the 4th floor overlooking a ver busy road, a lot of traffic noice and to compound this there is a very noisy crisis hostel on the other side of the road. This place is in a bad location! Furniture was average, in fact the setee in the living room was un usable. The bathroom hand basin had a large crack in it that had been repaired but looked awful. Staff were indifferent, coulnt care less. Taxi to the city is $15 eash way. Not worth the price they are charging. My advice - look elsewhere. Tired and in need of renovation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallbearx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    31
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
20
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I would like to say a HUGE thank you to the staff at Tropic Towers Apartments in Cairns, for their amazing, top notch service. We had the BEST stay ever, only wished we had been able to stay longer! On behalf of my husband and myself, Thank you, Thank you.

The room was beautiful, so relaxing and very clean. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty. It was like staying with family! They were extremely accommodating! I highly recommend these apartments. You won't be sorry! Cheers guys, see you next time!

Kind Regards
Colleen & Noel Neemia

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N4Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Stayed here on a recommendation of a friend. We found Cairns diificult to identify somewhere reasonable to stay for quality/price but this fttted the bill perfectly.The apartments are a little dated but well eqipped with laundry facilities and a good size bedroom, bathroom & lounge/kitchen area , very comfortable for a few days stay. We had a rear apartment which are quieter than the front & off the main road. There was a small but pleasant pool area and free car parking. There are a few eateries along the main road or a walk along the Promanarde into Cairns, about 30 mins, easier to drive or jump in a Taxi.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillnBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I stayed here in early May for 2 nights on business. The rooms were great for the price we paid, and the front desk was helpful and courteous. My only negative comments are:
1. We had a room facing busy Sheridan Street. There is a set of traffic lights immediately in front of the hotel, and the noise from the stop/start traffic was intrusive. If you stay, ask for a room on the rear side of the complex.
2. Drunken yobbos occupying the room with a balcony right over the carpark and main entrance. Every time we came or went we were had to endure a stream of profanities issuing from the balcony. I recommend the hotel is careful who they let occupy that particular apartment.
Other than those two things, good value and good quality accommodation, especially the well-equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gooseberry Hill WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed at the tropic apartments in Oct 2009 for 10days, the apartment was clean and quite spacious and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Although there was aircraft noise it didn't really bother us.
Great loscation if you have a hire car as it is on the main highway.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Gray_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We looked at other reviews of Tropic Towers before we booked and as they all were good, we booked our trip. We were not disappointed - the room was very nice and clean, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with all of our enquiries as to the area and things to do. Could walk into town from there though would have been too much of a walk for us with a 7 year old and, without a vehicle, there was not a lot of places to eat within walking distance. There was a hotel close by though that catered for families and had lovely meals but it was all much more convenient after we had hired a car.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, UT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

My friends and I went to Cairns to do a four-day scuba diving course. We weren't planning on sight-seeing, shopping, nightlife etc because we were just there to dive and knew we'd be too tired at the end of each day. So we booked self-contained value-for-money accommodation because we were on a budget. We were really happy with the price, plus we got stay four nights get one night free. When we got there, it was spacious and neat. It was away from the main strip, but right near a supermarket and bottle shop so we were content.
The extra surprises were that over the next few days we realised that they were servicing our apartment each day cos we'd come back to it nice and tidy. Plus, I locked myself out on a Sunday night and felt awkward ringing the managers up out of hours, but the lady was sooooo nice about it. We just thought the customer service was great.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#46 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
1.0 mi away
City Terraces Cairns
City Terraces Cairns
#48 of 85 in Cairns
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Towers Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Towers Apartments

Property: Tropic Towers Apartments
Address: 294 - 298 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropic Towers Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Towers Holiday Apartments is the perfect place to base your Tropical Far North Queensland holiday. We offer 43 spacious and comfortable, fully self-contained, 1 and 2 bedroom holiday apartments. Each has a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities in the bathroom as well as a private balcony. Set in lush tropical landscaped gardens, our facilities include a large resort style swimming pool, with spa and stainless steel electric BBQ. Situated just 5 minutes by taxi from Cairns International Airport, it is a 5 minute drive or a 20 minute leisurely stroll along the Esplanade to reach the Cairns City Centre. A bus stop is also located just 30 metres from the main entrance. Within a short distance of Tropic Towers Holiday Apartments you will find shops, bars, restaurants, cafes and clubs. All tours pick up and drop off at Tropic Towers and our reception staff are only too happy to assist with all tour bookings and including car rentals. Our friendly on-site management team and staff are dedicated to making your stay at Tropic Towers an enjoyable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropic Towers Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Hotel Cairns
Tropic Hotel Holiday Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing