We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My confusion started when I went to check in at the "old" Pullman. There was no reservation. Eventually they phoned the "new" Pullman (which was the Sebel on my last stay 3 months ago) and found I was booked in there.

The hotel was pleasant, the room was spacious but the staff were less than helpful. I attended a breakfast function and the cold food was much better than the hot dish.

A nice looking property but not really Pullman standard yet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,608 - 1,614 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed for two days, close to everything, beautiful pool area, fabulous Buffet Breakfast. Staff were very friendly, we booked through Accor and it was a fabulous deal, well done Accor, Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deldot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights, glad we chose this over some others in the same area. Beautiful pool area more than enough space so everyone can enjoy. Where is the pool bar tho??? Didn't like the winey music coming thru the speakers in the pool area, could have something more zen or up to date.
Hotel was close to everything but no noise pollution.
Very happy with room, very polite housekeeping staff.
I would book here again, thank you :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFnJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed there for 5 days. Nice hotel nice location. Staff not that helpful. Discovered on last day that there was free Internet access in the lobby. No one had told us about this even though we asked 3 different people at the reception. Very expensive Internet vouchers!

They even charge for towels!

Nice breakfast though

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chisanga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed at the Pullman Cairns International after a recent business trip to Asia and was thoroughly impressed. Have stayed at numerous Hotels in Cairns during the last 12 months and this is definitely hands down the best for comfort, service and price!

The hotel is formally known as The Sebel Cairns and is located across from the Casino and Cairns Reef Hotel which I believe is also a Pullman property. Hotel has a lovely ambience and reminds me alot of how Hotels used to be... Big welcoming entrance outside and lovely big lobby inside complete with chandeliers, couches high ceilings and welcoming staff..!!

Check in was fast and event free!

Room - The room was quite large with 2 x Queen Beds, (Very comfortable beds, pillows ok) a small table and chairs, TV and desk and usual mini bar and coffee/tea facilities. Plenty of cupboard space and large wardrobe with wooden hangers and 2x robes and slippers, (these subtle touches make the world of difference) Bathroom was nice, slightly dated but large by Cairns Hotel Standards with full length mirror and quality soaps and lotions, good shower with excellent water pressure. Hairdryer and the usual stuff, All good!

Facilities – Gym is adequate for a business stay with basic machines and some free weights. If you need a better gym, check out the gym in the Shangri-La Hotel complex downstairs. There is a sauna also but I did not use this. The pool is excellent and is accessed on the 3rd floor. Is not a lap pool but is large enough to enjoy a good splash and cool off in the Cairns heat and there are ample deck chairs which is often not the case with alot of other chain Hotels. Spa i am unsure of.

Dining – Restaurant is located on the ground floor and serves breakfast, lunch, and high tea and evening meals. I enjoyed a buffet dinner and had zero complaints. There is a bar nearby which serves cocktails and the usual bar essentials and nice lounge area but I did not visit either. I ordered room service for breakfast and it was surprisingly good which I enjoyed on the balcony.

Parking – Free parking at the Hotel!!
All in all thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Pullman and will definitely be back when next in Cairns. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We booked here because I was attending a conference in the hotel and were very happy with our first experience of Cairns. We got off to a great start when having arrived on a very early flight from New Zealand we were able to go straight to our room (which we were not expecting). Our room was enormous as was the bathroom and had a lovely view over the harbour. The bed was comfortable and the airconditioning quiet. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the tour desk in the lobby also provided great service and help in booking our trip out to the Barrier Reef. A minor problem with a drinks order in the bar one evening was put right with sincere apologies. We would definitely recommend this hotel for its ambience, locality and hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We are ACCOR club members and as the Pullman Hotels are part of the range of hotels to choose from we booked this one for our week long escape to Cairns. The hotel is formally known as The Sebel Cairns and is located across from it's sister property The Cairns Reef Hotel which is also a Pullman property. There is an heir of grandeur even as you pull into the covered driveway with both hanging and potted plants and few comfortable benches to sit whilst waiting for taxis or tour buses, almost a old plantation style/look to it. As you step into the lobby that feeling continues. Large chandeliers, lots of space, beautiful sitting areas adorned with bouquets of flowers, high ceilings and the chosen colour white is what greets you as you walk towards the large reception area. Are you getting the picture of how nice this is? We could not check in right away so our bags were held by concierge in their secure baggage area. The ever so helpful young lady, I believe it was Candice, at the travel desk gave us lot's of info and ideas of not only what to do for the afternoon but in the coming days. She even helped us plan our self drive, which I thought was extra helpful, with some really cool things to see. When our room was available they sent us a message on our phone. We were fortunate and got upgraded to a higher level with a view of the water from our balcony. The room was quite large with a huge bed, table and chairs, a small desk, mini bar, coffee/tea facilities, Robes(got to love the 5 star properties for that), disposable slippers just in case you didn't bring yours, a large cupboard and some drawer space in the TV unit. They could use with larger drawer space as you couldn't put much in these drawers but that is a minor thing. I loved the size of the bathroom although the brown orange colour is a bit dated, it was huge and the mirrors cover the whole wall and sides making "primping time" easy. The hair dryer was in a really weird spot over the toilet (no fault of Pullmans only whoever did the design of the original rooms). So needless to say we liked the room. We also checked out the facilities of the hotel. The exercise room has ample new equipment as well as a sauna (a nice feature) although we did not use this I was impressed with what I saw. The pool area is accessed on the 3rd floor. You can't really do laps in the pool because of its interesting shape but it is nice area It also has 2 hot spa's, which is nice if the pool is a little too cool for you as it is not heated. The restaurant on the main floor also has ample space to enjoy a nice meal or sit and have a cocktail in the lounge area. The restaurant serves for breakfast, lunch, high tea and evening meals, so basically all day. If you have a car they do have parking available for a fee and it is valet service. We did rent a car through AVIS and our parking was free at the hotel with the rental so that was an added bonus. Everyone is very friendly and the service was great. We enjoyed our stay and calling it our home for a week. An added note; the beds in the Pullman were FANTASTIC. We had the best sleep and woke up rested every morning. The bed can make or break your stay and this one was superb. The Pullman did not disappoint.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the water higher up these are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £100 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing