We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Cairns International

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a Harbour View room, 12th floor, 14th-17th Jan. Found the rooms to be clean, comfortable, extremely spacious, and quiet- at most we heard the odd door closing from other rooms and when in the bathroom, you could faintly hear a toilet flush. Otherwise no hotel noise bothered us in our room at all.

Beds were comfortable- got 3 good sleeps in a row which is unheard of for me! Bathroom was also very spacious- loved it! Also loved the way after a hot shower a section of the mirror never fogged up so could still use it for make up application! :) Hairdryer was one of those cheap hotel crappy ones, so if styling your hair is important, don't rely on the hotel one.

Pool area was beautiful- I am not much of a pool person, but for the first time in a long while I was content to stay by the pool for a few hours.

Service from staff of hotel was excellent. I had an issue with the elevator one night not going up to my floor and suddenly and quickly returning to the ground floor, making horrible noises as it did so (scared the life out of me) and as soon as I mentioned it to concierge, they got onto it right away- the next day it was working fine so it must have been fixed immediately. (have stayed in hotels in the past where a broken elevator stayed broken for days).

Something to remember- we had a late afternoon flight, checkout was 11am. We knew the hotel would hold our luggage for us, but didn't realise we would also have full access to the pool deck and gym and showers etc. thus we had left our shopping til the last day, when in actual fact we would have probably preferred to lounge by the pool. Next time!

Another thing to consider, when I booked I had requested a non-smoking room, however we were clearly on a smoking floor, as when we turned the airconditioner on for about 5 minutes there was a blast of cigarette smell. Plus people on balconies next to us were smoking. It isn't such a bother for me, I do prefer non-smoking but the small amount of time I smelt it wasn't such an issue. Its just worth remembering if you are super sensitive to the smell of cigarettes, as some people are- maybe double check when you are checking-in that you have a non-smoking room.

When I head back to Cairns I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 12th floor have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyNicstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    767
    267
    68
    36
See reviews for
345
858
112
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I found the staff to be polite although non-genuine with absolutely no engaging warmth in their responses when asked questions.
The Mountain View room bed mattress was hard and our rooms T.V. was old styled and the remote control volume didn't work.
As for the restaurant COCOS located in the hotels foyer, we dined there for an expensive seafood buffet that was tasteless with many dishes inedible in our opinion.
The head chef should taste his concoctions / meals before handing them over for patronage consumption!
The breakfast buffet was your typical hotel fair, but unfortunately for us and others the cornbeef was " off "/ bad. I immediately informed the staff of this problem
as this inexcusable oversight could have made holiday makers quite sick.
Disgusting coming from a so called 5 star hotel restaurant let alone any restaurant !
Finally, be aware this hotel charges for any and everything including internet/ wifi useage.
All in all our stay at this questionable 5 star rated hotel was disappointing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cairns Sebel between Jan 15 - 19th 2011. Overall we found the hotel to be very good value and standard. We stayed on the 12th floor in a harbor view room booked on the Discover Australia website (the best deal around).

Although the decore of the room was somewhat dated, the view from the balcony was lovely and the room was huge. We saw plenty of action - boats coming and going in and out of the marina, helicopter scenic flights, harbored yachts, foot traffic below, misty clouds over the mountains, bats, birds, and other hotel swimming pools.

The location is fantastic - within easy walking distance to good, affordable restaurants and pubs like Cest Bon French restaurant, PJ O'Briens, the Courthouse Hotel, Barnical Bills, and Cassa de Mezze Spanish restaurant. Woolworths is 100 meters away, the Casino directly across the road, the pier and lagoon about 500 meters.

The swimming pool area has well maintained decking and tropical gardens surrounding the dual kidney shaped pool bridged by a small walkway. There is a good sized spa and plenty of resting space. I saw the Pullman pool area from my balcony and the Sebel looks way better. We used the gym facilities several times and had them completly to ourselves.

Coco's seafood smorgasboard was excellent value for money. For $60 pp. they serve a three course meal of all you can eat fresh oystas, mortan bay buggs, crab, sushi rolls, seafood marinara, seared snapper, tiger prawns, slow cooked tender lamb, roasdt beef, etc ... plus soup and desert. We took our own bottle of wine from the Barossa Valley and they charged $10 corkage.

We were very happy with our Cairns accommodation for 4 nights. Couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: Harbor View is way better than Mountain View. Try and get a room from Floor 10 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank priscbazaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Perfect location, beautiful rooms, really good service, overall a very good place to stay at!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Good central location in Cairns, the seafood buffet is to die for,,,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteandcarolbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We need a bed for a night in Cairns and we need just a night each way, en route to joining a cruise around the islands of Papua New Guinea ... it was a perfect locale.
The Sebel is ideal ...
It's not the most attractive building from the outside, however, you need "sturdy and solid" when the cyclones season comes around ... however, once inside, the lobby is rather grand and the staff very pleasant and courteous. Good security on lobby to room access, too!
Our twin room was beautifully decorated and it had 2 double beds...... great! So plenty of room to more around and also, a very large bathroom.
As I said, a perfect locale and establishment, for our requirements and I think would be great for business people also

Room Tip: You either view the mountains or the ocean, either okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was a pleasant surprise for a business trip. The buffet breakfast catered for a wide range of people and eggs along with some other foods were cooked individually. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Cocktails in the evenings were fantastic. A great location as you are close to things around town including the beach and shopping. The rooms had balconies and you could watch the sun set over the hills. Although the area was noisy at night, with clubs going into the early hours, once the balcony doors were closed little could be heard.

Room Tip: The views to either the hills or sea are great. High floorsgive the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rix_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelbag and Agoda so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing