We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent hotel with very pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasent hotel with very pleasant staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a one night stay here arriving late and departing early whilst on our way further north. The hotel staff were all very friendly and we enjoyed our brief stay. The bedrooms and bathrooms were of very good size and were in good condition. The only downside to the hotel was the less good noise insulation between rooms with occasional loud chair scraping noises being audible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peder182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Peder182,

Firstly, thank so much for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor and thanks for choosing to stay with us on your way further north.

I will certainly pass on your positive feedback to the team. With regards to the noise levels, thanks for the feedback - I will certainly investigate this further.

Once again, thanks for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in beautiful North Queensland.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    791
    275
    69
    40
See reviews for
357
897
116
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

As others have mentioned, the lobby and entrance to this hotel is absolutely stunning - the pictures on the hotel website don't do it justice at all. It is worth bearing in mind that the bar/restaurant area is located immediately next to the lobby which makes for a very pleasant atmosphere (unlike some hotels where the restaurant is placed in a bland, separate dining room.)

The rooms are spacious and comfortable; it is worthwhile paying the extra for a harbour view.

We were here on a girls' weekend/trip away and it's the perfect place for that sort of thing; there's a day spa located within the hotel and the high tea in the bar/lobby is great as well. The pool and spa facilities are superb - again, it's a very spacious area with lots of deckchairs and despite the fact that we were travelling in peak season, it felt peaceful (not crowded at all).

All in all it is hard to find anything to criticise about this hotel. We found it a relaxing place to stay, with good and prompt service throughout - highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank marian637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Marian637,

Thank you for the review of The Sebel Cairns on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel facilities. I will certainly be passing your feedback onto the team!

We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Cairns when you are next in Tropical Far North Queensland.

All the best

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

stayed at the sebel for 3 nights. The entrance is truely fantastic as is the pool. The room however was pretty average. I paid 348.00 for a queen room with what was supposed to be harbour views but because of the building that is in front of it the view is pretty limited. The room has a musty smell and while clean wasnt worth the price. The bed was comfortable, the inhouse information was obly availabile via the TV which did not contain the information you always require ie whihc channel is the movie chanel.

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms with the view over the pool might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmajb255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Emmajb255115,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am so glad you thought the Hotel Lobby and Pool Areas were fantastic, we certainly agree with you!

Thanks for your feedback regarding the information via the TV, I am currently in the process of organising free standing channel guides for all rooms.

We appreciate you choosing to stay at The Sebel Cairns and really look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Visited Cairns for our 4th anniversary. What a great place to stay. Room was spacious, well appointed, very clean. Ammenities 1st class.
I'd come back any day & highly recommend this hotel. Has a beautiful feel about it, helpful staff.
Magnificent foyer welcomes guests. Concierge service was quick & knowledgeable. Booking desk helped greatly. Love this place, very special memories.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the pool deck & spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mooshy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Mooshy555,

Firstly, a big congratulations on your 4th wedding anniversary!! We are thrilled that you decided to stay with us to celebrate this special occasion.

Thanks so much for posting your comments on Tripadvisor, I will certainly pass on your positive comments to the team, in particular our tour desk staff.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time in beautiful North Queensland and look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Cairns when you next visit.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimlico, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We recently used the Sebel for a conference and couldn't be more pleased with the professional way they handled it. The food in particular was excellent and we got a lot of positive feedback from our delegates. The hotel managers were very helpful, professional and responsive. The AV managers (Staging Connections) were also excellent. We couldn't recommend the hotel enough for conferences and events.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanouKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear NanouKangaroo,

Thank you so much for your kind words and thank you for choosing The Sebel Cairns as your conference venue.

I will certainly be passing on your positive comments to the entire team, in particular our Executive Chef and our Audio Visual Manager.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel when you are next in sunny Cairns.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I recently stayed at the Sebel Cairns and I could not fault the hotel, staff, amenities and food in any way.... I was that impressed I will be going back with my family again at our first chance. Thankyou Sebel Cairns.... A job well done!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the Premier suits.... They are terriffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Darren Z,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It's wonderful to see that the Hotel met your expectations, I will certainly pass your positive feedback onto the team!

Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you when you and your family are back in Tropical North Queensland.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we could not have had a better time anywhere in the world. All the staff we encountered within the Sebel were willing to assist us to make our stay more enjoyable. Our requests for assistance were always met with a smile and attended to very efficiently. Our room was spacious, very clean on our arrival and the views at night and in the mornings were spectactular. The food (you must try the High Tea), service and amenities were 1st class and made our stay such a wonderful and unforgettable experience. It has old world charm from the moment you enter the reception area. The Sebel is central to everything without having the feeling of being overcrowded with tourists or just a short walk away from it all.

Room Tip: Take a room with a harbour view to watch the ships leaving and have the morning sun shine into your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig_syphers277, General Manager at Pullman Cairns International, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Firstly, a BIG congratulations to you both, 25 years!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback via tripadvisor. I am so pleased you were happy with the levels of service you received, I will certainly pass you feedback onto the team.

Once again, congratulations on reaching 25 years and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel when you are next in the beautiful tropical north.

Regards

Craig Syphers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing