We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Third visit to the Sebel over the last three years. Absolutely love it. Staff are excellent and seem to know when you want assistance and when you want privacy. Stayed in an executive suite this time which was very quiet and private. Food was great. Very rare to stay somewhere and not have even a raised eyebrow at something.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westridgej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,936 - 1,942 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

I came to the Cairns Sebel for a quick business trip for North Queensland and was lucky enough to be based at this great hotel. The breakfast buffet is probably the best I hae ever had and the service is always not only efficient but polite. due to the fantastic breakfast I decided to give the seafood buffet a go and yet again everything was fantastic. The drinks in the lobby bar were always good and there was always a comfy couch to enjoy my hard earned wine (or occasional mojito). During my stay I decidedto have a facial at the spa and it was soooooo relaxing!! Overall the staff were great and the Hotel is very well maintained. I reccommend this hotel to anyone going to Cairns

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellie2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

POSITIVES: we stayed for 3 nights, the hotel is inviting and the foyer n exterior is amazing, the outdoor pool was very pretty although the pool was freezung cold and only one spa was heated so no one barely used the pool n ppl were just taking turns in the spa. the elevator service was fast. the place was clean and smelt nice and housekeepers were friendly.

NEGATIVES: to use the internet for half hour was $16. The beds were really short my legs were hanging off and im only average height. the television was a thick retro 9" that was amazing 20 years ago. thier minibar had expired candy that was out of date a month ago. the pool was cold. NOT A FIVE STAR HOTEL!!!! i will submit photos

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennypoopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Imagine how pleased I was to score this hotel at the massively discounted price. A bit over 1/4 of the advertised rate on a 2 night package. Now imagine how disappointed I was to realise that if you're paying much over this then you could do so much better in another hotel.

I'd previously stayed across the road at the Pacific International but I thought I'd try another hotel since the PI was, itself, nice but not brilliant. I knew where the Sebel was and I remembered that it looked expensive - which I assumed would mean the rooms were good. I'd also stayed at other Sebels previously and had been impressed.

Since I needed an early check-in I contacted the hotel by phone. The automated telephone system rang a few alarm bells. It sounded cheap and kept looping. I eventually got through to reception though and was happy with the service - in fact in the 2 or 3 times I had occasion to deal with anybody at reception I thought the staff were excellent... not 5 star excellent, more like 2 or 3 star excellent, i.e. they were friendly and helpful, but weren't hospitality professionals.

The room looked OK, too. The bathroom was clean and the view over the city to the mountains was nice - the trouble was with the sleep quality. I rarely have problems falling asleep in a hotel, quite the opposite and after pulling an all-nighter I was falling asleep in front of the TV by 6:30pm that night. I kept waking up every now and again but was too tired to think about why.

The why, as it turned out when I was more awake the next day, was that every time the toilet was flushed upstairs it was like a bomb going off in the bathroom - the cacophony started about 7am the next morning. During the night I could also hear snoring from the neighbouring room.

What else can I say? Car parking is $20 (valet parking only) when free street parking is just around the corner. The internet connection didn't work. The pool deck was nice. Location-wise it's no better or worse than the other 5 star hotels in Cairns CBD.

That's all I I can think to say about the Cairns Sebel, the reception staff were good, the hotel itself was nice... but the sleep quality was awful - The PI is a better bet, although next time I'll try the Hilton, The Harbour Lights or the Shan gri la, maybe.

Room Tip: Overpriced, noisy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Breaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I stayed in the Sebel numerous times over a period of 3 months.

I went back again and again. It is clean, the staff are professional efficient and curteous. The lobby and reception area is spacious, calm and relaxed.

Its central, although that doesn't mean much in cairns where everything is quite tight to the "CBD"

Sometimes you can bum out on a view, which is dissapointing if you have specified a harbour view and you don't get it.

The internet pricing is diabolical, when will hotels learn that this is a bit of an insult to customers.

I had a small run in with reception after the concierge wouldn't collect the car I'd valet parked, 24 hours later and without any prompting I recieved an apology email from the manager with a discounted bill which was FANTASTIC customer management.. TBH it was a rented 20 year old ute and was manual

A great Hotel in a great place. I will go to it first time every time I'm in Cairns

Room Tip: confirm the view you want at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theGimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed three nights at the Sebel. It's a very beautiful hotel, very colonial and spacious. The room was large, had balcony and big bathroom. We looked right out over the water (Harbour View room I think - not the cheapest but not the most expensive??) It was really nice watching the boats go in and out in the mornings.

The hotel is very close to everything, we walking down to go on our reef trip and it took less than 5 minutes. Same to go to the restaurants and shops.

Very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmelgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed here 1 night for business and it was a lovely hotel and well-furnished room with an excellent view and a comfortable bed. The en-suite was the size of my bedroom at home. Unfortunately, I was unable to do any sight-seeing, but its location is between the promenade and the main strip, but if you wish to head to a grog-shop, you've got a 1km walk ahead of you. I found my room was perfect for a quiet drink on the balcony with a lovely view of Cairns at dusk.

My colleague and I enjoyed a dinner in the restaurant. The service was not the best, but the food was fancy and despite being unsubstantial, filled me up. The buffet breakfast was also quite enjoyable... except maybe the scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed the furthest floor up possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajesyVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £96 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing