We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the old style rooms need a new look”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the old style rooms need a new look”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Beautiful charming hotel, great central location, easy walk to everything. Staff v friendly and helpful, nice pool and excellent beauty spa, and good value for money, but the city view rooms definitely need a new look as they are looking a bit tired and need updating.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    787
    271
    69
    39
See reviews for
354
881
115
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed here for one night for $135. We got upgraded to a harbour view (note that it's not an impressive view of Cairns anyway so don't be worried if you get a view on the otherside of the hotel). We stayed in room 1312. Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, quite spacious room. As per another review, the rooms are a bit tired and could do with a renovation but the hotel lobby is very nice still. I've stayed here before and would return to this place. Good location, but parking may be a problem. Try to go somewhere during the day, and then park for free from 5pm in the streets. We didn't use the pool this time because it was raining, but I remember it to be quite nice. The hotel charges 1.5% if you use a credit card.(Still don't understand why they don't include this in their rate - who pays cash for hotel rooms these days?)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

While this property is in a good location, the rooms need a serious update. In fairness, I must say that the people at the front desk were very helpful. When we asked for a room change due to noise from the casino across the street, they responded immediately and moved us to a much quieter and more updated room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonirog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Good hotel. Nice room. Pool area very nice kids lived it. Good location across from casino and shrt walk to great barrier cruises. Mice views to harbour. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vik871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This was our first time to Cairns and this hotel was beautiful. It really was an older hotel that has been well-maintained and has a lot of charm. The rooms were very large and many offer great views. You are within walking distance of downtown or the docks and right across the street from the casino. The pool area was very nice as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsandds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Had three nights stay at end of November. It was a great hotel with excellent location, which is close to everything because it is IN the city.
The hotel is classic resort style, not modern design but nice and clean. Bathroom is old style, but it is very big and clean!
Room is very big, bigger than The Hilton. Balcony is very nice. Even the city view room has got tiny bit of ocean view, big plus!
Room service is good and tidy. Service staff is nice!
All good. Highly recommend! Compare to my previous stay in The Hilton, i will recommend The Sebel.
Since it is in the city centre, it was bit noisy at weekend nights.
And the beds can be a bit short for tall people.

Room Tip: If you booked a city view room, it is fine because it has ocean view too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

As local Cairns residents, we recently stayed one night at The Sebel to celebrate a birthday. We had a room on the 5th Floor overlooking the Cairns Casino with a small balcony to enjoy the views & fresh air. First impressions of the room were cleanliness, modern & good size. The bathroom was large, very clean & had a bathtub. Bed was comfortable although a choice of pillows plus a mattress topper would improve the comfort levels. The lobby bar was impressive with a live entertainer. Sadly, we were unable to dine at the restaurant due to a 'full house' but we did walk across the road to the 'Tamarind' at the Casino (highly recommended). There was some street noise due to Xmas parties but didn't last long. Breakfast buffet is definitely worth the experience. I would recommend this Hotel to my friends & guests and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FNQsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, ACCOR, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing