We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet peeves and guest beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pet peeves and guest beware!”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

While the Sebel cannot be faulted as a lovely place to stay, I have complaints about customer service and care. I am always annoyed when add ons occur on my bill when I am checking out. I feel that accommodation providers should set the price that they expect the guests to pay and it should include things such as internet. There is nothing more irritating to be charged a per minute rate for use of the internet. How much can it possibly cost the hotel to have that as a free service. In current times the internet is just about as important as running water. They wouldn't think of charging for running water.

The other complaint that I have is the fine print that I was not informed about.. We checked in after a late flight into Cairns, signed the register and gave a cc guarantee. It was after midnight, we were tired and I couldn't even see the fine print. Apparently it stated that if a credit card was used we would have to pay a credit card fee. It wasn't a lot of money but it was very irritating. Upon check out we were given the option of paying either in Australian currency or American. The person at the desk presented the options that the American Dollars would be a better deal. I opted for the USD and when I got out to the car and looked at the fine print on the bill it stated: "This currency conversion service is provided by the merchant and includes a markup above The Travelex Wholesale cash rate of 3.25%. It further states that I had been offered a choice of currencies. Guest beware - it is another hotel ripoff. I should have been informed that this fee was added on when presented with the choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    788
    271
    69
    39
See reviews for
355
881
115
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The service was disappointing for a 5 star hotel. We arrived in Cairns on an early flight, were exhausted and could not check in any earlier than 20mins before normal, 2pm. They are suppose to hire bikes but all were inoperable during our stay. We needed to use the internet to move some money around on check in and were told to walk to Mc Donalds to use theirs. The Sebel has a business center and Woolworths has high speed internet and it is much closer. The room was very nice and had a great view but we could hear people in nearby rooms. The pool is beautiful but ice cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterview room it will cost more but !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed for three nights while visiting Cairns and sight-seeing nearby. The room was extremely clean, quiet and comfortable and offered terrific views over the water. The aspect meant plenty of light, sun and warmth throughout the day, while heavy curtains and great air-conditioning allowed quiet, dark sleep-ins.

The location is a short walk from the pier and marina, and ample undercover and secure parking meant I could leave the car parked and walk everywhere I needed to go. The pool and spa area offered a great place to relax during the afternoon (with a mix of sun and shade) and the breakfast buffet was comprehensive, tasty and offered eggs cooked to order while you wait.

All staff interactions from check-in to departure were efficiently handled, and everyone I encountered was friendly.

I'll definitely visit again next time I visit Far North Queensland!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrissyRoadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed just the one night at Sebel Cairns recently and it was lovely.

- Good location near Esplanade and city centre, very convenient to Trinity Wharf & Marlin Marina & opposite the casino
- Hotel has a colonial feel to it, nice big lobby area and very welcoming
- Great pool area with spa's (only complaint is that the pools were too cold to go in, didn't seem to be heated) but good for a sunbake or use the spa
- Nice large rooms with balcony
- Check in/Check out was efficient and staff friendly

Overall this hotel was a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We were in Cairns on a weekend getaway, and started our stay at a different hotel before checking out the Sebel and checking in, for two nights, a good move. The reception staff and concierge are some of the best in australia that we have come across. The breakfast was fantastic with the omelettes by order excellent. The rooms were very well kept and room service meals were yummy. The pool and gym are good, the only downside being the sauna in the gym and the cold pool which for the dry season was a little chilly, however the outdoor spa is heated. Overall will recommend to everyone for business and pleasure, well done all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Port_Ind_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Beautiful lobby and yummy seafood buffet, we loved our stay at The Sebel Cairns.
Staff were very friendly and attentative, just a really great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairyflossQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is one of the nicest hotels that i have ever stayed in. The lobby is huge with a real raffles feel that is seldom available anywhere in Australia today. The rooms are large and light and the pool area large and tropical. The staff are helpful and friendly which made my stay a relaxing one. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browndog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing