We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 24 October 2007

We stayed here having just come from 2 weeks in the bush in New Guinea and man was this ever a welcome site. The place seems more oriented towards business travelers, but we enjoyed in nonetheless. Our room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galindenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    798
    279
    72
    40
See reviews for
367
906
116
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

We arrived at the Cairns International at about 1pm on a wet tropical Sunday afternoon for a one-night stay prior to boarding a cruise the next day. We chose the hotel because of its close proximity (5 minute walk) to the 'Captain Cook Cruises' wharf at the port of Cairns and the even-closer Captain Cook Cruises check-in office, which is right next door to the hotel. The hotel owner's bonus points scheme wit a credit card company also influenced our decision to book this hotel.

The hotel entrance driveway and front-of-house are reminiscent of a grand eastern hotel in, say, Singapore. A three-floor high atrium lobby is just behind the french-style doors that lead from the drive. No doorman was immediately available to handle luggage but our taxi driver was happy to assist. This low-level front-of-house service is typical of many Australian hotels and it did not surprise or bother us.

Check-in was completed quickly and efficiently and we felt that the check-in person was a cut above the ordinary. She took a genuine interest in us and did not have the off-hand manner that is so stereotypical in large hotels such as this.

Our room rate was $170/night and applied to a 'City/Mountain View' room. However, we received an unsolicited upgrade to a Harbour View on a high floor.

We commenced the walk from reception to the elevator, at which point a porter noticed us and immediately came to our assistance.

The room was excellent. Although the hotel is well over 20 years old, the room was recently refurbished and was fresh and bright. The architects have given the rooms more pizzaz than the average standard 'box' hotel room design. Full-length windows are placed at an angle to the external line of the building, creating space for a generously sized outdoor balcony, complete with quality table and chairs with which to appreciate the excellent view.

Inside, the king size bed was fitted with crisp white linen. Cornicing, and other wall/ceiling treatments, were of superior quality design. Wall pictures were tasteful. The bathroom is mid-sized, with shower above the bath. We prefer separate bath and shower sections within the bathroom but given the hotel's age and price bracket, did not expect to have this. The bathroom was comprehensively equipped with fresh fluffy towels etc, comfy bath robes and quality soaps etc.

The in-room mini bar was well stocked, as always in Australian hotels. A beer from the minibar costs about A$6, mid-range for Australian hotels. Chilled beer etc can be purchased at a nearby liquor store for a fraction of the price and brought back to the hotel.

After checking in and changing into tropical wear (Cairns is warm and humid in May/June), we decided to look for lunch. The hotel's ground floor lobby restaurant was doing a Sunday afternoon buffet that looked excellent. There was also a smooth jazz combo playing (our favourite music in this situation) but we decided to do a short walk to see what else was available nearby. We returned half an hour later at about 2:15pm (it was raining) to find that the jazz had stopped and the Sunday buffet would finish at 2:30pm! This we found surprising. We are accustomed to Sunday buffets running until late in the afternoon.

Fortunately the rain stopped and we could look elsewhere. The nearby Casino had also decided that its Sunday buffet finishes at 2:30pm , while the Hilton's regular coffee shop looked decidedly down-market but expensive compared with Cairns International. We eventually found a number of operating restaurants on a boardwalk overlooking the harbour and chose one of these.

There seems to be a very 'country' attitude around this part of Cairns. It appears that the locals don't idle over lunch on a Sunday and the restaurants certainly don't encourage them!

We decided to have an early dinner at the Cairn's International's Japanese restaurant. Given that Cairns receives a large number of Japanese visitors, we expected a high-quality offering. However, our meal was average - at an average price.

We retired to our room relatively early and looked forward to a good night's sleep (it had been a long flight that day), only to be awakened at about 1:30am by the fire alarm.

My industrial training has reinforced that alarms should always be taken seriously so we both dressed, grabbed our bare essentials and headed down the fire stairs. At level two there was a sign advising that this was the exit level but the door was locked, so we proceeded to the bottom of the stairs, where the air quality was dank and humid. This felt quite claustrophobic. Fortunately the door opened and we emerged into fresh air at street level. Only about 30 other guests decided to do the same as us.

There were no subsequent announcements by staff but a fire truck arrived within 10 mins, performed some checks and traced the alarm to a guest room where the occupants had triggered the alarm during a hot shower with the bathroom door open. Staff commented privately that this happens quite often.

We understand that there has never been a serious high-rise hotel fire in Australia but nonetheless we remain concerned that the hotel does not appear to be adequately equipped to deal with a real emergency. There was no attempt to induce the large number of remaining guests to leave their rooms before the cause of the alarm was determined. The wrong signage in the lift well is a matter of special concern. This hotel's management needs to review its fire and safety signage, procedures and staff training.

We chose to eat breakfast at a nearby cafe the following morning so cannot comment about the breakfast service. Coffee at Australian cafes is usually of a very high quality, much better than at big hotels and we were not disappointed.

Checkout was quick, efficient and done very pleasantly by the front desk. Once again, we were very pleasantly surprised by the personal attitude of the person who served us, just as we were by the porter who wheeled our luggage next door to the cruise check-in office. Both apologised without prompting for the disturbance during the night.

The Cairns International is part of an Australian hotel chain called Mirvac. Mirvac Hotels offers bonus points for users of ANZ Visa cards but we are yet to receive the promised bonus points, although base points have been credited to our card account. We are dubious about whether Mirvac's bonus offer will be delivered.

  • Liked — Decor, Grand style, Location near port
  • Disliked — False fire alarm at 1:30 am and poor training of staff to handle the situation
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodWineGoodFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2007

We booked on [----], got a great deal, stayed a few nights just as our base for all the adventures we were doing from there. It was great, very quiet, really nice comfortable beds and very friendly conceirge to help us book stuff (travelling from Canada). Pool was great, no one around.

  • Liked — The Bed - very comfortable
  • Disliked — laundry room - too small
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobraicolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

Ended up at this hotel thanks to a terrible travel agent. Inflexible, cold, unprofessional staff - room on "premium floor" smelled like mildew and considering the expense of this hotel, it is an incredible waste of money - do yourself a favor and stay at the Shangri-La as an alternative- you'll be thrilled you did.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank ahew4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Stayed one night. Staff on arrival nice, thats all the staff we saw though.

Disappointed for price paid $180.00 which was supposedly half price (plus $32.00 per head if we wanted brekky, opted for the Qantas Club instead). Old fashioned furniture and decor, green towels oldish and faded, hair in the bath that wasn't ours. Good location, but that was about it. Oh, the pool and spa looked lovely at night, we didn't use them and didn't see them in the light, but they looked great.

If I owned it, I would have tiles all the way through (no carpet), get rid of the tacky paintings and put up mirrors or something, get RADIO's in the room instead of just a electric alarm, update the TV to flat screens, use white fluffy towels and nice bed linen, and have blinds or something more suitable that old dragging on the floor dark curtains, get rid of the organge and green upholstery, go wood, or light coloured if you must. Place really needs liveningup, and make the balcony more appealing instead of plastic chairs and peeling tables.

Disappointed.

Just had five nights at a 5 star luxury resort in Port Douglas which was $150 per night and included breakfast for 2, might have jaded the place more than normal.

LC

  • Liked — the pool looked nice. The location was good.
  • Disliked — Hm, did not think it was value for money.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights from 2 Feb to 10 Feb 2007. We chose the Cairns International because of its CBD location that would give us plenty of things to do if the expected rains for the week arrived. The rains did arrive but we hardly noticed as we enjoyed every minute of our stay!

It was great to be so close to the Marina for the reef and fishing tours and the hotel is near many quality restaurants. The hotel Japanese restaurant has an excellent Teppanyaki grill - don't miss it! The breakfast buffet was a great way to start each day too. Our room had a harbour view, was modern, comfortable and clean. The hotel fully deserves its 5 star rating.

The best part was the attitude of the staff, friendly and professional from when we made our telephone reservation through to the moment we checked out. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Cairns.

  • Liked — Staff, location, dining
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank billichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
launceston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2006

we chose this hotel because of the swimming pool. travelling to cairns in the june july period is not the warmest time to go and in the past we have stayed at hotels where the pools do not get any sun and it has been to cold to lay about! we were not disappointed it has a lovely swimming pool spilt into two sections - one is warmer than the other- unfortunately the one that had the swim up bar was cold and the bar was not open anyway although i suspect that during high period of occupancy it is. the spa provided many hours of enjoyment and was clean and warm.
gym was good with excellent equiptment and also a sauna
rooms were pleasant altough i wished we had payed the extra money to look out towards the water but we had a good room overlooking the pool.
housekeepeers, concierges, and staff were very friendly but not obtrusive. good location. oh and the best thing about this is that the coffee place next door sells tihe best cup of coffee in town so if you havent had breakfast included in the bill step outside and head right next door!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tasmaniantiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, Travelbag, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing